Book Notification

Town Called Fury Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Town Called Fury Books

By: J A Johnstone, William W. Johnstone

William W. Johnstone was an American author of fiction. He also wrote under the pen name of William Mason.

He specialized in the genres of western, survivalist, and horror fiction and was also a prolific writer. He was born on October 28, 1938, and grew up in Missouri as the youngest of four kids. His mother worked as a teacher and his father was a minister. William decided to drop out of school at 15 and worked in a carnival and then a deputy sheriff. He signed up to serve in the Army and after that worked in radio broadcasting.

He began writing in 1970. His first novel was published nine years later– The Devil’s Kiss. Will become a full-time writer in 1980. Johnstone would end up writing nearly two hundred books. He is the author of many series such as the Ashes series, the Dog Team series, the Last Mountain Man series, the Blood Bond series, and more.

William W. Johnstone lived in Shreveport, Louisiana for many years. He died in Knoxville, Tennessee, on February 8, 2004. He passed away at the age of sixty-five. Even though he has passed away, his nephew J.A. Johnstone continues to write for the elder author’s series and continue the legacy.

The Town Called Fury Series was originated by William W. Johnstone and his relative J.A. Johnstone would continue the series. The books are set in the West and the main character is Jason Fury. When a tragedy occurs along the way out West, he is faced with the toughest choice of his adult life.

J.A. Johnstone learned what he knew from writing from his Uncle William W. Johnstone by working as an assistant, researcher, typist and fact checker to one of the most popular writers to grace the western genre in the history of the genre.

J.A. says that his uncle instructed him at an early age on how to research or type manuscripts out. He also taught him how to learn about things such as wars and conflicts. He says that his uncle taught him everything about storytelling as well as creating characters that are believable and realistic. He also says that he would tell him to keep historical facts accurate as well as to ‘remember the readers’ and be the best version of himself.

A Town Called Fury is the first novel in the series of the same name. The novel is set in the American frontier town known as Fury. The town is built in the wild Arizona Territory, right in the middle. Readers will be introduced to the main character Jason Fury in this exciting sage that is straight out of the old west genre that William W. Johnstone loved so much.

Jason Fury doesn’t want to be leading a wagon train all the way west to California. He would rather be going back east where he could finally start living life. Someone like him who is young and smart could easily get a job and live a better life than this. He doesn’t even have too much time to daydream about what this life would be like when his wagon train is attacked.

Fury is halfway across the territory of Oklahoma when Comanche attacks him and the entire train. By the time the attack is finished, there are many dead. Among them are Jebediah Fury, his father and the leader of the settlers. With no leader in place, his son must step up to take his place and lead the wagons to the Arizona Territory.

The settlers suddenly decide that they will stop in Arizona for good instead of keeping on all the way to the west coast and California. They will name the town Fury after Jebediah. It’s not the same as California and the life here is going to be tough. Survival will involve a lot of hard work and ingenuity, as well as adaptation. Then there is the matter of Apaches, who are not only ruthless and skilled warriors, but they always seem to be on the attack.

With Apaches always being active around them, Jason knows that he can’t just leave the settlers behind to fend for themselves. This life is going to be tough enough without counting the Apaches into their problems on top of it. Making things even more complicated is the fact that he’s slowly falling for a young lady who lives there.

Knowing that the pioneers are essentially defenseless, Jason has to make a choice. Will he be the first to leave the town named after his father behind? Or will he stick around and make sure that they have a chance at fighting? You’re going to have to pick up the suspenseful first novel in the Fury series by J.A. Johnston and William W. Johnstone to find out!

Hard Country is the second novel in the Town Called Fury series. William W. Johnstone and J.A. Johnstone continue this exciting story of pioneers trying to make a living out on the American frontier in Arizona. This was a time when the West was far wilder than it is today and there were Native Americans who may have lived near or adjacent that was just as much a threat in this story as the natural elements are to the settlers.

When his father died, Jason Fury was faced with the choice of staying with the newly founded town of Fury and the settlers or striking out on his own to make it to California and the west coast. Ultimately, he is invested in the survival of the people that live there and the town too. But is survival going to be possible, or is Jason fighting a losing battle?

With just 112 people living in the hard country of Fury, they have found that by sticking together they can make this a home. There are plenty of forces working against the settlers. There are dust storms that kick up quickly and blind you, barren lands, Indians, and occasional drought. There are even outlaws. Jason wants to get out of this hostile land, but a certain redhead named Megan may be enough to make him stay.

Jason might just stay for Megan, but is another Indian attack imminent? Can Jason Fury do what it takes to protect everyone in this small town– or are they toast? Pick up Hard Country and catch every moment of the action.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Town Called Fury

Leave a Reply