Book Notification

Twilight Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Twilight Books

Publication Order of Twilight Short Stories/Novellas

The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Life and Death (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Twilight Companion Books

The Twilight Journals (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Twilight Saga: The Official Illustrated Guide (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Breaking Dawn Part 1: The Official Illustrated Movie Companion (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Twilight: The Graphic Novel Books

By: Stephenie Meyer, Young Kim
Twilight: The Graphic Novel, Vol. 1 (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twilight: The Graphic Novel, Vol. 2 (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
New Moon: The Graphic Novel, Vol. 1 (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
New Moon: The Graphic Novel, Vol. 2 (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

About The Twilight Books:

The Twilight series, written by Stephanie Meyer. Introduced in 2005 with the first novel in the series, Twilight, it was immediately met by wide critical and commercial success. Focusing on the romance of a human teenager, Isabella “Bella” Swan, and and centenarian vampire Edward Cullen, as they navigate the complexities of a relationship governed not only by their hearts, but also the underlying ramifications of their cross cultural relationship. These include the view of vampires as monsters, Edwards attempts to protect Bella from other vampire coven, and the rogue clan of werewolves that befriends Bella. Stephanie Meyer has stated that the inception of the series came from a dream, in which a human girl finds and falls in love with a much older, but still young-looking vampire. The series has an underlying message of familial ties, love, and acceptance of non-traditional love, while still supporting the authors faith in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.

The books have of course been made into movies, and if you’re interested in reading more about them head on over to which goes in-depth about the Twilight movies.


Bella Swan moves to Forks, Washington from Arizona, with her mother and step-father. At school, she begins to pursue a seemingly young boy. Edward Cullen turns out to be a vampire, from a family of vampire that only feed on animal blood. The series contains strong elements of classical horror and fantasy, including werewolves. In the Twilight series, werewolves are the descendants of the Quileute tribe, a nation of Native Americans that have the ability to transform into wolves. These human/wolf hybrids are the natural enemies of the more recent vampires, whom they view as destructive and parasitic.

Vampires are organized in family groups known as covens. These groups comprise groups of vampires that all have the same progenitor. Edward Cullen’s coven is unique in that his family only feeds upon the blood of animals, and were all transformed after some devastating life incident. The werewolves of Twilight are organized in a more traditional fashion, with the ability to change being passed down within a family. Other vampire organizations include the Volturi, an Italian coven of vampire introduced in book two, as well as the finale, that act as sort of a governing body for all vampires.

Bella Swan

The main character of the series, she appears in all four novels. Her love for Edward is the main drive of the series, and explored farther and farther in depth in each novel. At the beginning of the series, she is a rather naïve, stubborn and clumsy. She also cares very much for both her family and Edward, and later Jacob Black, and shows true passion for her daughter. Stephanie Meyer write that the character is very pale, and has been described with dark brown hair and eyes, and a heart shaped face.

Edward Cullen

The other main character on the Twilight series, Edward is described as a handsome and youthful vampire with ice-cold, impossibly pale skin, lustrous bronze hair and deep red eyes. He has been described as a modern version of a god-like Adonis. Being 104 years old, his interests are considerably broader than Bella’s, and he has been seen appreciating things from eras as varied as the sixties , thirties and every generation in between. He struggles most with his relationship to Bella, as he sees himself endangering her in

ways that she cannot possibly imagine, and, as with all vampires, she will grow old and die, while he will never age. Extremely sensitive and protective, he acts as a foil to the more stubborn and risk taking Bella, who, being still a teenager, has all the hallmarks and stubbornness of adolescence.

Jacob Black

Introduced in the first novel, he becomes more and more important as the series continues, and in the second and third novels, New Moon and Eclipse, becomes central to the plot. He is a werewolf, a descendant of the Quileute tribe, and as such can control the transformation of himself into a large wolf. He is described as being dark, with a darker complexion and dark brown eyes, and jet black hair. Above average height and muscular, he transforms into a wolf and becomes a rusty colored wolf of abnormal size as well as strength. His relationship with Bella is a key plot point in both New Moon and Eclipse, with a romantic undercurrent felt very strongly by Jacob, but not reciprocated by Bella. He Distrusts and dislikes Edward, whom he thinks is not good enough for Bella, and their relationship is another source of tension for the novels.

The novels explore such lofty themes as eternal love, abandonment, and non-traditional relationships. Stephanie Meyer has often stated that, while she did not specifically pen the books with the background of her own faith, that the message of non-sexual love and abstinence is there and in keeping with the doctrine of her church. The novels have been overwhelmingly popular, with New Moon, Eclipse, and Breaking Dawn all reaching number one on numerous bestseller list. All four novel were also adapted in five movies, beginning with Twilight in 2008, and finishing with Breaking Dawn Part 2 in 2012. All five films feature Robert Pattinson as Edward Cullen, Kristen Stewart as Bella Swan, and Taylor Lautner as Jacob Black. The films were typically well received, with fans of the series exuberant about the adaptations and eagerly awaiting the next installment with bated breath.

While the story of Edward and Bella has been brought to a spectacular end with the at the ending of Breaking Dawn, there have been many rumors of the continuation of the series. Stephanie Meyer has debunked these rumors on many occasions, with the reasoning behind the closure of the series being that the story has already been told, and that she wanted to concentrate on other projects. Either way, the Twilight series is a modern romantic love story, with elements of wondrous fantasy and enchanting, muted horror. It has been called a timeless and updated version of some of William Shakespeare’s greatest comedies and tragedies, which in fact were used as inspiration by the author. The Twilight series is an entertaining and engaging love story that will continue to bewitch readers for generations to come.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Twilight

Leave a Reply