Book Notification

Vespasian Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Vespasian Books

Tribune of Rome (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rome's Executioner (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
False God of Rome (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rome's Fallen Eagle (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Masters of Rome (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rome's Lost Son (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Furies of Rome (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rome's Sacred Flame (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Succession (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emperor of Rome (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Magnus and the Crossroads Brotherhood (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Vespasian” series by Robert Fabbri is from the genre of historical fiction. The series began in the year 2011, when the novel “Tribune of Rome” was released. There are both novels and short stories to the series.

The series stars Vespasian, who is a man that saved the Roman Empire when it was on the brink of almost being obliterated. He goes from a humble beginning to a rich man.

Robert Fabbri’s favorite fact about Vespasian is his last, which involved him saying “Oh dear, I think I’m turning into a god”. He chose to write about Vespasian because he had a career that was so remarkable and it took him everywhere throughout the Empire. This allows the backdrop to change with each novel. Plus, he was a man that came just about from nothing and became the Emperor Rome, something that Robert wanted to explore. Another thing, was that Robert relates to Vespasian’s humor, giving Robert clues to his character. Plus, he loves ancient war gaming, and has a collection of over three thousand soldiers; he is a fan of Roman Historical Fiction. Bottom line, is that Robert saw what a character Vespasian already was and decided to write novels about him.

He knew that he could take a nice and innocent country boy and make him learn hard lessons and go through tough trials. This so that he can strengthen his character in the books; all so readers believe he has what it takes to be Emperor of Rome.

“Tribune of Rome” is the first novel in the “Vespasian” series and was released in the year 2011. The year is 26 AD. Vespasian is sixteen years old, and he leaves his life on his family farm to go to Rome; he plans on getting a patron and going into the army, like his brother did before him. He finds that the city is in turmoil and the Empire is currently on the brink.

Tiberius (the emperor) is getting older and is in Capri, while in seclusion. He has left Rome in Sejanus’s hands, which proves to be an iron grip; is the the commander of the Praetorian Guard and is the ruler of the entire Empire (albeit he does not have the title). Some are worrying that this is not enough for him. His spies are everywhere, and this makes careless words thrown around at a party as deadly as a barbarian arrow.

Vespasian is totally out of his element as he makes some dangerous enemies, and friends that are even more dangerous: like a young Caligula. He finds that he is involved in a conspiracy against Tiberius.

Rome is slowly deteriorating, Vespasian leaves the city to take on his post as tribune on the Balkan frontier in a legion that is unfashionable. There is no way to get away from the politics of Rome. He has not gotten experience, but he is to lead his man in battle against mountain tribes that are hostile. This is dangerous enough, without rogue Imperial agents and Praetorians trying to kill him as well. He must stay alive so that he can find out the identity of all the traitors that are supporting the growing revolution.

Fans of the novel found that they enjoyed reading it, and they were reminded why they liked Roman based historical fiction. Some enjoyed the book and want to read more of the series. Some enjoyed reading the book so much, that Robert Fabbri may be a new favorite for some.

“Rome’s Executioner” is the second novel in the “Vespasian” series and was released in the year 2011. The year is 30 AD. Vespasian has put in four years of military service at the edge of Roman territory, and he still cannot get away from the Empire, even as it is right about to decay and die. His patrons, back in Rome, have tasked him with a clandestine mission where he must extract an old enemy out of a fortress that is on banks near the Danube. He must do so before it falls to the legion of Romans that are laying siege to it.

This mission of Vespasian’s is the key piece in a deathly struggle so that someone will have the right to rule Rome’s Empire. He is supposed to seize a man that might be the witness that will take down Sejanus. Before Vespasian can do so, he will be ambushed in snowy mountains, face pirates on the high seas, and Sejanus’s spies that are all over the place.

Fans of the novel found that Fabbri excelled at writing great prose and character interaction, especially Tiberius and Caligula’s; some felt that they never wanted it to end. Some felt that this book capitalized off of the momentum started towards the end of book one and it hooked them in right off the bat. You will be hooked into the book and will be unable to put the thing down.

“False God of Rome” is the third novel in the “Vespasian” series and was released in the year 2013. Vespasian is sickened by the debauchery that Tiberius went to and put his faith in Caligula, the new Emperor of Rome. This is a mistake, which he finds out pretty quickly, as he watches the shining star of Rome decay into incest, all-powerful, and blood-crazed crazy mad man.

There are some luxurious projects, games that never have an end, and public displays of the relationship he and his sister have with one another. All this and a terrified senate have nothing to do with Caligula’s big plan. He wants to bridge Neapolis’s bay and go riding over it in Alexander’s breastplate. Vespasian is supposed to go to Alexandria to go and steal it.

Fans of the novel enjoyed the politics in the book, plus the growing tension in one part of Rome adds to where the story will go in future books. Readers (those who do not already know) will get to see how twisted and sick Caligula actually was, without him being just a complete mad man. There are glimpses that he knows what he is doing in moments of clarity.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Vespasian

Leave a Reply