Book Notification

Trevor Ferguson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

High Water Chants (As:John Farrow) (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Onyx John (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Kinkajou (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
The True Life Adventures of Sparrow Drinkwater (As:John Farrow) (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Timekeeper (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fire Line (As:John Farrow) (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The River Burns (As:John Farrow) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Émile Cinq-Mars Books

as John Farrow

Publication Order of The Storm Murders Trilogy Books

as John Farrow
The Storm Murders (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Seven Days Dead (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Perish the Day (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Trevor Ferguson, a.k.a John Farrow was born on November 11 1947. Having authored eleven novels and four plays, he has been popularly referred to as the best novelist in Canada, both in books in Canada and in the Toronto Star. In his early twenties, he traveled and worked throughout Europe and the United States before returning to Montreal to write.

Trevor Ferguson has been a prolific writer for much of his career, penning novels from his city and province of Hudson, Quebec in Canada, the northernmost North American country. He has written more than ten books over the course of several decades and has also written at least four plays. He is considered to be one of the best novelists in the country of Canada. His history as a writer has been extraordinary and his work has been best-selling in countries and regions far away from his home in Canada, in countries such as France. Explore the history of Canadian Author Trevor Ferguson and see why he has sustained such a great level of success in publishing and writing.

Early Life

Trevor Ferguson was born on November 11, 1947. He was born in Ontario, Canada in Seaforth, part of Huron County. He was raised in Montreal since three years old though. He worked in Northwest Canada as a laborer in his teens, and began writing at around this age. He traveled to the United States and Europe in his twenties, learning about other places before coming back home to Montreal, where he was married. He became a taxi driver, still writing in the late hours of the night at home.

Ferguson’s Writing Career and Profession

Ferguson became fascinated with words and writing novels. His first novel published was “High Water Chants”, which was written in the late 1970s. He wrote several other books throughout the 1980s and 1990s after this. Those included his second novel, Onyx John, which was probably his most popular and praised novel in Canada. Almost 20 years later, the book became a best seller in the country of France, in Europe. He would go on to write more books including “The Kikajou”, “The Timekeeper” and “River City”, which was published recently in 2011. Another follow up, “The River Burns” was published in 2014 and 2015 by Simon and Schuster.

Writing in English, Ferguson has penned several plays as well in Canada and one is unique for being the only one in history, written in English, to be nominated for a major Quebec award for best text, which has traditionally been in French. Ferguson has also been involved in professional writing organizations, writers in residence programs and has offered professional guidance to other writers at festivals and workshops over the years spanning his career.

Ferguson’s work has been published and admired in several countries spanning the globe and history will pen more pages about him as well. His career has been well documented and many literary scholars and institutions recognize his work in his preferred genres and categories as a professional and prolific writer in North America.

Ferguson told January Magazine that he chose to become a novelist at the age of 16 years old. The jobs he took were just stepping stones to his real passion of being a novelist and writer. He said that any job he took in the world was just a way to support himself as a writer. He stuck to this goal. He took all sorts of work too. Some of the job titles included heavy equipment operator, kitchen staff, mail sorter, newspaper editor, worm picker and taxi driver. It was hard to imagine at the time probably, but Ferguson seen better days ahead. He would stay committed to fulfilling his dream of being an author in Canada.

It wasn’t always easy even when he did get notoriety, he divulged to the press. He said that he was hyped up by others so much in the beginning that was a little disappointing when he discovered riches, fame and success would not appear overnight in a guaranteed fashion the way he thought they would at that point. It still took some good old fashion hustle and elbow grease to really position himself to where he is now. He said he learned never to get bitter or angry because that would curtail success.

AKA John Farrow

Accomplished author Trevor Ferguson is a talented writer and playwright. But like other popular authors, he has also developed a pseudo name, “John Farrow”. Farrow is the crime writer, a genre popular among many readers, especially in North America, the United States and Canada, more specifically. The genre is popular worldwide though, even in Asia, Europe and Australia. All countries face crime in their societies after all. Trevor Ferguson’s Facebook page is adorned with a John Farrow cover exposing only the John Farrow name reference on the Facebook page. He posts of professional experiences such as a creative festival he recently attended in Raleigh, North Carolina in the United States.

Under this other name, Farrow has stacked the world’s libraries and bookstores with several of his top crime novels including “City of Ice” and “The Storm Murders”. Newspapers, magazines, major literary institutions and reviewers online all over the world have raved about Farrow’s captivating novels. “The Storm Murders” is part of a trilogy series. These books are not all finished and some are anticipated to be released in 2015 and 2016.

Ferguson took on the pseudonym in 1995, according to J. Kingston Price, because “something had to change” if he were to continue writing. The name supposedly comes from his real first name, which is actually John, and the last name of a gangster whose name is Caleb Farrow. He wrote “City of Ice” in 1999 and the Canadian newspaper, Vancouver Sun, printed an article saying it may have been the best book ever produced in Canada.

The book, like others he has written, was set in Canada, Montreal more specifically. The crime novel dripped with mystery and suspense, chronicling detailed violence committed by biker gangs and Russian criminals as well as corruption in the system. These were popular references for readers who wanted a complex diet of intrigue, mystery, betrayal and pure shock. Ferguson, under his new pan name of John Farrow, provided just that with his sagas of murder and investigation.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Trevor Ferguson

Leave a Reply