Book Notification

Tom Young / Thomas W. Young Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Parson & Gold Books

The Mullah's Storm (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silent Enemy (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Renegades (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Warriors (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Phantom Fury (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sand and Fire (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hunters (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Phantom Fury is a prequel novella to the Parson & Gold series, and in particular, should be read prior to the novel Sand and Fire.

Publication Order of Thomas (Tom) Young Standalone Novels

Trash-Hauler's Ball (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silver Wings, Iron Cross (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Red Burning Sky (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Speed of Heat: An Airlift Wing at War in Iraq and Afghanistan (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Tom Young is an American author of fiction. He was born in Raleigh, North Carolina. His full name is Thomas W. Young and he is best known for writing full-length action and adventure military thriller novels that most often feature the team of Parson and Gold.

Airman Young served with the Air National Guard in Afghanistan and Iraq. He has flown combat missions to Kosovo and Bosnia as well as Latin America, the Far East, and the horn of Africa.

Tom Young has worked as a flight engineer on the C-130 Hercules and the C-5 Galaxy as a flight engineer, logging nearly five thousand hours in total. He has flown to nearly forty countries and has received several military honors. He has received the Air Force Combat Action Medal, three Aerial Achievement Medals, and three Air Medal awards.

His first novel was in the nonfiction genre and was released in 2008. It’s called The Speed of Heat. The book concerns his time spent in the military in Iraq and Afghanistan. In addition, he was also the author of the “Night Flight to Baghdad” piece, which appeared in an anthology about Iraq and Afghanistan in the words of United States troops and their families.

Tom Young is the author of the Parsons and Gold fictional series. The series kicked off in 2010 with The Mullah’s Storm. It was quickly followed by Silent Enemy in 2011. There are six books in the series, continuing with the third novel The Renegades, followed by The Warriors, Phantom Fury, Sand and Fire, and The Hunters. Technically with the inclusion of Phantom Fury, there are seven books, and all feature Michael Parson and Sergeant Maria Gold as they take on unexpected enemies and challenges together.

The Mullah’s Storm is the first novel in the Michael Parson and Sophia Gold series by Tom Young. This extraordinary novel is a fictional account of survival and courage in Afghanistan with all the details of someone who has been through it.

This story starts out with a transport plane flying over the Hindu Kush. The plane is not just any plane; it’s carrying a detainee from the Taliban that is really important for future interrogation. Everything is going fine until the transport plane is shot down in a blizzard over the mountains, and the snow is so bad that rescue may be impossible.

For navigator Michael Parson and Sergeant Gold, the female Army interpreter, a battle for survival has begun. They are caught on some of the worst and harshest terrains on Earth. The two are set up against not only the obstacles that nature has for them but also some human threats. It turns out that the Taliban are stalking them. Worse, there are plenty of villagers who may have loyalties that lie elsewhere. On top of that, there is also a prisoner that has every reason to want the two caught.

As Michael Parson and Sergeant Gold make their way through the land, all they have to rely on is each other. The other person is all that the other has to make it through this challenging terrain, and any misstep could mean injury, capture, torture, or death.

Tom Young wrote that this novel was based on the fear of first flying to Afghanistan and thinking about what would happen if he got shot down but wasn’t killed in the attempt and what would happen next. The result is a gripping fictional adventure thriller novel that will have you turning the pages to find out what next. Check out The Mullah’s Storm by Young to find out for yourself!

Silent Enemy is the second book in the Parson and Gold series. Readers get to devour yet another great thriller novel from talented writer Tom Young. Michael Parson is an aircraft commander that’s good at his job. He’s fresh off of a harrowing trek through the Hindu Kush region where he and translator Sergeant Sophia Gold were put to the test in a challenge to save their very lives.

Yet another novel of bravery and courage from the celebrated author of The Mullah’s Storm has arrived to keep readers enthralled with plenty of action and adventure. This sequel does not disappoint and right off of the bat, the reader is thrust straight into the action.

A terrorist bombing has hit a Kabul police training center in Afghanistan. As a result, countless people are injured and killed. Among the wounded is Sergeant Major Sophia Gold. She is loaded up along with the other injured people onto a plane that is headed for Germany. The plane is a C-5 Galaxy and should be safe until Parson gets a message that makes him think otherwise.

He only gets the message after they take off. The message contains some pretty bad news– there are bombs on the planes that are leaving Afghanistan placed there by the jihads. Now Parson’s plane is one of them and they are literally trapped in the air with an explosive on board. Parson starts racking his brain for what to do.

If the plane goes down to land, then everyone on board will die. But there are also injured people on board that is desperately wounded, and Gold is one of them. The situation is dire and the patients are getting worse by the second. Along with the crew, Parson may very well find himself pushed to the breaking point.

Parson doesn’t have an idea yet about what can they do about the bomb– how are they going to get it off the plane? What are they going to do about the wounded? What if the bomb explodes or the plane runs out of fuel to keep flying?

Little do Parson or Gold know that they are going to have to deal with another challenge still– perhaps their greatest yet. Because the enemy may be far closer than any of them would ever think.

What’s going to happen? You’ll have to pick up the compelling second book in the Parson and Gold series to find out! Pick up Silent Enemy by author Tom Young to catch every bit of the action in this gripping second installment of the series.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Tom Young / Thomas W. Young

Leave a Reply