Book Notification

Tony Riches Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Brandon Trilogy Books

Mary - Tudor Princess (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Brandon - Tudor Knight (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Katherine - Tudor Duchess (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Elizabethan Books

Drake - Tudor Corsair (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Essex - Tudor Rebel (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Raleigh - Tudor Adventurer (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Penelope - Tudor Baroness (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Tudor Trilogy Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Queen Sacrifice (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shell (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Warwick (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret Diary of Eleanor Cobham (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Tony Riches is a historical fiction novelist who is best known for his Tudor-inspired novels. Unlike most historical fiction novelists, he does not have a background in history, as he has a Psychology degree and a Master’s in business administration from Cardiff University.
Riches published “Queen Sacrifice” his debut novel in 2012, which was a deeper look into the early history of Wales, which he paralleled with the fame of chess with the elites as castles, bishops, kings and queens, and ordinary people as pawns in civil wars.

After witnessing the Apollo landings, he developed an interest in space exploration during his childhood. For this reason, he was the author on the NASA blog, where he wrote the article titled “Atlantis – The Final Space Shuttle Mission.”

Before he became an author, he headed the “Cardiff Harbour Authority” and in 1910, he offered support to the “Captain Scott Society.” Since that time, he has done research and written “Terra Nova” supported by Dafila Scott, the granddaughter of Captain Scott, and the “Glamorgan Archives.”

When he is not writing his novels, he can often be found river and sea kayaking and running “Kayak Journeys,” his specialist blog where he documents some of his adventures.

Before he ever wrote his first book, Tony Riches used to write articles for journals and magazines.

His biggest breakthrough was with nonfiction when he noticed that there was a dearth of published material on Agile Project Management and decided to write one. His short ebook on how to make use of Agile Project Management principles would become a massive success that surprised even Tony.

Riches went on to pen many more works of non-fiction on a range of subjects. Some of the subjects on which he wrote include the last flight of the “NASA Space Shuttle,” “Atlantis,” “Terra Nova,” and “Scott’s Antarctic Ship.”

He would then decide to focus more on historical fiction and become one of the foremost experts on the rise of the Tudors. The reason for his interest in writing has come from the many works of fiction he used to read, which have influenced his writing.
Some of his favorite authors who have inspired his novels include Conn Iggulden, Ann O’Brien, and C.J. Sansom.

As for Tony Riches’ interest in the history of the Tudor era, he has said that it has to be from the fact that he was born within sight of Pembroke Castle.

Researching the Tudors, he found that there was a lot of information about Queen Elizabeth I, King Henry VIII her father. But there was hardly anything about the Welsh servant Owen Tudor, who married a queen and became the founder of one of the most prominent dynasties in Europe.

He also found several stories of Henry Tudor, who would become one of the most famous of the Tudors, even though there were hardly any fiction works that brought his own story to life. He published “Owen” his debut novel and the first of the “Tudor Trilogy” in 2015 and now has more than a dozen works to his name.

“Owen” by Tony Riches tells the story of Owen Tudor, who is uncertain of his position in the royal household and frustrated that his family lost standing due to their Welsh heritage.

However, his handsomeness comes in handy as he comes to the attention of the former queen, whom he has been admiring for years but never thought anything would ever come of it. He does not think a relationship with Catherine is even a remote possibility, but he has other friendships and relationships that serve him very well.

But then he married the frail queen who is showing signs of insanity that her father had been afflicted with that would also cause her son’s downfall. Instead of being disillusioned and frustrated, he patiently loves and comforts his wife, even as she fades away.
Following Catherine’s death, Owen comes to realize that even though she was a dowager queen who seemed powerless, her protection meant a lot. The remainder of the work is all about his relationship with Jasper and Edmund his two oldest sons.
We also get glimpses of the next story as Margaret Beaufort becomes a member of the family and gives birth to Henry his grandson.

Tony Riches’ novel “Jasper” is set during the “War of the Roses,” following the abduction of Henry who is Jasper’s stepbrother.

The man is kidnapped and dethroned so that Edward of York who is controlled by the Earl of Warwick is made king, even though Jasper is determined to get back the Tudors on the throne.

On his quest, he meets Gabriel whom he saves following a battle and he becomes his companion. He also begins a relationship with a woman named Mairead showing that he is not just a warrior but also a man that had fun and loved too.
When he meets Queen Margaret, he discovers that she is living a hard life with King Henry given his mental problems. Still, this means that the king is more easily overthrown given his illness.

He promises Queen Margaret that he will do everything in his power to ensure the Tudors get back their throne. He even seeks help across the channel in France and even though this fails, he remains one of the few holdouts, even when Herny dies and most are pledging their loyalty to the new York King.

He will never give up and will protect Henry his nephew as he is convinced he will be king one day.

“Henry” by Tony Riches follows the life and times of Owen Tudor’s grandson Henry Tudor, who is also Jasper Tudor’s nephew.

The work begins where the latter one ended at the Battle of Bosworth, at a time when Henry is not convinced that he has the chops to become king and for the most part, relies on his mother and consultants but still does a good job. Margaret Beaufort his mother is his rock, particularly following the death of his wife.

The matchup between Elizabeth and Henry is a political one initially but it soon turns into a loving relationship. Still, the marriage never placates the Yorkist supporters, who bring forth all manner of claimants to the throne against Henry.
Henry battles several Yorkist claimants but most of these battles are short, even if they weigh on his soul.

It is a great ending to the trilogy that will have you enthralled from the first page to the last.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Tony Riches

Leave a Reply