Book Notification

Vladimir Sorokin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ice Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Collections

Red Pyramid (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dispatches from the District Committee (2025)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

n+1 Issue 1: Negation(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Vladimir Sorokin

Vladimir Sorokin is a prolific contemporary Russian author of novels, plays, librettos, and screenplays. Born in 1955 in a small town near Moscow, he trained as an engineer before turning to art and writing. His work gained notoriety in the 1980s, and The Queue, his first novel, was published by famed émigré and well-known dissident Andrei Sinyavsky in France. His Collected Stories earned him a nomination for the Russian Booker Prize in 1992, and he received the Andrei Biely Award in 2001.

Sorokin’s writing is known for its use of characters and narrative to create compelling stories. His novel Blue Lard featured a sex scene between Stalin and Khrushchev clones, leading to public demonstrations and calls for prosecution. Other works, such as Sugar Kremlin and Day of the Oprichnik, have been translated throughout the world. He has also written screenplays for the movies Moscow, The Kopeck, and 4, and composed the libretto for Leonid Desyatnikov’s Rosenthal’s Children.

He is a renowned and outspoken figure in Russian literature. His work often challenges social norms and has been met with debate and controversy. Through his novels, plays, librettos, and screenplays, Sorokin has addressed a range of topics including politics, history, and culture. His writing is known for its compelling characters and narrative, which have captivated readers around the world. His outspokenness and willingness to take risks have earned him respect from his peers and fans alike.

Sorokin’s impact on Russian literature is undeniable. His work often challenges social norms, sparking controversy and debate. He has been awarded numerous prestigious honors, including the Andrei Biely Award, and his works have reached audiences around the globe. He continues to live and write in Moscow.

Early and Personal Life

Vladimir Georgiyevich Sorokin was born in Bykovo, Moscow Oblast near Moscow on 7 August 1955. He began his creative career in 1972 with the publication of a piece in the newspaper ‘Za kadry neftyanikov.’ Sorokin went on to study at Gubkin Russian State University of Oil and Gas and graduated in 1977 with a degree in engineering.

After graduation, he worked for one year for the Shift magazine, before his refusal to join the Komsomol caused him to leave. During the ’70s, he was involved in a number of art exhibitions and even illustrated almost 50 books. His development as a writer occurred as he socialized with painters and writers of the Moscow underground scene in the following decade.

In 1985, six of Sorokin’s stories were featured in the Paris magazine A-Ya. The same year, his novel ‘Ochered’ was published by French publisher Syntaxe. It was at the age of 25 that Sorokin was baptized and came to embrace Christianity as his faith. He still lives in Moscow to this day.

Writing Career

Vladimir Sorokin is an acclaimed Russian writer, having made significant contributions to Russian literature. In 2001, he received the People’s Booker Prize, followed two months later by the Andrei Bely Prize. His work has been translated into many languages and published in numerous countries. His novel Day of the Oprichnik, which depicts a dystopian future, earned him the Premio Gregor von Rezzori in 2015.

Despite the success of his work, Sorokin was met with criticism in 2016 when his 2000 short story, Nastya, was accused of going against Russian Orthodox values. However, this incident did not stop the release of the documentary “Sorokin Trip” in December 2019. The film examined the writer’s life and work, showcasing his impressive career.

Sorokin has been a prolific and influential writer, and his books have been widely acclaimed. He has been recognized for his achievements in literature, demonstrating his considerable talent and impact on the industry. Despite the occasional controversy, his work has been embraced by readers, critics and filmmakers alike.

Day of the Oprichnik

Vladimir Sorokin’s book “Day of the Oprichnik” was released on March 15, 2011, by Farrar, Straus and Giroux. It was the start of Sorokin’s ‘Oprichnik’s Russia’ series of novels, which brought a dystopian vision of the future of Russia to life. The book was met with critical acclaim and was translated into multiple languages. It became a bestseller in both Russia and the UK, and was praised for its unique style and captivating plot, and it has since cemented itself as a classic of Russian literature and culture.

In Day of the Oprichnik, Vladimir Sorokin paints a vivid picture of a near-future Russia. The nation is in a state of chaos and rife with corruption, where futuristic technology and brutal punishments are the norm. The story follows Andrei Komiaga, a man who experiences the country’s extremes – brutal executions, extravagant parties, and consuming an arsenal of drugs – all in the same day. Along the way, he meets with a number of characters, including the czarina, and even falls in love with a colleague.

One of Russia’s most acclaimed authors, Vladimir Sorokin, has created an imaginative and captivating novel with Day of the Oprichnik. The story paints a vivid picture of a near-future Russia, where chaos and corruption reign and futuristic technology and brutal punishments are commonplace. Readers can follow Andrei Komiaga as he experiences the nation’s extremes all in one day, from the brutality of executions to the extravagance of parties, and even the consumption of an array of drugs. It all makes for a thrilling and highly enjoyable read for those who seek a unique and captivating story.

The Blizzard

Written by Vladimir Sorokin and translated by Jamey Gambrell, ‘The Blizzard’ was released in 2010 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux. It tells the story of a Russian blizzard, exploring the lives of the people living there and how they are changed by the weather. This book is a powerful tale, weaving together the stories of many characters to create a memorable and thought-provoking narrative.

In The Blizzard, readers are transported to 19th-century Russia and follow District Doctor Garin as he attempts to reach the village of Dolgoye to stop a mysterious epidemic. Along the way, Garin and his party face a fierce snow storm that turns the journey into an eternity, with dangerous escapades and amorous adventures throughout.

Sorokin’s masterful writing allows readers to lose their bearings and experience the movement of life and its stagnancy, while being captivated by the strange and fantastical realm he creates. The Blizzard is an imaginative and compelling work of literary fiction.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Vladimir Sorokin

Leave a Reply