Book Notification

Vampire Academy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Vampire Academy Books

Publication Order of Bloodlines Books

Bloodlines (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Golden Lily (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Indigo Spell (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fiery Heart (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silver Shadows (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ruby Circle (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Vampire Academy Graphic Novels

Publication Order of Vampire Academy Non-Fiction Books

Vampire Academy: The Ultimate Guide (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Vampire Academy:

Debuting with its first novel release in 2007, Vampire Academy, this six-book series revolves around Rose Hathaway, a coming-of-age teenager who is half-vampire, half-human. Rose quickly befriends Vasilisa Dragomir (nicknamed “Lissa” in the books), and falls in love with her instructor Dimitri Belikov. The book series takes place in what is essentially a school for the mystical, named St. Vladimir’s Academy. While in school, Rose must try to defeat the Strigoi, a group of evil undead vampires who constantly attempt to interrupt her education.

Published by Razorbill, the novels follow a plot that circles back in each novel, always leading back to the idea of the Strigoi, and how to end their terrifying reign over a good region of the world and humanity. Rose stands as the undying force against these demons, much like Harry Potter in his novels and Percy Jackson in his series. Rose can answer to the term “unwilling hero”. She doesn’t ask for any of the action that comes her way, but she always finds a way to problem solve and escape from the situation without allowing serious damage to be done.

Vampire Academy has received awards such as Best Graphic Novel and Comics at the 2011 Goodreads Choice Awards and its spin-off, Bloodline, has been nominated for awards like Best Young Adult Fantasy and Science Fiction, also at the 2011 Goodreads Choice Awards. The Vampire Academy books have sold eight million copies to date, in thirty-five different countries.

The books themselves have seen many different types of media over the years, including graphic novels, a film, and have introduced a series of spin-off novels. The main characters in the novels are Rosemarie “Rose” Hathaway (the narrator), Vasilisa “Lissa” Dragomir (the last of the royal Dragomirs), Dimitri Belikov (a Russian Guardian), Christian Ozera (Lissa’s love-interest), Adrian Ivashkov (one of Rose’s love-interests), and Mia Rinaldi (Rose and Lissa’s enemy-turned-friend). Each of these six characters return in two or more of the novels, and help lace together the plot-line that the author has created.

What is Vampire Academy all about?

The series begins when Rose and Lissa are brought back to St. Vladimir’s Academy after spending two years hiding from their studies. When they return to school, Dimitri Belikov is put in charge of Lissa and also makes an effort to assist Rose in her training to become Lissa’s Guardian (the only way she will be able to stay after graduation). Rose has a rare psychic bond to her friend, and is able to read Lissa’s thoughts, whereabouts, and emotions with little effort. This later helps Rose to alert Dimitri when Lissa has been kidnapped.

It is also discovered throughout the course of the novel that Lissa has an ability to heal others. When Dimitri and Rose attempt to save Lissa, parts of their plan continually go wrong because Victor, the enemy, has put a lust charm on the two of them, rendering them virtually useless until Dimitri eliminates the charm. At the end of the novel, Dimitri admits his feelings for Rose, but their relationship remains forbidden due to age difference and complications in Guardianship.

The second novel, Frostbite, released in 2008, Rose attempts to qualify to become a Guardian, with the assistance of Dimitri. Soon after the beginning of the story, Arthur Schoenberg, the man who determines Rose’s fate, discovers that the family he has been guarding has been slaughtered. The students of St. Vladimir’s Academy are sent to a sky resort for their safety.

Rose takes a risk by telling a student, Mason, at the resort confidential information about the whereabouts of several Strigoi. Mason and several other students, unaware of this risk that they are taking, decide to go after the Strigoi themselves. When Rose discovers this, she and another student, Christian, chase them down. They realize that they are too late when they find the group trapped by the Strigoi. Mason is killed in an ensuing battle, but Rose manages to save the others, as well as defeat the remaining Strigoi. Again, Rose’s heart is burdened when Dimitri once more professes his feelings for her at the conclusion of the novel.

Who is the Author Behind the magic?

Richelle Mead, the mind behind the series, was born in 1976. She studied at the University of Michigan, and writes in the fantasy and youth genres. Currently, Mead lives in Seattle, Washington, and has received three degrees (Bachelor of General Studies, Master of Comparative Religion, and Master of Teaching).

Mead has experience teaching the 8th grade (Social Studies and English), but mostly wrote in her free time until her first novel, Succubus Blues, took off. Ever since then, she has been a full time writer and her other books have followed one right after the other. She has won the Best Teen Series at the 2010 Teen Read Awards, as well as a nomination for Favorite Book at the 2011 Kids’ Choice Awards, both for her Vampire Academy books.

What’s Next for the Famous series?

Currently, Vampire Academy holds extremely high name-recognition due to its release into theaters on February 7, 2014. The film was announced in 2010, filming began in the summer of 2013, and it was soon announced that the stars of the movie would be Zoey Deutch, Lucy Fry, and Danila Kozlovsky. The title of the movie was quickly changed from Vampire Academy to Vampire Academy: Blood Sisters.

The filming was done in Europe, a large amount in the United Kingdom, as well as the United States in Montana. Most of the work done in America, however, represents the still-frame photography shown in the picture, rather than the actors themselves. There was also a graphic novel released based on the books in August of 2011, adapted by Leigh Dragoon and illustrated by Emma Vieceli. The sequel to this graphic novel was released in May of 2012.

Apart from the film and the graphic novels, there is also a spin-off series titled Bloodlines. Bloodlines follows several characters that were introduced in the original series, and is told from the point of view of Sydney Safe, an alchemist.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Vampire Academy

Leave a Reply