Book Notification

Veronica Speedwell Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Veronica Speedwell Books

A Curious Beginning (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Perilous Undertaking (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Treacherous Curse (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dangerous Collaboration (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Murderous Relation (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Unexpected Peril (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Impossible Impostor (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Sinister Revenge (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Grave Robbery (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Veronica Speedwell” series are as set of mystery thriller novels by Deanna Raybourn, a bestselling literary fiction and mystery thriller novelist. The USA Today and New York Times bestselling author was born and brought up in Texas. She went to the University of Texas from where she graduated with a degree in History and English. The mother of one got married to her college sweetheart and together they have one child. Her novels have been nominated for several awards including the du Maurier, a Last Laugh, an Agatha, two Dily Winns and a Best Novel at the Edgar Awards in 2019. The first novel of the Victorian series “Veronica Speedwell” was titled “A Curious Beginning.” The novels feature intrepid amateur sleuth and butterfly hunter Veronica Speedwell. In addition to her Veronica Speedwell novels, Deanna also writes other novels in the “Lady Julia Grey,” “A Spear of Summer Grass” and “City of Jasmine” series. She currently makes her home in Virginia from where she writes her novels.

The “Veronica Speedwell” series of novel are set in the Victorian period and feature an unconventional lead in Veronica. She is an adventurous person who never lives by the rules set by society especially on how a lady needs to behave. She has been all over the world working to collect butterflies for wealthy clients that have the money to pay handsome prices for her beautiful specimens. She had been orphaned very young and then raised by her two aunts. At the beginning of the story, the last of her aunts passes on and she decides to leave the little village she had called home for more than three years. At the heart of the series is the growing bond between a man named Stoker and Veronica. Once they meet, they come to depend on each other and develop a profound respect for each other’s abilities. Veronica finds the man very attractive though he is mysterious man with a shadowy background. He is also dark and brooding even though this is part of his appeal. However, having relationship is against her code of conduct.

In “A Curious Beginning,” the first novel of the series, we are introduced to Veronica a young lady living an extraordinary life in the 1800. She had been taken in by her two aunts when her parents died. Veronica had been shuffled around often and this has given her a perspective unlike that of any other woman her age. She is an expert butterfly hunter and the career has taken her all over the world where she has been in passionate love affairs and on exciting adventures. Now that both her aunts are dead, she intends to move away and travel the world. But Baron von Stauffenbach arrives to thwart her plans as he chases away a housebreaker. According to the baron, she is in grave danger and needs to go with him. He also claims to have some information regarding her heritage. She believes this would be a chance to travel to London for free and agrees to go with the Baron. On the way to London, the man manages to convince her to board with Stoker an old friend of his and she finally feels safe again. But from the moment the two meet, things will never be the same again. Stoker is drawn to the vivacious woman who finds herself in danger and she is drawn to his mysterious demeanor.

“A Perilous Undertaking,” the second novel of the Veronica Speedwell series sees Stoker and Veronica living as curators on the estate of Lord Rosemorran. They are working on a museum he is setting up with a base of natural history specimens. They have been working in close proximity to each other and have clashed several times. As such, when Cordelia the Lady of the house asks her to accompany her to visit the “Curiosity Club,” she readily accepts. The club was set up as a place where accomplished ladies can meet and exchange ideas freely and for a long time Veronica has been curious about it. But it turns out that Lady Cordelia had another motive for inviting her out. At the club, she gets introduced to Lady Sundridge, a mysterious woman that happens to be the younger sister of the Prince of Wales whose actual name is Princess Louise. Miles Ramsforth who is a friend to Princess Louise has been sentenced to death for the murder of Artemisia her mistress and only has a week before the sentence is carried out. The princess believes her best friend is innocent of the charges but will not go into the reasons. Since she cannot investigate on her own as a princess given how much scandal it will cause, she wants Veronica to investigate and find the real culprit and in the princess save her friend. Veronica has to help investigate and resolve the murder mystery or else an innocent man will die.

“A Treacherous Curse,” the third novel of the “Veronica Speedwell” series sees Stoker and Veronica surprised by Special Branch’s Sir Hugo Montgomerie. He wants them to look into the case of John DE Morgan who went missing. He happens to be a close friend of Stoker and had been working for Sir Leicester Tiverton who had an expedition in Egypt and needed a photographer. The man had departed without telling anyone and went back to England alongside his ex wife who had him vilified and disgraced a few years earlier. According to Sir Hugo, the couple had a sleepover in Dover and in the morning the man was discovered missing. A priceless diadem that had been recovered from the remains of Princess Ankheset’s tomb was also missing. What is more intriguing is that John’s hotel room has gone missing in addition to the man and diadem. According to Caroline de Morgan, they had been staying in a room with red rose print but the room is not in the hotel records. The proprietor also says that Mrs. De Morgan had booked into the hotel alone. There had been rumors of a curse that followed members of the archeological teams and sightings of the Egyptian god of the dead (Anubis) walking on the streets of London and this sets the stage for a very fascinating mystery. Stoker and Veronica needs to find a murderer, fight a vicious rumor fight for their lives and dispel a curse.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Veronica Speedwell

2 Responses to “Veronica Speedwell”

  1. Nancy Keeler: 2 weeks ago

    Just finished listening to A Grave Robbery. I have listened to many series and Veronica Speedwell is my favorite. I confess I find Stoker as intriguing as Veronica does.

  2. Caroline: 3 months ago

    This is a great series. I am totally obsessed. Very well written, with strong characters, and many surprises.


Leave a Reply