Book Notification

Verity Long Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Verity Long Books

Strictly Murder (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Organized Murder (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Novel Way to Die (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scouting For Murder (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Married to Murder (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder by the Glass (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Long Drive to Death (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Long Cold Death (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Long Deathly Christmas (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Long Tramp to Murder (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Appetite For Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Verity Long Mysteries (Series by Lynda Wilcox)
Author Lynda Wilcox writes the “Verity Long Mysteries” series of classic comedy whodunits, which began publication in the year 2012, when “Strictly Murder” was released.

Verity Long is a researcher and secretary to a famous crime writer. She loves mysteries, Merlot, and men in these fast paced and lighthearted stories.

“Strictly Murder” was a Best Books of 2012 Humorous Fiction Runner Up.

“Strictly Murder” is the first novel in the “Verity Long Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2012. The estate agent listed kitchen, two reception rooms, and bath in their details. What they failed to mention was that dead celebrity lying in the master bedroom. Verity Long’s house hunt is going to turn into a hunt for some murderer.

It’s going to take a bit of fancy footwork to navigate through the bitchy world of television studios, dance shows, and dangerously gorgeous male co-stars. When she looks like the killer’s next tango partner, she learns that this dance is Strictly Murder.

Readers found this to be an entertaining, well written, and enjoyable mystery novel. Verity is an engaging and likable character that you will want to meet again. There are likable characters, a touch of romance with some humor tossed in for good measure.

“Organized Murder” is the second novel in the “Verity Long Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2012. Ernie Rutland, who is dead and hanging off the organ in St. Isidores’ church, wasn’t how Verity expected she would meet the guy that her crime writer boss sent her off to find. Curious about this victim and determined to locate the murderer, she gets involved with a waspish group of actors, and all of the murky muckraking that goes along with small town gossip.

Her blossoming romance with Detective Inspector Jerry Farish gets threatened by the arrival of one of the ghosts from her past, which further complicates her hunt of this killer. With a series of major bank robberies and burglaries that keep her detective busy and the murderer closing in on Verity, she has to figure out whether to live up to her name, or just follow her own heart.

“Scouting for Murder” is the third novel in the “Verity Long Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2013. Be prepared for murder. When Verity agrees to take the daughter of one of her friends to Brownies, what she expects is just to drop the kid off and spend a quiet night in her favorite wine bar. Instead she discovers one hysterical Brown Owl and a corpse in the Scout hut.

However Verity has made a career out of being curious. Verity, now determined to investigate, seizes the chance to cook for the Brownies’ imminent holiday at a close by Scout campsite in her quest to learn the truth. Sacrificing her typically gourmet diet to serve pizzas and sausages may be tough for this amateur sleuth who has a fondness for men, murder, and Merlot. But it’s mere child’s play compared to unraveling some of the darker secrets of this Scout group.

With some dead Scout leaders piling up all around her and a killer that is still keen to earn a Murder Badge, she is going to become the next victim of a madman that is Scouting for Murder.

“Married to Murder” is the fourth novel in the “Verity Long Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2014. Verity only wanted a small and quiet affair with only a few of close friends, however a death at the wedding agency put an end to that. Verity, instead of planning a wedding, is now planning to catch a murderer.

Setting aside the paraphernalia of bouquets, dresses, guest lists, as well as the very important seating arrangement, she quickly finds herself up to her veil in trouble. With a killer hot on her wedding heels, and determined to make her his next victim, and her fiance telling her to just stay out of it, she is no longer certain there will even be any wedding.

How can she even get married, when she is already Married to Murder?

Verity is a wonderful character as she is thorough, intelligent, and is no doubt a nuisance, and the humor in this series is witty, dry, and comes naturally. These are some realistic mysteries that are must reads for fans of the genre.

“Long Drive to Death” is the fifth novel in the “Verity Long Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2015. A rookie assistant. A race against the clock. What could even go wrong?

For twenty years now the unidentified corpse in the blazing car confounded the cops. Verity Long, of the Cold Case Squad, does not have too much luck solving this puzzle, either. Hindered by holding two jobs down and the rookie officer that’s been assigned to her as an unwanted helper, she gets nowhere pretty quick.

With the constable attempting to prove that everybody involved is a killer, she is going to have to call on her own research abilities before the true murderer slips right through their fingers. And kills somebody else.

“Long Cold Death” is the sixth novel in the “Verity Long Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2016. There are different kinds of cold cases. The body in the freezer was just about as cold as you can get.

Verity Long gets sent back to school in order to solve the year-old mystery about the murdered Food Technology instructor, and learns that the victim got exactly what she deserved. Feeling sympathy for the killer, for the very first time in her career she thinks about quitting and going back to her researcher’s gig full-time.

However murder and secrets are still lurking in the middle of the prestigious Crofterton Girls’ College.

When there another teacher gets attacked and ends up left for dead, Verity has to learn a hard lesson of her own. Should she quit now, the murderer’s going to strike again, and this time it might be Verity that faces a Long Cold Death.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Verity Long

Leave a Reply