Tracy Rees Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Amy Snow (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Two Lives of Florence Grace (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Hourglass (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Darling Blue / The Love Note (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The House at Silvermoor (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Little Book of Secrets (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Rose Garden (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Little Christmas House (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Tracy Rees is a British author from Swansea who is best known for her excellent romance and historical fiction novels. The 43-year-old Cambridge graduate of Medieval and Modern Languages made her debut into the writing world with the 2015 novel “Amy Snow”. She made a huge splash in the publishing world when her novel was the winner of a blockbuster £50000 publishing deal and won a Best Historical Read Award, beating thousands of entrants and a seven person shortlist. As expected, Rees was over the moon as she had always had a dream of becoming an author for as long as she can remember. Winning the competition just reaffirmed her determination to become an author and proved to her that writing is what she should be doing. Her debut novel is a 19th century family mystery about a young Victorian woman that discovers coded letters that provide clues about the life and times of a deceased childhood friend. The novel was published by Quercus, and after the almost immediate success of the title, entered into a two book deal with the author.

Before Tracy Rees become an author she had worked in publishing and counseling and believes she is third time lucky to find that she is a very good author. As a psychologist, she worked with cancer patients and their families, mostly based in her hometown of Swansea. Even as she was in publishing for nearly a decade, it did not occur to her to publish a novel, as she for the most part was involved in nonfiction. Nonetheless, even as she never ventured into writing for herself, she had always loved stories and was always beguiled and intrigued by the unfolding fortunes, larger than life characters, and intriguing scenarios of fictional works. Still, she had written a ton of poetry over the years though she never did it as a literary pursuit. For the most part, her poems would fall into either very depressing or marginally less depressing category, and she never thought anyone would want to read them. In fact, a month prior to being shortlisted for Best Historical Read Award by Quercus, she wrote a poem reflecting on her difficulties in her work, finances, home life, and relationships. Despite her troubles, she was determined to make something of a writing career and would do anything to make something of it. As such, she was getting into a lot of poetry and literary competitions during this time. One of her very popular poems that she submitted to a “New Beginnings” themed competition was titled “Ash”. Nothing came of the contest, but a few weeks later she was overjoyed to receive a phone call from Richard Madeley of Quercus, informing her that her story had won the competition, and a two book publishing deal.

Tracy Rees’s novels such as the “Amy Snow” and “Florence Grace of novels are Cinderella style stories full of mysterious happenings that will keep one guessing right from the first page to the last. The novels tell of a heartbreaking character whose circumstances sets them on a course towards tragedy. However, before their tragedies they are involved in all manner of Victorian pleasures that include whirlwind tours of the country, attending country, and city balls and getting admiration from the most eligible of bachelors. But even in writing classical pieces, Tracy Rees makes her story line and character different from those of her contemporaries. Even as the struggles of the leads are current, they are still in the historical timelines and settings of history. The narratives provide insights into the women’s difficulty of life choices, self-worth, issues with image and also explanations on the nature of men and desire. Overall, the novels are about the endurance and strength of women who lived a life of trying to break out of the Victorian mold of women as just arm candy for men. Inevitably the lead protagonists find themselves engaged in mysterious quests. These quests are akin to real-life treasure hunts that unravel the mysteries of their lives that result in a better understanding of themselves. By undertaking these life changing journeys, they finally change their fortunes and their whole lives irrevocably, even as their resolve is tested to their limits.

“Amy Snow” is Tracy Rees’s debut novel that is one of the best combinations of historical fiction with a mystery plot. Amy Snow is an unknown child who is adopted by the Vennaways, who bring her home to become the best friend and companion to Aurelia their daughter. Unfortunately, the young Aurelia is diagnosed with a fatal heart defect and soon dies leaving army with a mysterious task. She has left behind a bunch of coded letters that will send Amy on the hunt for mysteries in different locations that will ultimately bring to light one of the biggest secrets that Aurelia had kept. The novel is a narrative of becoming what one was meant to be and overcoming obstacles. Written about the life of women in an era when women did not have the luxury of being taken seriously, it is the ultimate story of triumph against all odds. Amy the orphan with no name comes to find her sense of self even if at first it is only the deceased Aurelia who sees any value in her.

“Florence Grace” the second novel of the series is a moving and haunting narrative of a girl that roams uplands of Cornwall, contemplating her past and present life in consort with the beautiful nature of the land. What follows is a narrative of discovery and transformation and above all singular determination and courage. The story takes one from the melancholy highlands of Cornwall to the crowded and bustling streets of Victorian London, where Florence gets to have a new life, family and name. She goes from a rural poor girl to attain unimaginable wealth though she is not sure it is wealth she needs or wants. As a girl used to the tranquility of rural Cornwall could the new riches and splendor of a new life prove too much? It is an intriguing story that soon tests her inner strength particularly when dark secrets come to light sending the girl into a tailspin of emotion.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Tracy Rees

Leave a Reply