Book Notification

Tressa Jayne Turner Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Tressa Jayne Turner Books

Calamity Jayne (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Calamity Jayne Rides Again / Calamity Jayne and Fowl Play at the Fair (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghouls Just Want to Have Fun / Calamity Jayne and the Haunted Homecoming (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Calamity Jayne Goes to College / Calamity Jayne and the Campus Caper (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Calamity Jayne Heads West / Calamity Jayne in the Wild, Wild West (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anchors Aweigh / Calamity Jayne and the Hijinks on the High Seas (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Calamity Jayne and the Trouble with Tandems (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Calamity Jayne and the Sisterhood of the Traveling Lawn Gnome (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Tressa Jayne Turner is the lead character of the Calamity Jayne mystery series written by one of the reputed American authors named Kathleen Bacus. She is introduced as a 23 year old girl living in Grandville, Iowa, United States. The series’ books show that Tressa gets in trouble very often. She has the nickname ‘Calamity Jayne’, which was given to her by Rick Townsend. Rick is an officer in the Department of Natural Resources of Iowa and is commonly referred to as ‘Ranger Rick’. Because of Rick, Tressa has to tolerate the dumb blonde jokes, which does not seem to end, as well as her long-running nickname. But, Tressa knows that she is a responsible girl and so she tries to prove her worth to Rick. She gets a perfect opportunity to do so when she learns about a murder case that she knows she can solve as no one else believes that a murder has actually committed. She desperately hopes that Rick starts taking her seriously. For this, she believes that solving the murder case would help a lot. Tressa Jayne likes to wear her snakeskin type cowgirl boots and the matching belt of rhinestone. The Calamity Jayne series is a popular mystery series comprising of a total of 8 books, which were released between the years 2006 and 2015. All the books of this mystery series are set in Iowa and feature the chief protagonist as Tressa Jayne Turner. She is seen getting involved in a various mysteries throughout the series, which she tries to solve with great determination. Tressa is joined in her attempt by Rick Townsend, who is responsible for crowning her with the title, Calamity Jayne.

One of the initial novels written in the Calamity Jayne series by author Kathleen Bacus is titled as ‘Calamity Jayne Rides Again’ It was released by the Love Spell publication in 2006. The story once again shows Rick Townsend and Tressa Jayne Turner in the primary roles. At the start of the novel, 23 year old Tressa Turner is depicted as knowing just what equation she had with Ranger Rick Townsend around a couple of months back. She knows it very well like every other person in the town that Rick is extremely hot and acquires a respectable too in the Iowa DNR, being an officer. But, more than his status and physical qualities, Tressa remembers him as being responsible for giving her the nickname of Calamity. As time passes by, she begins to feel that since the time the two have solved a murder case together last summer, Rick is acting extra smart. Also, ever since he saved Tressa’s cookies, he has acted like God has given him the right to treat her as he pleases. Tressa seems to have been fed up with Rick’s smartness and his showing off. She understands that she has some other important works to do in life. Tressa Jayne Turner looks forward to the upcoming State Fair in Iowa, in which her uncle Frank is going to have his own ice cream stand.

The situation turns into another sticky mess when Tressa’s cousin disappears at the same time when a soft serve saboteur makes appearance. For her, it is the time to don her cowboy boots and head towards solving the mystery. This time, the case is even more important because it relates to her family. Along with the mysterious set of the plot, author Bacus has added an element of humor also. As Tressa is growing up, she wants to forget that she was actually acting as a dumb blonde in the past, because of which she was made fun of a number of times. However, her involvement in solving one of the mysteries along with Rick has forced the people to think that she is not as dumb as she appears to be. Tressa knows what her problem is and wants to work on it. At times, she does not seem to be sure of how her life should be and tends to hide behind her persona of a dumb blonde. Her transition from a dumb person to an actively responsible person is shown very effectively by Kathleen Bacus. As for her relationship with Rick is concerned, she is not sure whether she wants to commit herself to him. Even though Tressa has a temptation, she seems worried that he might be playing with her. Overall, the book appears to be a fun to read. As the mystery is related to the sabotaging of the ice cream stand of Tressa’s uncle and the disappearing of her cousin, her family also gets involved, which makes it personal for her. The characters such as Uncle Frank, Aunt Reggie, Granmma Hannah, and Frankie help to add to the humor quotient of the book.

One of the other well known books published in this series is entitled ‘Calamity Jayne and the Trouble With Tandems’. It was published by the Gemma Halliday publishers in the year 2014. At the beginning of the hilarious book, Tressa Jayne Turner is shown enjoying her sizzling summer along with Ranger Rick. She is unable to make out whether it is her love for him or just a form of lust. Tressa does not have time to find it out as she is asked by her boss, Stan Rodgers, owner of the Gazette, to cover the ginormous ride of bicycle, the TribRide, happening across the state. Stan has given her strict instructions that she should not cover from the sidelines. In order to get closer, Tressa decides to go for a ride herself. However, the ticket that she gets for the ride turns out to be for a couple. And to her surprise, she is joined by the rival reporter named Drew Van Vleet, who is more famous as the missing connection. Tressa wonders whether things could get any worse than this. She is definitely going to find out as the events at the ride unfold. The parents of Tressa Turner are watching from the outside. Her sister seems to be on a warpath. And Tressa learns that Drew Vleet is insisting to have a theme based on Start Trek. To add to her list of problems, Tress learns that she has become the prime suspect in the series of serious pranks targeted at reality television star named Keelie Keller. The surprising and shocking turn of events makes Tressa Turner feel that her life is headed towards a direction where she is going to experience a huge calamity. She has a number of things to watch out for, but does not seem to understand where she should start from. In such testing times, Tressa prays that some form of help arrives in her life somewhere and relieves some of the tensions of her life present at the moment. Just like all the previous books, this one too turns out to be a fun filled and lighthearted story, having a romantic touch and an interesting mystery. Even the characters are very fascinating and help to keep the story flowing very well. Author Bacus was highly appreciated for her efforts in bringing out such an interesting novel. Her development of the interesting characters was also praised by numerous critics.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Tressa Jayne Turner

Leave a Reply