Book Notification

Vampire Chronicles Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Vampire Chronicles Books

Interview with the Vampire (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Vampire Lestat (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Queen of the Damned (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tale of the Body Thief (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Memnoch the Devil (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Vampire Armand (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Merrick (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood And Gold (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blackwood Farm (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Canticle (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prince Lestat (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prince Lestat and the Realms of Atlantis (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Communion (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of New Tales of the Vampires Books

Pandora (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vittorio, The Vampire (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Vampire Chronicles is a series of 10 gothic books 3 of which have become movie adaptations. The Vampire Chronicles are very different in its portrayal of Vampirism. Each book refreshes your memory of the book before. Anne Rice based at least one of characters on her daughter. The series is rich in development and suspense

The series focuses on the characters Lestat de Lioncourt, Louis de Pointe du Lac and the child vampire Claudia.

The series begins with Interview with a Vampire, Louis de Pointe du Lac tells his 200 year life story to a young reporter (played by Christian Slater).

Louis chronicles his meeting of the Vampire Lestat and the ending result of Louis becoming a vampire. He also introduces the child vampire Claudia into his story.

Louis (played by Brad Pitt in the movie Interview with a Vampire) a New Orleans plantation owner was suffering from the death of his brother. Lestat (played by Tom Cruise) introduces Louis to the world of Vampirism.

Through a number of twists and turns the child vampire Claudia, (Kirsten Dunst) enters the picture and together the trio, led by Lestat plunge deeper into the world of Vampires.

The series continues with the narration of their lives together by Lestat. Into this story enters different accounting of events between the 2 storytellers. Lestat recounts his beginnings in France and his entering the dark world in Paris, after being kidnapped by the vampire Magnus, (played by Antonio Banderas in the movie Interview with a Vampire).

Lestat continues his story with the inclusion his turning of his best friend Nicki into a vampire and Nicki’s own kidnapping. Again the story weaves and turns by the events in Lestats life. The story unfolds at a concert hosted by Lestat and the introduction of Maharat and Jesse.. Jesse a member of a secret society and a relative of Maharat is injured at the concert and taken to the home of Maharat in Sonoma and while there is turned into a vampire as well.

Book 3 in the series (also adapted to a movie in combination with book 4), the story is now being told by Maharat, in her home in the Sonoma forest. The story reveals the life of the red-haired twins, who are actually Maharat and her sister Mekare. Gathered at her compound are characters from book one of the series.

Book 4 introduces the character Akasha. Confronting the gatherers at Maharats compound Akasha describes to the attendees her plans for the new world order. She offers to the gathered vampires the opportunity to become her angels. The plan involves killing 90% of human men and establishing a new Eden, where Akasha would be worshipped as a Goddess. The plan is over turned by Maharat and she then becomes the Goddess of the Damned. The group flees to Armand’s resort for recuperation and later separate and go their own way.

The origins of these vampires are discussed in book 3 & 4 of the series. Akasha was a pre Egyptian thousands of years prior. She is the source of the Vampires making her, Akasha is the mother of all vampires. The story is laced with spells and a young king who is cursed by Maharat.

Maharat and her sister were twin witches. Mekare pre vampire had given birth to a daughter who must be found during the book.

The vampires in this series possess different weaknesses, strengths and beauty which separate these vampires from other vampires’ in the literary and movie world.

The vampires in the Chronicles are not affected by garlic, a stake through heart, cross or any other traditional vampire killing method. They are quick healers and therefore are unaffected by bullets or knives. These vampires, once having been turned into vampire possess incredible beauty. While exposure to the sunlight still affects them as they age they become resistant to the sunlight.

They possess superhuman strength and speed and are able to survive on animal blood, though human blood is preferred.

Physical change is immediate once turned into a vampire. The changes consist of luminous eyes, their skin pales and becomes reflective. Finger nails and hair grow instantly. Rice also made the vampires unable to have children, based on the idea that all bodily functions have ceased due to the lack of necessary fluids that makes a human a human.

The older vampires also develop the ability to move objects with their minds. These vampires do not possess the magic to turn into bats nor do they have the inability to see themselves in the mirror. Elderly vampires possess powers and gifts that the younger vampires do not have. This makes the elders less vulnerable and overpowering to the younger vampires.

The vampire does possess special gifts. The mind gift is a combination of telekinetic and telekinesis. Spell gift allows the clouding of the human mind. Enhanced physical beauty, speed and strength as well as senses.

Their immortality is threatened by sunlight, fire and the removal of their heads. As they go into their elderly years, their sunlight sensitivity no longer exists, In fact, they will actually sun bathe.

Along with the Vampire Chronicles, Anne Rice inserted another series of books entitled, The Lives of the Mayfair Witches. Very few writers develop crossover series or novels in this case it was done. The Mayfair Witches takes on Lestat as well as Pandora and Vittorio the Vampire.

The Final book of the Vampire Chronicles involves Lestat and The Lives of the Mayfair Witches Mona. This book is narrated by Lestat, and takes place again in New Orleans. The Mayfair Witches series and the Chronicles of the Vampire series becomes quite elaborate and intertwined.

Love comes to Lestat in this book and as a vampire, feels emotions much deeper than humans. Maharat once again enters this book coming to the aid of Lestat and Mona. After a series of sometimes tragic events, the group decide to start a compound of their own in New Orleans.

The series is filled with plots and twists throughout. Each character is woven neatly into another characters life.

Often told in first person, each narration reveals more and more of the trials and tribulations of these isolated group of beings. You will find the stories are often related in third person.

Worth the time to read the Vampire Chronicles characters are often emotion evoking and one actually has moments of feeling empathy for them.

The final book in the series ties the entire series together in a very understandable and tight package, by joining both series of books together.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Vampire Chronicles

Leave a Reply