Book Notification

Viking Series I & II Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Viking I Books

The Reluctant Viking (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Outlaw Viking (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tarnished Lady (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bewitched Viking (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Blue Viking (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Fair Viking / The Viking's Captive (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Tale of Two Vikings (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Viking in Love (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Viking Takes a Knight (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Norse King's Daughter (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pirate Bride (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Viking Series I & II

Viking I & II is a series of romance/time travel book by bestselling American author of romance, humor, comedy, literature and fiction books, Sandra Hill. Each book in the series can be read as a standalone and features different Viking brothers sent in future, where they fall in love with different women of the future. The series is divided into two different story arc, Viking Series I and Viking Series II.

The Last Viking

This book may be a typical time travel theme where a 10th-century Norse warrior/architect stranded in the present and probably for some people to laugh at the cultural stutter that the main character experiences are funny. The historical details in this book are unexpectedly quite a lot.
Okay, maybe the cover is “rather” shocking, but judge a book has never been by its cover.

Once a Viking named Geirolf Ericsson, had to accept the harsh reality that his ship Fierce Dragon sank, his mission to restore holy relic to Britain failed and he realized that he would die, but when he saw a half-finished longboat, the Geirolf spirit immediately rose and immediately swam towards the boat, holding on to its wooden figure, Ingrid.

In Maine, 1997, Meredith Foster, a professor of archaeology, with a special field in Viking history, is confused about continuing the grand boat’s heritage project. Not to mention his assistant Mike Johnson, who made a move, made a wooden boat figure similar to Sharon Stone. When Meredith returns home, she realizes that an unknown person vandalizes her house. She finds a man with a large body, long hair, and strange braids, which, according to Meredith, resembled Kevin Sorbo (For those who do not know this, Kevin Sorbo is the main character in Hercules television series).

The unknown man turns out to be Geirolf (who doesn’t realize he had time traveled). They introduce themselves to each other, where Geirolf recited Meredith’s name as Merry-Death and was surprised to learn that Meredith’s profession was “dock-whore” and “profess-whore” (even though he meant doctors and professors). Since Geirolf is from Viking era then old-fashioned and conservative, he always calls Meredith “wench,” who must serve all his needs, which Meredith responds to and even though he resembles Kevin Sorbo, Meredith doesn’t care; Geirolf has to get out of her house.

Geirolf realizes from Meredith that he is stranded in 1997, and that meant the mission his father had given him failed, and he lost all the people he loved. But his enthusiasm returns when he discovers he could return to 997, in the following month’s cycle, and during that time he will help Meredith continue to make his Viking ship project. But this marks the beginning of chaos.

Geirolf is of course shocked by the American country. He considers, all women here are “whore” because they only wear pants, or tight shorts and T-shirts compared to his time period where girls would wear long skirts named gunna. Stunned when invited to the mall and sees electronic devices and also surprised to see a black box that can talk (TV and telephone).

On the other hand, Meredith considers Geirolf to be male-chauvinist-pig, whose work can only govern but does not deny that she and Geirolf are starting to have mutual feelings of love. Geirolf, who thought Meredith was “his destiny,” proposes Meredith to marry him, but Meredith at first refuses to take up, knowing Geirolf would leave her, but Geirolf never gives up and seduces her and bought Meredith a car. When they finally get married (which is arguably forced, because Meredith was married with her hands tied, because she still didn’t want to marry too), Geirolf returns to his time and had to find a big surprise waiting for him at the end of the trip.

Sandra Hill has done a fantastic job in crafting her Viking Series debut novel. The main characters are very cute; their interactions build tension from beginning to end.

Geirolf has time traveled and expected he is hit by culture shock, and recited contemporary terms that sounded strange, his mouth war with Meredith, and his taste which is very high, when it comes to making love. He truly loves Meredith, and even though he knows that he’ll leave, he still marries her.

Truly Madly Viking

After Ericsson’s Geirolf was thrown from 997 to Maine in 1997, now it’s his brother’s turn, Jorund Ericsson is sent in future from 998 to Texas in 2000.
Already, bad luck Jorund appears in a public place without clothes, so he is sent to a mental hospital. But a lot of funny things happen in this mental hospital, especially after Jorund meets with Dock-whore Mag-he and joins another group of patients.

Among the romantic stories between Jorund and his doctor, what if Jorund met his younger brother, while at the same time in the future of America. Could it be via Facebook? Er, but this book was published in 2000 before there was Facebook. The heroine, Maggie is a psychiatrist, a single mother with a twins. She is clearly shocked to see the appearance of Jorund naked. No doubt, Jorund was put in a mental health facility where Maggie worked. Jorund was angry at first, but he was a Viking enchanting people who hypnotize the people around them. It doesn’t take long for Jorund to “bewitch” Maggie, her children, and patients in the hospital.

Sandra Hill is an author who has a knack for mixing comedic elements with great romance and sensuality. Truly, Madly Viking is a story with plenty of humorous moments that will have you smiling and laughing through the tender and funny moments. The characterization is beautifully done. While the book can be read as a standalone, the readers witness a reunion between Meredith and Rolf the main characters in the first book in the series. The story also introduces us to Rolf’s third brother who’s the main character in the third book in the series.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Viking Series I & II

Leave a Reply