Book Notification

Tunnels Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Tunnels Books

Tunnels series by Roderick Gordon and Brian Williams

Authors Roderick Gordon and Brian Williams pen the “Tunnels” series of young adult fiction together.

Roderick Gordon surprised even himself by writing a book with help from his old buddy from university, Brian Williams. They self-published this novel in the year 2005, as “The Highfield Mole”. The book was later re-published after some editing in the year 2007, as “Tunnels”.

The book made it onto the New York Times Bestseller list, and was published in almost forty countries.

The series has six books, with the final book, called “Terminal”, being published in the year 2012.

The series stars Will Burrows, who is just fourteen years old. He winds up finding a subterranean society that time forgot.

“Tunnels” is the first novel in the “Tunnels” series, which was released in the year 2007. Will Burrows, who is fourteen years old, does not have a lot in common with his dysfunctional and weird family. The only bond he really has with his eccentric father is a passion they share for archaeological excavation.

His dad mysteriously vanishes, and Will feels compelled to go dig up the truth behind his disappearance. Will finds something unbelievable: a subterranean society that time forgot. “The Colony” has been existing for a whole century unchanged, but this is no benign time capsule from a bygone era. It is ruled by a merciless overclass called the Styx. Will must free his dad, but could he be close to starting a revolution, too?

With all the suspense, you sit right on the edge of your seat. Fans found this one to be a violent and scary read that was gorgeously written and features an ending that will mess with your mind. These may be young adult books, but anybody can pick these up, no matter how old they are.

“Deeper” is the second novel in the “Tunnels” series, which was released in the year 2008. Will is currently wandering the dark, hot bowels under the Colony with Cal (his brother) and Chester (his best friend). He comes across the evil plan of the Styx to kill every Topsoiler by releasing a deadly plague. He begins piecing the plot together slowly but surely. How is Will going to save every Topsoiler from being murdered right along with everyone else? Not to mention that murdering stepsister of his is still at large?

These authors have delivered a novel that keeps your attention for every page. Readers enjoy the book because of the way it is unlike any other young adult book that is out there. It is a lot more grim and realistic world that these authors have made.

“FreeFall” is the third novel in the “Tunnels” series, which was released in the year 2009. Chester and Will have been sent right into FreeFall. They tumble down right through the subterranean Pore with both of the evil Rebecca twins right on their trail, both carrying the lethal Dominion virus. When, where, and will are they ever going to land?

When the drop begins to feel infinite, the boys hit bottom. They find that they are in a realm of just about zero gravity, right on top of a giant fungus that is filled with some artifacts, which come from a lost golden age. The duo is not alone, though. Above ground, there are Styx dressed in black sprouting like poison mushrooms, determined to spread their plague around.

These books do a great job of opening our minds back up to the possibilities as to what may lie beneath our feet. It also does an excellent job of continuing the story began in the first two books. New explorations and discoveries keeping you moving through the action with Will and his friends. The fascination in the subterranean world here increases with every single turn of the page.

“Closer” is the fourth novel in the “Tunnels” series, which was released in the year 2010. Will believes he is safe at Earth’s core, in a world that nobody is aware exists. His enemy, the Styx, are coming right behind him. They are willing to follow him to the ends of any world out there. After they get their revenge, there is their original plan to destroy mankind, called Dominion.

Top-soil, there are some unexpected allies that are ready to fight back. They uncover the Styx’ secrets, are they closer to winning or just getting themselves killed?

For some readers, they are constantly learning new vocabulary words with every book from this series. This one is another roller coaster, and each one appears to get better than the one before it.

“Spiral” is the fifth novel in the “Tunnels” series, which was released in the year 2011. Anybody who believed the Limiters were one nasty bunch, they have not seen anything, yet. They brought their women with them this time around. Will as well as his friends are the only things that stand in their way, as do a rag-tag bunch of retired commandos. The entire thing is a smoking spiral of chaos that not everyone is going to make it out alive from.

“Terminal” is the sixth novel in the “Tunnels” series, which was released in the year 2012. Entire extermination of the English. The Styx along with their lethal cohorts of Armagi will not settle for less. Not even the might of the American military will be able to stop this assault.

Elliott and Will retreat back underground, down to the parts of Earth they were in before. With a small team’s support, one that survived the plague of New Germania, they find a secret at the three core pyramids site. It is a secret that may also explain where the human race came from, as well as where the Styx came from. Will Elliott, and her mixed blood, be able to unlock all of the clues before Earth spins out of orbit?

Once readers got into the action in the book, they couldn’t put the book down for very long. People read the book as quickly as they could, and found themselves with an emptiness upon leaving the world. For some, the second half of the book had quite a few unexpected twists and turns in it.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Tunnels

One Response to “Tunnels”

  1. Patrick Wang: 4 months ago

    i love the tunnels series


Leave a Reply