Book Notification

W.T. Quick / Margaret Allan Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dreams Books

as W.T. Quick
Dreams of Flesh and Sand (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dreams of Gods and Men (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Singularities (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Roar Books

as Sean Kiernan

Publication Order of Mammoth Trilogy Books

The Mammoth Stone (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Keeper of the Stone (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Mammoth (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Yesterday's Pawn (As: W.T. Quick) (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Systems (As: W.T. Quick) (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chains of Light (As: Quentin Thomas) (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Star Control: Interbellum (As: W.T. Quick) (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spirits Walking Woman (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sister of the Sky (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Weird Tales #292: Fall 1988(1988)Description / Buy at Amazon

William Thomas Quick who usually writes as W.T. Quick is a horror and science fiction author from Indiana, who now lives in the Bayview neighborhood of San Francisco, California. The author also writes novels as Margaret Allan, Sean Kiernan, and Quentin Thomas. Quick was born in 1946 and loves to describe himself as a libertarian conservative blogger and science fiction author. He has written more than twenty-eight novels the most popular of which is the novel “Dreams of Flesh and Sand,” a cyberpunk novel. He has contributed to the X Files series as Quentin Thomas, written the bestselling “The Mammoth Stone Trilogy” as Margaret Allan and the “Roar” series as Sean Kiernan. His collaboration with William Shatner produced the “Quest for Tomorrow” series. He also has several screenplays for television and film and dozens of short stories such as “Death or Glory” published in collections.

W.T. Quick has been involved in politics top as a self-confessed libertarian though much of his work in the political space involves blog writing. In this regard, he runs “The Daily Pundit,” a conservative blog. He started the blog in 2001 and still writes though it has become more of a group blog over the years. He has made quite the contribution to politics as he is credited with the invention of the term blogosphere in 2001. Dissatisfied with the two main parties in the US he was among the founders of the American Conservative Party though he has since distanced himself from it. Quick loves to include his political views in his novels and his 2014 disaster thriller “Lightning Fal”l was reviewed by Instapundit when it was featured on “USA Today.” Many libertarian sources and critics commented on the novel which went on to be third on the Hard Science Fiction list on Amazon and the top 200 in the overall bestseller list. In 2011 he started blogging about his publishing and writings on the W.T. Quick blog.

WT Quick’s debut was “Instructions Enclosed” that he first published in 1979 which he then followed up with “Rest in Pieces” in 1980. He gained more prominence when he published a series of short fiction in “Analog” the most popular of which were “Singularities” in 1990, “Dreams of Gods and Men” in 1989 and “Dreams of Flesh and Sand” in 1988. He writes taut and clear cut tales with the theme of huge corporations that dominate the world through AI which is something that has been very popular within the Cyberpunk genre. Quick also writes about Nanotechnology in a fresh and exciting new way that includes Virtual Reality. His 1989 novel was an adventure tale whose adolescent lead travels through time and space in an effort to find the importance of an old artifact. The protagonist goes on his quest even as he is pursued by interstellar agents determined to take the artifact away from him. His 1989 work “Systems” is more of Cyberpunk as he tells of a data hunter who is trying to solve the mystery of the murder of his pregnant wife. As Margaret Allan, he wrote prehistoric science fiction in “The People of the Mammoth” series that he debuted with the 1993 published “The Mammoth Stone.”

Margaret Allan’s “The Mammoth Stone” tells the story of the inhabitants of mammoth that have wandered the globe for millennia surviving predators, plague and starvation and fleeing the ever-expanding ice. All they have for sustenance are the huge herds of mammoth they kill and eat. They finally arrive at the place prophesied to be the spot for the revival of the tribe. It is the spot where a mighty warrior named Wolf and Maya who has been anointed by the Great Mother are born. Maya is a particularly bizarre child with her eyes green and blue, a sign that she was chosen to bear the mystical and ancient talisman known as the Mammoth stone, that is both a curse and a promise. Their birth sets in a motion a set of events as the child grows to learn the secrets and powers of the Stone. Maya chooses for herself a passionate and brave mate with whom she heads into the plains, where they embark on an adventure full of accursed beauty. She leads her people through the perils and wonders of a timeless and exciting new world even as she discovers who she is.

“Keeper of the Stone” by Margaret Allan continues the story of Maya, a woman born to be the custodian of the Mammoth Stone. It is an ancient stone believed to be the protector of the Mammoth as they navigate and find sustenance in the wild prehistoric American West. But when she was in exile with Black Caribou a mighty hunter with whom she had fallen in love, she had been upended. Her most dreaded prophecy has also come true as she was taken prisoner by two brutal warriors that also held another youth captive. They intend to torture and use their prisoners for pleasure though they are oblivious of what Maya has learned about what the boy has in his possession, and of his secret skills. It turns out that he also has one green and one blue eye meaning he is a keeper of a stone – one that is the mate and match of her Mammoth Stone. She is convinced that fate had brought them together but is fearful of what might transpire when their magic combines to fulfill what fate has in store for their world.

Margaret Allan’s “The Last Mammoth” tells the story of the people of Mammoth that had reached the end of the rope. The Great Maya had died and the Mammoth Stone had broken, which meant that they could no longer find sustenance and safety in the lush Green Valley. Only Gotha the Shaman knows how close the tribe had come to extinction though even he was oblivious of the fact that Rising Sun the youth was their only hope in their time of trouble. Even the youth is not aware that he is destined for a sacred mission given his divine birth. Together with Running Deer, a rebellious and passionate girl descended from the Great Maya they are going to save their world. They recruit Moon Face as their apprentice and head off on a quest that takes them through spiritual wastelands, terrifying jungles, and yawning darkness to the ends of the earth where the lost Mammoth Stone was waiting. But before they can recover the stone they need to fight against a faceless and nameless evil and the outcome will decide the fate of the world.

Book Series In Order » Authors » W.T. Quick / Margaret Allan

Leave a Reply