Book Notification

Tracy Borman Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Frances Gorges Trilogy Books

The King's Witch (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Devil's Slave (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fallen Angel (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Henrietta Howard: King's Mistress, Queen's Servant (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Elizabeth's Women (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ring and the Crown (With: Alison Weir,Kate Williams,Sarah Gristwood) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Matilda: Queen of the Conqueror (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Witches: James I and the English Witch Hunts (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thomas Cromwell (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Story of the Tower of London (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Private Lives of the Tudors (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Henry VIII and the Men Who Made Him (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Story of Kensington Palace (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crown & Sceptre (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anne Boleyn & Elizabeth I (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Tracy Borman is an author of fiction. She specializes in full length novels of historical nonfiction and fiction. She is well equipped for this type of genre since she is a historian in addition to being an author. Borman is perhaps most well known for writing the book Elizabeth’s Women,

She was born in Scothern, England, a village near Lincoln in the United Kingdom. A small village, she grew up there and attended Scothern Primary School for her education (which is now named Ellison Boulters school). She also attended several more schools including the William Farr School, Welton, and also Yarborough School.

Tracy Borman was awarded a Ph.D from the University of Hull in 1997, where she taught history. Once her book Elizabeth’s Women caught on and was serialized, Borman saw her popularity as an author soar and became very in demand. The novel was also named to be the Book of the Week by BBC Radio 4 in September of 2009. She appeared on the Woman’s Hour that same time on BBC Radio 4.

Tracy Borman is the creator and the author of the Frances Gorges Historical Trilogy series of novels. The series is her first foray into the world of historical fiction, taking some time to experience the other side of the coin. The series kicked off in 2018 with the release of the debut novel in the trilogy. It is titled The King’s Witch.

If you love thrilling tales that are set in authentic historical times, you will most likely want to check out The King’s Witch! This exciting first book in the series is guaranteed to open your eyes and make you see what this talented author can do.

The time in the book is March in the year 1603. Frances Gorges is the main character, a young woman who plays an important role. That is because she is attending to royalty, a very important job indeed. As much as England needs their beloved ruler Queen Elizabeth, she is dying. The poor queen is not long for this world and it is Frances’ job to take care of her.

She gently nurses and attends to the ailing queen in the hopes of extending her life and helping her to get better. The prospects look grim indeed. As she goes about her work caring for Queen Elizabeth, Frances cannot help but allow her mind to wander. Frances dreams about returning to the country estate owned by her parents. It’s the place where she feels most at home in the world.

The country estate was the place where she learned all of the names and purposes of the many herbs and flowers growing at the estate. The country was the perfect place to spend time in the sunshine, figuring out which herbs do what and generally cultivating her desire to learn and her status as a healer. It’s not everyone that knows how to use flowers and plants to their benefit, but in this field she is not alone as many had herbal healing gardens around this time.

It is a period of change, and not everything can stay the same forever. Frances does not know what to think when Scotland’s King James succeeds the throne. Frances decides to stay home as her job to the queen is now done. This healer doesn’t know what King James’ court will be like– as it turns out, his rule is going to be a departure from what the country knows.

King James’ court turns out to be a bit of a surprise. It’s much more decadent than anyone thought it would be. Still, there’s a surprise to be found when his commitment to intolerance through his rigid Puritanism means that he has an order against witchcraft. Unfortunately, that probably includes things like being a healer. Frances hopes that it does not.

The big problem with the new king’s view on many practices is that if you are found to be practicing witchcraft, the transgression could be punishable by death. Now is no time to skirt the line and fall into a gray area. Things get even more complicated when her life is turned upside down thanks to a malevolent relative.

Frances is forced to go to the royal palace by her uncle, whose ambitions know no bounds. When he decides to force Frances to go to this place, she has no idea of the people that scheme there. One of these individuals is Lord Cecil, the Privy Seal. His scheming and twisted manipulations never end, and Frances may still end up being one of his targets.

Frances is in a very dangerous position, finding that she has very few allies. As it turns out, things are underfoot in the palace. A campaign is taking shape with the goal of taking down Parliament and the king at the same time. Little does she know that this will end up being the Gunpowder Plot of 1605. With risk all around and no one to trust, Frances is more lonely and nervous than she has ever been in her life.

Still, she finds happiness where she can. She enjoys playing with the young daughter of the King, and she feels that she can trust Tom Wintour at the very least. He is a courtier that has always been kind to her, but is that enough to depend on him as an ally?

Tom Wintour may be anything but what he seems in the end. Frances is running out of options and people that she can trust. Can she find out what’s going on and stop a plot that threatens to take down the entire political structure of the country? Frances must figure out the political climate fast if she wants to survive an upheaval that may end up taking everyone down with it.

What will happen in the end of this masterfully written historical thriller from Tracy Borman? Go out to your local book store or library and check out The King’s Witch, the first book in the Frances Gorges historical trilogy, to catch all of the action for yourself!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Tracy Borman

Leave a Reply