Book Notification

Valerie Wolzien Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Josie Pigeon Books

Shore to Die (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Permit for Murder (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deck the Halls with Murder (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
This Old Murder (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Forecast (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fashionable Murder (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at a Premium (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Susan Henshaw Books

Murder at the PTA Luncheon (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fortieth Birthday Body (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
We Wish You a Merry Murder (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Hallows' Evil (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Old Faithful Murder (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Star-Spangled Murder (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Good Year for a Corpse (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
'Tis the Season to Be Murdered (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Remodeled to Death (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Elected for Death (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Weddings Are Murder (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Student Body (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at a Discount (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Anniversary to Die For (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in a Beach Chair (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in Duplicate (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

About Valerie Wolzien

Largely known for her cozy mystery novels, Valerie Wolzien is a highly regarded American novelist with much to say. Focusing primarily on suburban mysteries, she knows and understands her audience inside out, having written for a long time now. Writing a number of series, she’s produced a great many books over the course of her long and illustrious literary career. Not only that, but she’s won awards as well, with the critics and public alike singing her many praises around the world.

Her books have resonated with many, as they speak directly to readers, providing them with exactly what they’re looking for. There’s also numerous twists and turns along the way, as she has a gift for continually surprising her audience on many occasions as well. Keeping her readers constantly guessing, she also says exactly what it is that she wants to say, making sure her work remains true to her. She sets herself apart from other authors within her field too, as she brings her books and worlds to life, giving them an immersive quality.

Becoming a household name for many, her work has translated worldwide, with her stories being universal in their appeal. The many characters she creates are also very well drawn, as they really do come alive off of the page for the audience. Giving her work a very real quality, each of her protagonists feel grounded in a down-to-earth manner, making them all the more appealing. Keeping in touch with her readers, she maintains a presence offline as well as on, as she constantly provides clear updates on her work.

Early and Personal Life

Growing up in America with a love of literature and the written word, Valerie Wolzien always had a strong passion for reading and writing. Taking to it from an early age, she would refine and hone her craft throughout the years, creating the voice she’s currently known for today. Taking inspiration from the world around her, she would carry on writing, putting everything back into her work.

Born in 1948 on the 1st of January, she would focus on her craft for much of her life, allowing her to become a household name. Much of her literary career would focus mainly on mystery novels, as she would take the genre in new and interesting directions. Currently living beside the Hudson River, she continues to write to this very day, with lots more planned on the horizon.

Writing Career

The first novel Valerie Wolzien would write and publish was back in 1988, when she would bring out ‘Murder at a PTA Luncheon.’ This cozy mystery was also the first in her ‘Susan Henshaw’ series of books following the eponymous amateur sleuth. Later Wolzien would go on to release her Josie Pigeon series of novels, starting with ‘Shore to Die’ published back in 1995.

Both of these series would then go on to see Wolzien make a name for herself as a writer of solid mystery novels. Crafting an air of suspense and trepidation, she would prove to be hugely influential within the mystery novel genre. Winning awards for her work, she would also receive a Dilys Award nomination in 1992 for her novel ‘We Wish You a Merry Murder’ published the previous year.

We Wish You a Merry Murder

Originally released in 1991 on the 21st of October, this cozy mystery would first be brought out through the Fawcett Books imprint. The third book in the ‘Susan Henshaw’ series of novels, it would carry on from the previous books with another mystery. As a series the books can be read in any order, as the mysteries themselves are entirely stand-alone with self-contained narratives.

Murdered while hosting a Christmas party, the body newly remarried husband of Kelly Knowlson is now gone. This turn of events leaves Kelly as the prime suspect in the case as Susan Henshaw, the local amateur sleuth, enters the scene. Juggling her own Christmas preparations, Susan must solve the case while getting all the cooking and shopping done it time. Will she be able to find the real killer in time, can she get ready for Christmas, and what happens when everyone says ‘we wish you a merry murder?’

A comfortable cozy mystery set in the nineties, this really delivers in its concept, providing an easy to read and straightforward novel. The story itself is well told, written in an accessible manner, making it easy to pick up, but still difficult to put down. Featuring Susan Henshaw as its main character leading the way once more too, it really does work on several different levels.

Death at a Premium

First published on the 27th of September in 2005, this would be a later book to be released from Valerie Wolzien. Released through the ‘Fawcett’ outlet once again, it would be another cozy mystery title, showing what Wolzien does best. The seventh book in the ‘Josie Pigeon’ series of mystery novels, it continues with another stand-alone story and case for the eponymous amateur sleuth to solve.

All set to remodel ‘Bride’s Bed and Breakfast,’ Josie Pigeon the island contractor has a job on her hands, when everything starts to go wrong with the contractors. With an inexperienced architect working the project too, while a male member of Josie’s crew is causing rifts, she’s also facing insurance issues, along with rumors of mannequins being haunted. Then, to top it all off, a body is found leading to a killer being in their midst, as Josie Pigeon must get to the bottom of the case once and for all. Who exactly is behind all the mishaps, can they find the killer before it’s too late, and what is the truth behind the death at the Premium?

It’s a fun engaging story with plenty for the reader to invest themselves in, making for another quick and easy read once again. The story itself has plenty going on, with the characters themselves being very well drawn and fully fleshed out. There’s also lots for fans of the series to enjoy too, with ongoing arcs developed, as it brings everyone’s story to life.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Valerie Wolzien

Leave a Reply