Book Notification

Travis Bagwell Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Awaken Online Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Travis Bagwell
Travis Bagwell lives in Austin, Texas with his wife and their three dogs. He is an attorney during the day and an avid video game enthusiast during the night. Writing fiction has been a secret dream of his for some time. But between work and school, it’s a dream that’s seemed impossible to squeeze in. When he finally secured a bit more time on his hands and decided to finally put his nerdy interests to work.

He’s been in love with the growing “LitRPG” genre for a number of years and have devoured almost every story and book which has been published in the genre. He’s cut his teeth on “Caverns and Creatures” and “Ready Player One”. He has also branched out into manga/anime. “Sword Art Online” and “Log Horizon” are probably his favorites. After he ran out of reading material, he decided he would finally try his hand at writing and publishing a story of his own.

“Catharsis” is the first novel in the “Awaken Online” series and was released in 2016. Jason logs into Awaken Online entirely fed up with reality. He is in desperate need of escape, and this game is his ticket to finally feeling the sort of freedom and power which are so sorely lacking in his real life.

Awaken Online is this brand new virtual reality game which just hit the market, promising this unprecedented level of immersion. But Jason soon finds himself being pushed down a path that he did not expect. In this game he is not the hero. There are no bad guys to vanquish. There aren’t even any damsels to save. Matter of fact, he may just be the villain.

This is a great read that pulls you into Jason’s world from beginning to end. It is great to view a player from a darker point of view, and the world he inhabits is well thought out.

“Precipice” is the second novel in the “Awaken Online” series and was released in 2017. A few days have passed since Jason confronted Alfred and he has been debating whether to re-enter Awaken Online. Alfred has made him a proposition that Jason is uncertain about accepting.

Jason, after the battle with Alexion, has been appointed as the Regent of the Twilight Throne. He has to assume the mantle of ruling this undead city, with everything that entails. His first task is to investigate the dark keep which looms over the city’s marketplace. This act is going to lead to a sequence of events which may ensure his city’s survival or just create some new enemies.

At the same time, Alex re-enters the game angry and listless after he lost against Jason. With his reputation in the gutter and without any prospects, he’ll face making a choice regarding how he intends on blazing his path through this game.

“Evolution” is the third novel in the “Awaken Online” series and was released in 2018. After exiting Awaken Online just to find himself holding a knife and standing over two dead bodies, Jason’s now being investigated for committing murder. Making matters worse, Claire has stumbled on evidence of Alfred’s involvement in the incident and the CPSC is circling, just waiting for Cerillion Entertainment to make a mistake.

Jason, with his real life in shambles, and his enemies in-game growing in strength, re-enters Awaken Online totally desperate, since the game is now his only lifeline. He’ll need to move fast to finish the Old Man’s quest and to obtain the power that he was promised.

“Dominion” is the fourth novel in the “Awaken Online” series and was released in 2019. After Jason’s evolution into a Keeper, he finds his fledgling city is in turmoil again. A deadly and new enemy threatens the Twilight Throne, one without any difficulty contending with Jason and the members of Original Sin.

Jason is forced to work fast in order to consolidate his city’s power. Which means finding a steady stream of income, securing the villages within the influence of the Twilight Throne, and growing the city’s military strength. Even while the group grapples with each of these changes, they notice that something’s stirring up the native undead all around the city, even though the source of this odd influence is not certain.

However, one thing is for certain, Jason may have evolved, however his enemies have adapted along with him. If the Twilight Throne is to survive, the group will be forced to grow stronger and Jason must learn how to control his newfound abilities. Otherwise, the darkness might very well claim all of them.

“Ember” is the fifth novel in the “Awaken Online” series and was released in 2019. Arcane magic, desert sands, a love lost. Finn Harris should’ve been the one to die.

However he wasn’t, it was his wife that took his place. Making things worse, he only had himself and his company to blame. They let their passion far outpace their prudence, determined to revolutionize the world. While all innovation comes with a price, however he never once imagined that it would cost him Rachael.

Finn, almost a decade later, is content to hide himself up and wait out the rest of his life, what little he’s got left. That is, until his daughter intervenes, which forces him out of his grief and into a new virtual reality game developed by his former employer. They are calling it Awaken Online, and she believes that there’s something strange going on in this game. And since Finn knows this company, knows some of their tactics, she may just be right.

Finn was unsure of what he’d expected to find when he first logged in. But it definitely was not a manipulative fire god or some school for mages, where students are pitted against one another in lethal duels and the faculty is not at all shy about maiming or injuring novice mages just to prove their point.

Now Finn’s got to learn how to fight, for a chance at redemption and for his own life. He will need to prove that his fire has not been snuffed out. That there is still an ember burning.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Travis Bagwell

Leave a Reply