Book Notification

Virginia Henley Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Clan Kennedy Books

Publication Order of Delanza Family Books

The Miracle (in A Gift of Joy) (With: Brenda Joyce) (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Delanzas Books

with Brenda Joyce
Secrets (By: Brenda Joyce) (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
After Innocence (By: Brenda Joyce) (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Miracle (in A Gift of Joy) (With: Brenda Joyce) (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Medieval DeWarenne Trilogy Books

Publication Order of The Medieval Plantagenet Trilogy Books

The Falcon and the Flower (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragon and the Jewel (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Marriage Prize (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Peers of the Realm Trilogy Books

The Decadent Duke (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Irish Duke (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark Earl (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Anthologies

Virginia Henley is a bestselling English author that writes historical romance. Virginia’s novels are so detailed and thoroughly researched that some of her readers have wondered whether she will ever produce straightforward historical fiction.

However, Virginia has said on numerous occasions that it was the romantic aspects that drew her to historical fiction and that is all she cares to write.


Virginia Henley was born in 1935 in Bolton England to a mother from whom she inherited her love for history. Virginia counts her History degree and her marriage to Arthur Henley in 1956 among her greatest achievements.

Arthur died in 2013, leaving behind two sons and several grandchildren and great-grandchildren. Writing was not always in the cards for Virginia. In fact, after she was married and living in Grimsby, Ontario, Virginia Henley spent a long while as a housewife.

She took to the business of homemaking and might have given the rest of her life to her family if it wasn’t for ‘The Wolf and the Dove’. Virginia read the Kathleen E. Woodiwiss book and it prompted her to take up the pen soon after.

She proceeded to write ‘The Irish Gypsy’, her first novel which Avon Books published in 1982. That set her on the path to writing a multitude of historical romance novels that have been translated into more than a dozen languages and earned her prizes like the Romantic Times Lifetime Achievement Award, and the Maggie Award.

Many readers tend to categorize Virginia Henley’s books as typical bodice rippers until they actually read them and realize that the author isn’t out to simply throw sex and sensual language at her audience.

Rather, Virginia pays close attention to detail when she writes about actual historical events. And she does an impeccable job of taking facts and seamlessly blending them with the fictitious elements of her story.

Even though the romance genre is chocked with historical tales of love and sex, Virginia is one of very few authors who make historical detail a hallmark of their stories. She doesn’t falter in any of the facets of the time period about which she is writing.

She delves into everything from the fashion trends of the era to the common forms of communication between men and women. Her goal is to paint as vivid a picture of historical times as any other serious historical novel.

She also endeavors to litter her stories with a litany of colorful supporting characters each pursuing their own passions and adventures.

According to Virginia, her persistence in the publishing genre is driven solely by the fact that she always sets out to write for herself. Virginia’s goal is to write books that will please her.

She’s her own primary audience, with her readers being a distant priority. And she is certain that any book she writes that pleases her is likely to please her fans.

Virginia isn’t afraid to admit that writing is a struggle for her. Most historical fiction authors love to write while they hate the research involved. A few gravitate towards both activities.

But most tend to appreciate the writing aspect more than the research. For Virginia Henley, it’s the very opposite. Writing is extremely hard work. It can take her up to a year to write just one book.

The research, on the other hand, gives her great pleasure. History is Virginia’s passion. She loves getting immersed in bygone eras and time periods.

In fact, it is the research that makes work as an author bearable. The nervous breakdowns she suffers as a result of the writing process are worth it because she gets to research history.

For all its joys, the process isn’t easy. The author’s short-term memory is a little spotty so she has to keep repeatedly looking things up. When formulating a story, Virginia normally starts with a time period.

Once she has an era in mind, she starts to read about the people of significance that lived in that period. That allows her to begin crafting a map, one that includes a variety of minor characters.

She also endeavors to do thorough research on the names of her fictional characters, making certain that they match the region and the era in question.

Virginia loves the trains of thought that her research sparks. She sometimes starts a project having determined to write about one particular character only for several other characters following drastically different angles to emerge.

For the most part, the author lets her creativity lead her.

Virginia believes that her fiction was quite shocking when it first came out, mostly because she was forthright when talking about sex and sexuality. However, as the years past and as erotica grew in strength, the author’s books lost their shock factor.

+The Falcon and the Flower

Jasmine was a beautiful woman. The love child of King Richard’s half-brother, she wasn’t unaware of her ability to strike men mute. And yet Jasmine had vowed that she would never surrender her heart to a man.

But that was before she laid eyes on the Falcon and realized the lengths to which the brooding knight would go to make her his own. It will take every skill Jasmine has in her arsenal to escape the hypnotic eyes of her pursuer.

Falcon de Burgh thought he was beyond the wiles of women. A handsome warrior bound to his sword, Falcon determined a long time ago that he would never wed a woman.

But then he saw Jasmine and realized that he was ready to risk everything to show her all the wonders that could be experienced by a woman who was loved by a man like him.

Jasmine has no intention of making the hunt easy. However, Falcon is all but blind to the obstacles standing between him and the woman he has sworn to tame.

+A Year and a Day

Lynx de Warenne is Edward Plantagenet’s most prized warriors When he is unleashed upon Dumfries Castle and eventually takes Jane Leslie’s home, Lynx sees in the lass an opportunity to finally sire an heir.

Lynx is certain that the handfasting will solve all his problems. The Scottish tradition allows a man and a woman to sleep together for a year and a day. At the end of that period, they can either wed or separate.

Either way, the child born from them is considered legitimate. Lynx has no choice in the matter. She must surrender to her invader’s wishes, though she is surprised when sparks of love begin to ignite.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Virginia Henley

Leave a Reply