Book Notification

Violet Darger Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Violet Darger Books

By: L.T. Vargus, Tim McBain
Dead End Girl (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Image in a Cracked Mirror (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killing Season (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Victim (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl in the Sand (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bad Blood (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Five Days Post Mortem (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Into the Abyss (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night on Fire (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Passage (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trouble in Paradise (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Countdown to Midnight (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Couple Killer (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
When Darkness Falls (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lonesome Highway (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Celebrity Skin (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Violet Darger is a series of thriller novels written by two bestselling American authors Tim McBain and L.T. Vargus. Vargus hails from Michigan and a long time co-author with Tim McBain. The two began the publication of Violet Darger series in 2017 when Dead End Girl, the first book in the series was published.

Dead End Girl

The recent dead body was found in a greasy dumpster just behind the Burger King, her body broken, wrapped in a plastic garbage bag, and dumped into the murky oil. Now the amateur detective Violet Darger gets the most crucial assignment of her professional career. To travel to the Midwest and face the serial killer, unlike anything she has ever witnessed in this world, territorial, deranged, aggressive and driven.

Then before long, another mutilated body is found next to the roller rink, and a third in the gutter of a residential neighborhood. These shocking displays of violence send the whole community in shock and rattle the local authorities. Who could be behind these recent brutal murders and what’s the motive behind these murders?
Unfortunately for the rookie detective, there is very little physical evidence to work with, and the only witness available proves to be unreliable, and the case seems hopeless. If she fails to bring the perpetrator to justice, the body count will increase, and the killer will kill again and again. The victims of this serial killer harbor darkening secrets, and the writhe and clues and refuse to keep still and the serial killer watches the news, glad to relive the violence, with the notion that he can never be stopped.

The first book in Violet Darger series is fully packed with heart-wrenching suspense, such that the fans of Jeffrey Deaver, John Sandford, Lisa Gardner and Karin Slaughter will find Violet Danger a series worth their time. It is a tightly woven, tension-laced, fast-paced thrill ride. Because of the FBI trainee and the serial killer, Dead End Girl can be compared to the 1991drama/crime film, The Silence of the Lambs. If you have watched this film, you will like this debut novel. Additionally, with the novel focusing more about Violet Darger life outside the homicide cases, Dead End Girl and possibly all the rest of the novels in the series would also be a favorite amongst the lovers of Jack Daniels mysteries by J.A. Konrath. At the same time, the story gives more focus to organic storytelling and details such that one would easily compare it to Stephen King’s works.

Because the gore and the blood are great, hunting down the serial killer is also great. What makes the novel even more interesting and unique is the fact that not only the living characters haunt the pages of this book- the serial killer’s victims also come to life too. Both Vargus and McBain have presented the readers with likable characters, ones that we could compare with our real-life friends, neighbors, or even adversaries, characters with flaws, families, and a great sense of humor. At its core, Dead End Girl is a story with themes that make us reflect our daily lives, forcing us to snap the judgments about the different people that we meet every day, and reevaluating our voyeuristic interest in death.

On the other hand, the characterization is brilliantly done right from the main characters to the supporting characters. First, there is Violet Darger, the main character in the story. She has the most stressful job, one that not every woman out there would be willing to take. Not just because she has to hunt down the killer, but also because she is a woman who finds herself working in most cases with men, and so she has to prove herself every day that she is fit for her job. Additionally, she is a professional profiler, but also possess human traits such as anxiety. Just like any other woman out there, Violet is a natural born detective, but also makes the mistakes any other woman often does. For example, she analyzes the situation and possibly makes sniffs out people motives, but the challenge is that she always ends up trusting the wrong person, or saying the wrong thing possible in the heat of the moment because she is personally invested in the situation.

Killing Season

Killing Season is the second novel in Violet Darger series by LT Vargus & Tim McBain. The story opens up with the murder of a driver, who is shot through the windshield of his SUV. By the time special detective Violet Darger arrives in Atlanta, the city is already teetering towards panic. The vacant restaurants and streets pain an eerie picture and no one dares to venture out.

The man responsible for the latest murders walks among them, like a shadow and the public cowers perfectly the way he wants them to. A sniper killer along the I-20 murders eight people and causes a massive car pileup. The next morning, the same serial killer stalks his victims across a grocery store parking lot with a shotgun in his hand killing six shoppers before disappearing without a trace. Once more, special agent, Violet must filter out the serial killer, stare into his darkest recesses and figure out his next move. Putting herself in danger, and putting herself in the killer mind might be the only possible way to stop him. However, the big question is what kind of motive would drive such a man to such violent acts? Moreover, what price must one be willing to pay to invite such hatred in their hearts?

The timeline of the second book in Violet Darger series by LT Vargus & Tim McBain series is approximately one year after the debut novel, Dead End Girl. We meet Darger now a fully trained special agent, and the Loshak has found a worthy opponent in Violet as a partner- and the professional relationship between the two is amazing. Additionally, the relationship between Victor and Violet is interesting; it is familiar in a Big brother/small sister or father-daughter relationship. The personal demons that plagued Violet in the first book have been resolved, get control over her life and back to handling homicide cases. If you like thriller mysteries, you will find Violet Darger series a great read.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Violet Darger

One Response to “Violet Darger”

  1. Jacque: 4 months ago

    Love these books!!!


Leave a Reply