Book Notification

Ursula Blanchard Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ursula Blanchard Books

The Robsart Mystery / To Shield the Queen (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Doublet Affair (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Queen's Ransom (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Ruin a Queen (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Queen of Ambition (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Pawn for a Queen (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fugitive Queen (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Siren Queen (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Queen Without a Crown (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Queen's Bounty (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Rescue for a Queen (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Traitor's Tears (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Perilous Alliance (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Heretic's Creed (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Deadly Betrothal (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Reluctant Assassin (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Web of Silk (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Scent of Danger (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forest of Secrets (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Golden Cargoes (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow of Spain (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Net of Steel (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Seize a Queen (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Ursula Blanchard” series is written by Valerie Anand, and released under Fiona Buckley pen name. The series began publication in the year 1998, when “To Shield the Queen” was released.

The series stars Ursula Faldene Blanchard de la Roche Stannard, and are historical mysteries. The series is set during Elizabeth I’s reign. She is a widowed young mom, who becomes the lady in waiting to Queen Elizabeth I. She is armed with a dangerous curiosity, a sharp eye, and as an uncanny intelligence.

“To Shield the Queen” is the first novel in the “Ursula Blanchard” series, which was released in the year 1998. A rumor links Queen Elizabeth I to Robin Dudley (the queen’s master of horse). The way gossip tells it, only Amy (Robin’s ill wife) is preventing Robin and the Queen to be married.

The Queen sends Ursula to tend to Amy’s needs, in an effort to quiet the idle tongues at court. Even Ursula is unable to stop the supposed accident that leads to Amy’s death. Was she pushed or did she fall? Did Dudley and the Queen use Ursula as a pawn?

Immediately, Ursula finds that she is at the center of a scandal, and tries to protect the Queen. All the while, she loses her heart to a French guy who might be flirting with sedition against Ursula’s Queen. She is able to trust no one, neither her Queen or lover, as she tries to find out the truth in this glittering court that hides all kinds of lies and blood.

This is a fun read, and some liked learning that this was part of a series, as it allows them the chance to read and enjoy more books from this great series. This book does not spend too much time on Ursula’s background, you only get information that is necessary up front, adding in the important parts later.

“The Doublet Affair” is the second novel in the “Ursula Blanchard” series, which was released in the year 1998. Ursula is learning how to pick locks under her majesty’s secretary of state’s watchful eye. This is an odd lesson for a lady in waiting to learn, for sure, but Ursula is not a usual lady in waiting. She has the proper antecedents for her place, but the ear and eye for suspicious dealings assists her in making some more income. She works as a spy, while being paid to find traitorous deeds.

Lord Burleigh sends her to keep tabs on some friends whose dealings are getting more and more suspicious. More than just keeping an odd Catholic priest in their home. This plot is enriched by Ursula’s mixed feelings about the role she is playing. She wants to leave the court so she can join her husband, not to mention the fact that she is fond of the family in question.

One of the strengths this author has is the historical appreciation to realize that Elizabeth was never safe on her throne, despite longevity being on her side. This is a very likable character here, in Ursula, one that is womanly, intelligent, and insightful. The plot, much like the first one, is both interesting and surprising.

“Queen’s Ransom” is the third novel in the “Ursula Blanchard” series, which was released in the year 2000. Ursula is going to need every ounce of courage she has to accomplish her new mission for the Queen without betraying her heart. To try and get away from all the moral ambiguities and intrigue, she agrees to help her first husband’s dad bring his young ward from France to England.

Quickly, duty calls on her. The Queen fears that pro-Catholic forces, which threaten to tear France to shreds are going to spread to Protestant England, and tells Ursula to get a secret letter to Catherine de Medicis, which is an offer to mediate the crisis. The perilous journey is going to take her away from her young daughter, but is also going to bring her much closer to a guy that she cannot trust nor forget. Matthew de la Roche, her second husband from whom she is estranged; he is also one of Queen Elizabeth I’s enemies and an avowed Catholic.

It quickly becomes clear that someone is trying to thwart her mission from succeeding, and realizes she is able to trust no one but herself. She is the only person that will be able to find the truth, which is hidden among desire, treason, and greed. It all darkens her path to find answers.

Readers found this was a great series that is set in the court of Queen Elizabeth I. This is a character that is great at figuring her own options, despite there being a limited amount of things a woman could do at the time. Some cannot wait to dig into other books from this series, as this one was such a strong book.

“To Ruin A Queen” is the fourth novel in the “Ursula Blanchard” series, which was released in the year 2000. Ursula is homesick for England and heartsick after she is separated from her young girl. She is currently struggling to put together her new life in France with Matthew de la Roche, her husband.

Ursula is heartbroken to find out that Meg has vanished from the family that she has been living with since Ursula had to give her up due to the French civil war. Matthew is wanted in England, and cannot go with her to while she frantically makes her way back home.

When she arrives, she is shocked to find out that Meg has actually been sent upon the Queen’s behest to visit Philip Mortimer’s home, Vetch Castle. Philip is the descendant of Roger Mortimer, and was executed a long time ago for being a part of Edward II’s murder. Ursula steps carefully while she tries to find out about Philp’s schemes to make Queen Elizabeth restore the Mortimer fortunes. When a killer strikes, she quickly gets caught up in a web of treason and blackmail that might just destroy the queen. It may cost Ursula her own life.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Ursula Blanchard

Leave a Reply