Book Notification

Tomorrow Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Tomorrow Books

Tomorrow, When the War Began (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dead of Night (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Killing Frost / The Third Day, the Frost (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Darkness, Be My Friend (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Burning For Revenge (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Night is for Hunting (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Other Side of Dawn (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Ellie Chronicles Books

John Marsden is an Australian author of fiction. He was born in 1950 in Victoria, Australia. Marsden attended a variety of primary schools at an early age and always enjoyed reading and the journeys into completely magical worlds that only books could provide. His teachers encouraged his writing, and he decided he wanted to be an author at a young age.

Marsden attended a military school for seven years in Sydney. He then attended the University of Sydney but decided that a career in law would be too dull. He dropped out and traveled and drifted for about a decade working different jobs and earning enough money to live on.

He first became a published author with the 1987 release of his first book, So Much to Tell You. He followed it up with a partial sequel, which is told from another character’s point of view. Marsden began a teaching course at age twenty-eight, which he enjoyed a lot from the beginning. While pursuing a teaching career, Marsden became increasingly interested in writing.

After the release of his first book, Marsden did fairly well with the books that followed. He had a few hits and the Tomorrow series and the Ellie Chronicles put him into over a million books sold and is now an international bestselling author of fiction. Marsden has remained interested in education and in 1998 purchased the Tye estate on the northern edge of Melbourne.

The estate was 850 acres of natural bush. He later added the next-door property to it. For the next few years, he ran a number of popular writer’s workshops and camps and courses at Tye estate. In 2006, he started his own school there, called Candlebark. It is a positive and successful school with a waiting list that is quite long for the P8 school!

Marsden is very well known for his most popular work, the Tomorrow series. The landmark series of fiction was written for the young adult genre and to this day is the most popular YA series that has been written in Australia. To give you some idea, the first book in the Tomorrow series (Tomorrow, When the War Began) has been reprinted twenty-six times in Australia. The series also came to television and aired on ABC Network as a six-episode drama.

The series was so popular that John Marsden decided to create a spinoff series called The Ellie Chronicles. The debut novel is titled While I Live and it was published in 2003. The sequel is titled Incurable and the third book in the series is titled Circle of Flight. That series follows Ellie, the girl from the Tomorrow series.

Tomorrow, When the War Began is the exciting debut first novel in John Marsden’s apocalyptic Tomorrow series. Ellie and her friends have just gotten back from the Australian bush, where they were on a camping trip. But when they come back, nothing is as they left it. Everything is off and seems wrong, and their families have gone. They’ve simply disappeared without any explanation or even a note.

Ellie and her friends have no idea what’s going on at first. It appears that something radical occurred while they were away. But eventually, they start to figure out what happened and understand that the country has actually been invaded. Now everyone that lives in their town and that they know of has been taken prisoner.

The reality of what the kids are dealing with gradually starts to hit them. Now they are faced with how they are going to deal with all of that; with making a decision to go away and run back to the wilderness that they just came from or to hand themselves over in surrender and to be reunited hopefully with their families, or whether they should form a resistance and fight back against the invasion.

Right now, Ellie and her friends don’t have weapons and they don’t have anything except for each other. They decide to hide out and figure out what to do. This was the last thing that any of them expected to happen, and they have no idea if help is on the way in the grand scheme of things or this is it– the country’s been invaded and it’s all over permanently.

Can Ellie and her friends figure out what to do and survive? Or will they fall prey to the same horrible circumstances that everyone else has? It’s tough to try and make choices when it seems like the entire world is trying to kill you. You will have to pick up Tomorrow, When the War Began by John Marsden in order to find out for yourself!

The Dead of Night is the second novel in the Tomorrow series by John Marsden. If you loved the first novel, you will surely enjoy the exciting and suspenseful fictional second novel in this classic and bestselling series!

Ellie and her friends are back. They were out in the bush and returned to find that all of their family were gone, taken as prisoners as part of an invasion. Months after the first of the fighter jets touched down in their backyards, she and her five friends have done their best to face up to the circumstances. At first they had no idea what had happened, but eventually, they figured it out.

They have had to rise to the occasion and be brave even when they have been scared out of their minds by the whole ordeal. They can’t get to their families and see how they are, so now they have all decided to live in the mountains while they figure out what to do next. But when two of their own fall down and it’s behind enemy lines, it’s up to Ellie to conduct a rescue mission to try and get them back.

Homer helps Ellie by taking charge of the rescue mission. Even though he’s unpredictable, he’s also the strongest. Homer will prove his companions wrong in their doubts about his ability to lead the mission, but Homer is going to prove them wrong and bring their friends back.

Can he do it? Read this second installment of John Marsden’s Tomorrow series to find out, and if you like this book, follow it up with the third and final book in the series.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Tomorrow

Leave a Reply