Book Notification

Traders Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Traders Books

The Trader's Wife (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trader's Sister (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trader's Dream (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trader's Gift (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trader's Reward (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Prolific author Anna Jacobs writes “The Traders” series, which are from the historical fiction and family saga genres. The first book in “The Traders” series, “The Trader’s Wife”, was published in the year 2011.

The series is set in Western Australia and Singapore in the 1860s and follows the Deagan family. Some of the characters in this series have links with characters in the “Swan River Saga” series which is also written by Jacobs. It is a continuation of the series.

“The Trader’s Wife” is the first novel in the “The Traders” series and was released in the year 2011. Singapore during the 1860s is both terrifying and exotic for an Englishwoman with no money. Especially one that is alone and vulnerable after her mother died. She is too pretty to get a job as a governess, Isabella Saunders takes a job to teach a Singapore merchant English and live with his family.

Two years go by, and Bram Deagan comes to Singapore, with the determination to make a fortune as a trader. Mr. Lee sees a way to gain business connections and talks Isabella into marrying Bram.

With courage, she goes off to a new land and a new life. The past casts a long shadow over people and they face some dangers they did not expect. Will they find a way to make their dreams of having a successful trading business come true?

Some enjoyed the book because of the way it gives readers an in depth look at life in the colonies of Australia. You get some insight as to the life back in those times. Fans of the novel found that the main characters, Bram and Isabella, were enjoyable to read about, as was Mr. Lee. You get to see, that even though their marriage is arranged, that their partnership feels natural and is a lovely sight.

“The Trader’s Sister” is the second novel in the “The Traders” series and was released in the year 2012. Ismay Deagan has only one wish, to leave Ireland to go to Australia to be with her brother Bram. Her father, however, has other plans and insists she marry Rory Flynn (who is their vicious neighbor), even though she is not able to stand him.

Rory brutally attacks her, Ismay runs off, and disguises herself as a young widow with little money. She meets Adam Tregear while on the ship, and finally believes that future happiness may be possible for her.

Before she can get to Australia, though, she gets into some adventures in Singapore, Suez, and Ceylon. Should she tell Adam about who she really is? Is he hiding something of his own? Or is her past going to catch up with her and ruin the happiness that she has now found?

Some found that they loved this book a lot and could not wait to read more in the series. Readers liked the way the novel does not shy away from a woman miscarrying after being raped, and being glad they will not be having the baby. This novel was made that much better for this inclusion. Some liked seeing more of Isabella and Bram because you get to see them further expand their family and build a life together. Fans of the novel found that they enjoyed this one just as much as book one.

“The Trader’s Dream” is the third novel in the “The Traders” series and was released in the year 2012. Bram Deagan has dreams of having his family come join him in Australia, where he runs his successful trading business.

A typhus epidemic hits Ireland, it hit the Deagan family hard. Other family members are scattered around the globe, Maura Deagan has the responsibility to look after her now orphaned nieces and nephew.

She is forced to abandon any ambitions of her own and is unsure if she is even prepared to become a mother type figure to three young kids. She realizes that the only hope that they have is to go to Bram in Australia. They sail on the SS Delta, which is going to take them all the way there, through the newly opened Suez Canal.

A storm throws her and a fellow passenger (who is named Hugh Beaufort) together. It makes her realize that the journey may allow her the opportunity to have a family all her own, a dream that she abandoned long ago. It is all going pretty good until someone from Hugh’s past comes and jeopardizes everything.

Anna Jacobs is a superb writer that does a wonderful job impressing with her talent. Some found that they were able to read the entire novel in just a single day. Each time out, Anna Jacobs is able to top herself and somehow, write a better novel than the one before. Fans of the novel found this to be a lovely story that keep you fascinated in their entire journey. These books have hooked readers and they cannot get enough of them.

“The Trader’s Gift” is the fourth novel in the “The Traders” series and was released in the year 2013. Bram’s business is thriving, he has his beautiful wife, and a growing family. He has a knack for matchmaking and wants his friends (Mitchell and Dougal) married happily, he quickly suggest to them that they find some wives.

Eleanor Prescott (back in England) has yet to forget the captain of the ship that was a true friend toward her. Dougal McBride said that she should come to him, assuming she was free. Her ill husband dies, and she ponders if she should dare return to Western Australia. Will he still want her to come to him after almost a year?

Mitchell Nash inquires to his cousin in England if he knows a suitable lady. What kind of woman would make a long and tough journey to wed someone that she has not ever met? For a widow, though, that is desperate to keep her young boy from the clutches of a cruel relative, Mitchell’s invite is something that she will grasp with both hands.

Both Eleanor and Jacinta take a large risk for a chance at being happy and head for Australia. In Jacinta’s case, at least, the troubles from her old life are not something that she can easily leave behind her.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Traders

Leave a Reply