Book Notification

Vajra Chandrasekera Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Saint of Bright Doors (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rakesfall (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The 2013 Rhysling Anthology(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Apex Book of World SF 4(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Alphabet of Embers(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shattered Prism #2(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Asian Monsters(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
GlitterShip Year One(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Everyone: Worlds Without Walls(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Transcendent 2(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chiral Mad 5(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rosalind's Siblings(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ecoceanic: Southern Flows(2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Vajra Chandrasekera

Vajra Chandrasekera is a fantasy author from Sri Lanka known for his creative storytelling. His characters feel real and unique, making readers want to follow their journeys from start to finish. Chandrasekera’s stories are not only fun to read but also keep you thinking about them long after you’re done. The way he crafts his tales, with interesting protagonists and engaging plots, is special in the fantasy genre.

In his writing, Chandrasekera excels at drawing readers into fascinating worlds filled with intriguing narratives. He has a talent for making complex stories easy to follow and enjoy, which is a big part of what makes his books so appealing. The settings in his stories are rich and play a big role in the overall narrative, adding another layer to his well-crafted tales. This ability to create detailed, compelling stories is why his work is appreciated by many.

Chandrasekera’s gift lies in his ability to merge the extraordinary with elements of everyday life, making his fantasy stories feel both fantastic and believable. He captures the reader’s imagination from the beginning, thanks to his vivid storytelling. Each book is an invitation to embark on an adventure that feels both new and familiar. Chandrasekera’s creative voice and storytelling prowess make him a standout author in the fantasy genre.

Early and Personal Life

Vajra Chandrasekera, from Colombo, Sri Lanka, was inspired by his surroundings, diving into reading and storytelling early on. His interest in the fantasy genre, with its endless possibilities, particularly grabbed his attention, encouraging him to write. This foundation set him on his path to become an imaginative writer.

He would have explored various stories and genres, sharpening his preference for fantasy and honing his writing skills. This journey helped him develop a distinct storytelling style, focusing on creating intricate fantasy worlds. Constant reading and writing played a major role in refining his craft.

Chandrasekera’s dedication to his passion for stories shaped his growth as an author. Drawing from a blend of inspiration from his home in Sri Lanka and the fantasy tales he cherished, he mastered the art of writing engaging narratives. His journey highlights how a lifelong commitment to storytelling can lead to notable achievements in writing.

His journey as an author suggests a promising future with much more to offer. With his foundation solidly built on a passion for fantasy and storytelling, he is poised to continue captivating readers. His dedication and creativity hint at a wealth of yet-to-be-told stories waiting to be shared.

As he moves forward, fans and new readers alike can look forward to exploring more of his imaginative worlds and unique narratives.

Writing Career

Vajra Chandrasekera quickly gained recognition with ‘The Saint of Bright Doors,’ winning the Crawford Award and named a New York Times Notable Book of 2023. His next novel, ‘Rakesfall,’ was published in 2024. Chandrasekera’s prolific output includes over a hundred works across various forms and languages, earning him a place in prestigious anthologies and nominations like the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award.

Besides writing, Chandrasekera contributes as an editor and judge, roles that have earned him awards, such as the British Fantasy Award with the Strange Horizons team. His commitment to the literary scene is evident through his editorial work and advocacy for inclusion within the genre. Chandrasekera’s influence spans writing, editing, and community engagement, marking him as a prominent figure in contemporary literature with more anticipated contributions.

The Saint of Bright Doors

‘The Saint of Bright Doors,’ a fantasy and science fiction novel, was penned by renowned author Vajra Chandrasekera. This captivating read made its debut on July 11, 2023, finding its home with the publisher Tordotcom.

Fetter, trained from a young age to assassinate his saintly father, navigates his trauma in therapy, revealing a childhood fraught with invisible devils, loss of his shadow, and a life shrouded in secrecy. Escaping to the vast city of Luriat after a violent upbringing, he finds a place where being touched by the divine is common, yet he’s drawn into a revolutionary group under the guise of group therapy.

Luriat hides secrets behind every corner, from junk emails foretelling divine arrivals to mysterious Bright Doors that may never reopen once shut, hinting at a reality far beyond the mundane. Fetter’s journey through this enigmatic city leads to self-discovery, challenging his nature and potentially altering the fabric of the world.

Readers looking for a deep dive into a world blending fantasy and science fiction will find this a compelling read. Chandrasekera masterfully crafts a narrative that is both thought-provoking and imaginative, ensuring that readers are hooked from the first page. This book is a must-read for those who enjoy exploring the depths of human nature against a backdrop of divine intrigue.


‘Rakesfall,’ blending elements of fantasy, science fiction, and romance, was the second novel by author Vajra Chandrasekera. This book was introduced to readers on June 18, 2024, marking another addition to the diverse collection of Tordotcom publications.

The story itself weaves a tale transcending lifetimes, where ancient wrongs ripple, enduring bonds surpass mortality, and indelible loves and unbreakable promises shape history. In the aftermath of conflict, Annelid and Leveret find each other amidst a nation’s ruins, their bond deepened by an encounter in a demon-filled forest that launches their spirits across centuries.

Unconstrained by worlds or lives, their connection remains unwavering, though each era brings its own challenges, with oppressors constantly reshaping reality to their whims. Amidst these trials, the witches of the red web vow the undoing of every ruler, underpinning a story of resilience and rebellion.

Fans of genre-blending narratives will find much to enjoy here, in a novel that masterfully merges fantasy, science fiction, and romance into an engaging story that spans lifetimes. Chandrasekera once again demonstrates exceptional skill in crafting a universe where the bonds of love and friendship defy the constraints of time and oppressive regimes.

This tale, rich with history and mystique, promises an unforgettable journey through the ages. Readers eagerly looking for a story of depth, resilience, and enduring connections will surely be captivated.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Vajra Chandrasekera

Leave a Reply