Book Notification

Victoria Houston Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lew Ferris Books

Wolf Hollow (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hidden in the Pines (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
At the Edge of the Woods (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Loon Lake Mystery Books

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Alone After School (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Self-Care for Kids (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Loving a Younger Man (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Making It Work (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Health History (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Restore Yourself (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Michelle and Me (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Hook, Line & Sinister(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Victoria Houston is a renowned American writer who was formally married to a man who was nine years younger than herself. A situation which led to her interviewing at least 40 couples in similar circumstances such as her and also serving as motivation for one of her best titles “loving a younger man: how women are finding and enjoying better relationships”. She is also the proud writer of Loon lake series which is a novel series based on murder mysteries in Wisconsin. Ms Huston resides and works in Wausau, Wisconsin.

When not writing, Victoria loves fishing around Northern Wisconsin. In fact, her Loon Lake Mystery, a Series which is entirely against background fishing is set there as well. She discusses bait fishing for musky as well as bluegill, walleye and bass. Looking back, Victoria developed love for fishing at a tender age of three. By age eleven she gave up fishing for boys. Interesting thing is a few years after; she gave up boys and took up fishing once again. She also admits about how she couldn’t wait to get away from Wisconsin once she turned 18 a move she also reconsidered when the time finally came. She eventually left and finally came back thirty years later. Since then, over the last seven years, she has been mainly focused on writing mysteries and learning how to fly fish.

It is equally worth noting that all this efforts follow closely on the heels of a career in public relations as well as newspaper and book publishing. To date, she has been able to author at least six well performing nonfiction books.

Her Loon lake series for instance, featured three main characters. Lewellyn Ferris served as the local police chief and an ardent fly fisherman. With a little help from a retired dentist one Doc Osborne, she solved murders. Ray pradt, is brought out as a good looking young fishing guide as well as a champion loon caller who is always in stuffed trout particularly on his head. Reading through, these three are brought out solving several crimes without falling overboard, proof of Victoria’s amazing writing skills and creative imagination.

One of the most striking feature about Ms Huston’s writing is the fact that most of her work is set right in her backyard “NorthWoods of Wisconsin” against background of fishing (fly fishing to be precise) something which she is well conversant with hence able to clearly bring it out in her writing. Examples of Huston’s non fiction books include:

a. “Alone after School”: it is a self care guide for parents in Latchkey and their children.

b. “Loving a younger man”

c. “Making it Work” a Simon and Schuster publication.

In addition to the above, Huston has also co authored “Restore yourself”. This she did alongside Dr. James Simon.

During her Teens and twenties, now Mystery author Victoria Huston was a simple hometown girl who was extremely eager to move away from Wisconsin town. Today, thirty years down the line, not only has she made a comeback to her native hometown, Rhinelander, she has also based one of her mystery series in this same region with emphasis on the region’s culture for fishing.

It is equally worth noting that even though Huston, now 56 years, has changed the course of her life severally; her travels and life experiences through this time all seem to have finally led her to a single logical conclusion: writing. In fact, today, after having married twice and raising three children as well as having a very successful career in promotions and publicity not to mention being able to write to completion five well performing nonfiction titles, Huston has clearly reinvented herself once again this time though as a skilled mystery writer.

She is on record saying, this new phase in her life is mainly marred by quiet and focus. It is supported by the success and positive feedback from her previous mystery series releases e.g. The “dead creek” and the “dead Angler”. “Dead water” is one of her most recent releases. It features a long retrenched dentist and fisherman, Dr. Osbourne as the main protagonist. He is brought out living in a mythical northern woods area often helping his friend as well as love interest one Lewellyn Ferris (a local female police chief) to solve mysteries revolving around bait and fly fishing in the waters of north woods.

Huston has one several occasions attributed the success of her work to the setting and culture of Wisconsin. During her 40s, Huston made her first ever attempt in writing a novel and at her agent’s behest, she managed to do so four times. Shortly after she made a decision to take a hiatus from her writing in order to pay close attention to the craft as well as master the conventions for mastery of mystery writing. One thing she has come to appreciate from it all is the class assignment which was to write autobiographies of leading characters in first person. This helps her familiarize herself with details of other mystery authors since she came to realize that what she was struggling with the most when writing was being able to show readers and not tell.

One year later, she gave writing another try and submitted a 50 paged sample set in the city of Kansas for critique via the Mystery writers Association of America. Her writing mentor, was never impressed with the Kansas City sections but really loved the approach in Wisconsin parts of the sample. It is from those pages that Huston drew out “dead Creek” which is the second installment in her series. apart from Dead water, Huston has received contracts to write books four as well as five for her series. What’s more, she has also been working on releasing a nonfiction book set for release in soon titled “Restore yourself”.

She compares life to fishing, you can cast your line but you never know what you will end up catching since life will throw you unexpected opportunities. make a point for getting Victoria’s books, if you love reading mysteries, i guarantee you that you will not be disappointed with her writing, plot development and approach to mystery writing.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Victoria Houston

6 Responses to “Victoria Houston”

  1. Jane: 1 year ago

    I have a 15 yr old grand daughter who simply loves to fish. I am going to share one of your books with her.

  2. David Hanke: 1 year ago

    I was born in Rhineland st in January of 46, grew up in Eagle River. Have you ever fished Siphon Springs? It’s near Boulder Junction. I’ve been many of the spots you mention your books! Love them all!!!

  3. ted schroeder: 2 years ago

    Loved reading your series. No mention of two of my favorite places to fish. The Deerskin river and McDonald creek with all its blueberry patches for August picking.

  4. Judy Emerson: 3 years ago

    I love the Loon Lake series. Will there be another one after Dead Big Dawg? I really hope so.
    Judy Emerson

    • Kathryn Patten: 2 years ago

      Were there any loon lake mysteries in 2020 or 2021?

      • Graeme: 2 years ago



Leave a Reply