Book Notification

Vanessa Gordon Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Naxos Mysteries Books

The Meaning of Friday (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Search for Artemis (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Acorns (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Disappearance of Ophelia Blue (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Reach Of The Past (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Greek Feast on Naxos (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Vanessa Gordon is an English writer and the author of The Naxos Mysteries. She has also published a book on the cuisine of the Cycladic islands, A Greek Feast on Naxos.

The Naxos Mysteries were inspired by her love of Greece, its ancient history, archaeology and cuisine. She has travelled extensively round the archaeological sites of Greece, meeting people concerned with the discovery and protection of the country’s cultural heritage.

Naxos made an enormous impact on her. On one of her many visits she came across the stone hut in the hills which inspired the first book, The Meaning of Friday. With the creation of her protagonist, the archaeologist and film presenter Martin Day, the next books followed quickly.

Vanessa writes: ‘I love the mystery genre, which enables me to explore the magic of Greek antiquity, the wonderful landscape and the cuisine of Greece, and the rich complexities of human nature. In The Naxos Mysteries I try to appeal to both the mind and the heart of my reader, engaging them in the passions and tragedies of the characters in a context of discovery and exploration.’

Books in order:

The Meaning of Friday
Archaeologist Martin Day has bought a house on the island of Naxos where he plans to combine his research work with relaxation. When a New York historian is killed, a woman disappears, and a body is found in a shepherd’s hut in the hills, Day suspects a connection with an undiscovered ancient site on Naxos.

The Search for Artemis
Archaeologist Martin Day’s new colleague, Edward Childe, appears to have committed suicide. Day cannot believe Edward would do this just as he is about to meet the granddaughter of his first love, Artemis. Then an old friend of Edward’s is threatened and Day suspects he might be the next target of a murderer.

Black Acorns
At the scene of a wildfire on the Greek island of Naxos, archaeologist Martin Day discovers a body by a ruined tower. The victim was the partner of the nearest thing Day has to a brother. He must unravel the events that led to the tragedy, a maelstrom of misunderstandings, mistakes and revenge.

The Disappearance of Ophelia Blue
Archaeologist Martin Day meets his first lover, Ophelia, after twenty years. She has a mystery for him to solve. However within a few days, without explanation, she disappears, leaving Day to follow a dangerous trail of ambition, greed and tragedy in his search for her.

The Reach of the Past
Archaeologist Martin Day’s work involves a shipping magnate who is suspected of antiquity fraud on a grand scale, but whose guilt cannot be proved. When a couple from Santorini and a gentle old man are brutally killed, Day’s association with the millionaire gets him into a great deal of trouble.

Books available as paperbacks and ebooks
Listed on Amazon and from online bookshops
Facebook Group: The Naxos Mysteries

Book Series In Order » Authors » Vanessa Gordon

Leave a Reply