Book Notification

Victoria Gilbert Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Blue Ridge Library Mysteries Books

A Murder for the Books (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shelved Under Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Past Due for Murder (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bound for Murder (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Deadly Edition (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Renewed for Murder (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in the Margins (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Checks Out (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Booklovers B&B Mysteries Books

Booked for Death (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reserved for Murder (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fatal Booking (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Hunter and Clewe Books

Publication Order of The Mirror of Immortality Books

by Vicki L. Weavil
Orb of Light (By: Vicki L. Weavil) (0)Description / Buy at Amazon
Orb of Light (By: Vicki L. Weavil) (0)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crown of Ice (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scepter of Fire (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Touch of Magic(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Victoria Gilbert is an American author who uses her experience as a librarian to write mystery novels with a hint of romance.

Victoria Gilbert has great memories of the Blue Ridge Mountain from where she was raised. The author took to reading at an early age, though, rather than pursuing writing as a result, Victoria saw fit to become a librarian.

By the time the author’s publishing career took off, she had garnered quite the impressive resume which included one M.A in Library Science and another in Liberal Arts, not to mention her involvement in organizations like the Mystery Writers of America.

Her time as a reference and research librarian eventually informed Victoria Gilbert’s writing habits, driving her to write a story about a librarian who solves crimes. When the author isn’t reading or writing, she can be found watching movies.

Victoria also loves the outdoors and takes every opportunity she gets to travel, sometimes with her husband and cats.

+Literary Career
Victoria Gilbert has been writing since she could think. As a child, she was always telling stories. Once in a while, she would put them on paper. She also experimented with poetry and plays.

For the longest time, the author was just as enthusiastic about music and theater as she was about reading and writing. For a while, it seemed like her writing habit might win out. For as long as she could remember, Victoria knew she wanted to write a novel.

But life kept getting in the way. The author finished high school, pursued a college education, got married and then secured a few positions in public libraries around the country.

It was a little later in life that Victoria Gilbert decided that, even if she never became a renowned author, she would at least write and publish one book. That one life goal she was determined to cross off her list.

Even though she set out to write in 2011, it wasn’t until 2017 that Victoria’s reputation gained traction, resulting from the publication of ‘A Murder for the Books’, the first novel under the Victoria Gilbert name to find a place on bookshelves around the United States.

The cozy mystery novel told the story of a woman who moved to a small town, became a librarian and found that she could use her research skills to solve murders.

Even though the author found success in the mystery and suspense genres, she actually began her career in the YA field. Many Victoria Gilbert fans believe that ‘A Murder for the Books’ was the author’s first published work.

But in truth, ‘A Murder for the Books’ was merely the first book Victoria had published under her real name. In 2014, the author made her publishing debut with ‘Crown of Ice’.

The book was published under the Vicki L. Weavil pseudonym to little fanfare. As much fun as the author had writing YA and Science Fiction, it did not take her long to realize that she was more likely to succeed if she wrote what she knew, which was libraries, librarians, and small towns.

Having worked as a librarian for so many years, Victoria believed that she was best placed to provide an authentic picture of the work that libraries and librarians did. She also counted on her time growing up in a small town aiding her in her efforts to bring the small town setting of her story to life in vivid colors.

For all the experience she brings to the table, though, Victoria still does plenty of research for her books. The habit comes naturally to her. She relies on physical books and online resources to get her information.

Victoria Gilbert writes primarily to entertain. While she does not mind weaving one or two serious messages into her stories, at the end of the day, her priority is to ensure that her readers have a good time.

The author approaches her writing as a fulltime job. She spends most days of the week either writing, planning new projects or promoting her old work. The work is grueling but Victoria has found it much easier to meet her deadlines ever since she retired in 2017.

Her writing is normally done between mid-morning and early afternoon. The author spends a lot of time in the preparation stages because she outlines extensively. Though, she isn’t so stubborn that she will refuse to let her story evolve and change organically when she starts writing.

Interestingly enough, even though it took Victoria quite a few years to find success in publishing, her entry into publishing was much easier than most. It only took the author six months to secure a publishing deal. This is despite having so many author friends who spent years querying agents and publishers before finally striking gold.

Victoria is always encouraging her fans who are aspiring writers to experiment. She advises them against getting too cozy with any particular genre. She thinks that it is a mistake for any one writer to grow so comfortable writing specific types of stories that they never adventure out of their comfort zones because they could be missing out on a genre to which their skills might be best applied.

+A Murder for the Books
Amy Webber joined her aunt in a quiet mountain town after an affair ended horribly. The University Librarian hoped that all the political and financial issues plaguing her new job at the local public library would keep her busy and free from unnecessary entanglements.

But then she met a dance teacher named Richard Muir who not only charmed her but also talked her into investigating a murder several decades old.

+Shelved Under Murder
Things are getting busy in Amy Webber’s new hometown. An Annual festival has everyone buzzing, though Amy isn’t sure she likes all the hullaballoo. Things get even more interesting when a dead body is discovered.

The victim was an artist and it seems like someone stabbed her with her own tools. When a preliminary investigation discovers forged art in the victim’s studio, the local Sheriff decides to bring Amy in on the case, certain that her experience as an art history researcher will help them resolve the issue.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Victoria Gilbert

2 Responses to “Victoria Gilbert”

  1. Nancy Todd: 1 year ago

    Love your books. I have read all the Library Mysteries thru the Deadly Edition. Have picked up the first copy of your B & B mystery of Booked for Death. I have finally resumed my love of reading. Went off for a bit after my husband passed away. He and I were avid readers. Just wanted you to know that thanks to you, I am reading again.

  2. James Toth: 1 year ago

    Please ask your publisher to offer your books in paperback. Less expensive, yes. But they take up less space on shelves already packed with mystery books.

    Thank you.


Leave a Reply