Book Notification

Valentine Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Valentine Books

Love in a Small Town (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lost Highways (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Driving Lessons (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cold Tea on a Hot Day (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
At the Corner of Love and Heartache (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Recipes for Easy Living (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sweet Dreams at the Goodnight Motel (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chin Up, Honey (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Little Town, Great Big Life (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Christmas Comes to Valentine (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Valentine Series
Valentine is a contemporary romance series by Curtiss Ann Matlock. The series is named after the small town in Oklahoma it is set op. Here, you will meet sisters, their friends, and other family members all living in Valentine town. These books are centered on family, marriage, and the challenges that come with this institution. The author has done a great job of creating real-life marriage situations and how different people act when unforeseen circumstances arise. Molly and her sisters are at the center of this series. It is amazing how these women help each other overcome their challenges and still remain positive about life at the end of the day.

Love in a Small Town
Love in a Small Town is the first book in the Valentine series. The book stars Tommie and Mollie Lee, a lovely couple that has been married for twenty-five years. Both Mollie and Tommie grew up in the same neighborhood in Valentine, Oklahoma. They were sweethearts from childhood, and their relationship was fulfilling for several decades. However, after all those years, Mollie starts feeling unloved, and after months of trying to reignite the spark missing in their relationship, she decides to move out of her home into her Aunt’s empty cottage. Mollie’s decision saddens Tommie, but because of his pride, he leaves Mollie to figure her life out. He decides to stay quiet and mope over all the ways his wife has let him down.

The time spent in Aunt Hestie’s cottage and around her sisters helps Molly rediscover herself, what she expects from Tommy and some of the things she is not ready to compromise on. It also becomes easier to understand how she lost connection with her husband. While her time alone helps Molly think things through, she can’t help but wish that Tommy would reach out. She still loves him, and all things considered, Molly would still want to spend the rest of her life beside him. Could this be the end of their marriage? Why won’t Tommy make an effort if he has any hope of salvaging the marriage? Will Molly’s marriage end in divorce, just like her mother’s?

Even though it takes some time, these two lovebirds are able to talk about their marital issues out. Through this story, the author shows what happens in most marriages. After spending years together, couples start to take advantage of each other, and this, coupled with numerous unresolved issues, ends up ruining almost perfect relationships. At some point, Rennie’s story will take a surprising twist that will make her the focus of the story. Molly will also discover that another man is willing to build a life with her if Tommy doesn’t want her back. There are many characters in the book, and you can’t help but wonder how their stories are going to pan out.

Love in a Small Town is a sweet and homey tale of love, self-discovery, and forgiveness. The author blends some southern charm and light humor into this intriguing story of marriage, relationships, and second chances. You will love the connection between the Collier sisters and the talks they have about family life. Even though it takes time for this couple to find their footing, love wins in the end. Everything from the effects that come with a lack of proper communication to the awkwardness of trying to mend a relationship is highlighted here, making this read like a true story.

Driving Lessons
Driving Lessons is the second book in the valentine series. This book stars Charlene, Molly’s sister. Charlene has been married for twenty years when her husband Joey ups and leaves her. In her forties, Charlene has to care for three children alone and learn new skills, like driving and managing the family farm. For a while, life is tough for Charlene. How can a man who claimed to love her leave without warning or caring about their children’s well-being? Is this a case of mid-life crisis and will Charlene be willing to take Joey back in case he comes back?

It will not be long before Charlene finds a way of navigating her day without Joey. She has a solid support system, and while there is a lot on her plate, she manages to take care of her family while also caring for her elderly father. The children react differently to the separation, which brings anxiety and troubles that Charlene manages to overcome. All is not gloom in this story. Mason McCoy is determined to win Charlene’s heart. While the mother of three only thinks its too early to jump into another relationship, Mason is willing to wait until she is ready to date again.

Charlene is a lovable character. It is amazing how she adjusts quickly and steps up to fill the gap her husband left. While she battles with feelings of betrayal and anger, Charlene still manages to be there for her children, her father, and the rest of her family. The farm also remains well-managed even when everyday activities prove overwhelming. Mason is another lovable character. The part-owner to the feed mill is there wherever Charlene needs a helping hand. Even though he loves her and would love to be part of her life, Mason is patient enough to let Charlene get over her past relationship. The story maintains a great pace, and it is enjoyable meeting all the characters who touch Charlene’s life in one way or another.

Driving Lessons is an intriguing story on family troubles, angst, and love. While the storyline is quite simple, the tale hits home. Many families deal with such issues daily, and the author manages to paint a clear picture of what happens behind closed doors in such situations. It is admirable how well Charlene handles everything and bounces back despite the curve balls life throws at her. If you are looking for a light, read based on family, marriage, and marital differences, this book is ideal. While the book highlights serious issues, the story is quite interesting. Don’t be surprised if you find yourself enjoying your book way past your bedtime.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Valentine

Leave a Reply