Book Notification

Wadsworth Camp Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Sinister Island (1915)Description / Buy at Amazon
House of Fear (1916)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Abandoned Room (1917)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gray Mask (1920)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Guarded Heights (1921)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hidden Road (1922)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

The Abandoned Room and Other Works by Wadsworth Camp (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

History of the 305th Field Artillery (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
War's Dark Frame (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Wadsworth Camp
Wadsworth Camp was a mystery author born in Philadelphia in 1879. Camp was also a journalist and foreign correspondent. Later, the talented author moved to Florida and started his family. During the first world war, Camps was exposed to mustard gas, which damaged his lungs. However, he survived and went on to write several novels before he died in 1936. His death cause is unknown, but it is suspected that his damaged lungs never fully recovered. Camp was survived by his wife and only child author Madeleine L’Engle.

The Abandoned Room
The Abandoned Room is a locked door mystery starring Bobby Blackburn. On the night his grandfather, Silas Blackburn, dies under mysterious conditions in the Cedars, Bobby is in New York until midnight. His grandfather, his cousin Katherine Perrine, and the servants are in their old family home where the killing happened. Before his death, Silas had seemed apprehensive, and against Katherine’s advice, he decides to spend the night in that abandoned bedroom as he is too afraid to sleep in his bed. After waiting for Bobby to show up, the old man goes to bed dejected, and he is determined to change his will the next day. He is also petrified, and he tells Katherine to be wary of Bobby. Unfortunately, Silas is killed before daylight on the day he was set to change his will.
Bobby had been having endless fights with his grandfather about the company he was keeping. When he gets a letter send by his grandfather to visit him that day or risk losing his inheritance, Bobby decides to think about everything over dinner. After all, he had already made plans with the friends his grandfather kept on warning him about. Dinner turns into a drinking spree, and the last thing Bobby remembers is trying to pick up a woman only to find himself in an abandoned house. Given his condition, Bobby decides to go and change in his apartment before heading to the Cedars. He doesn’t even make it to his apartment as the police apprehend him as a suspect in his grandfather’s killing.

Bobby can account for most of the night, but there is no telling what happened between midnight and the morning. How did he get into that abandoned house just close to the Cedars? Could it be possible that someone was trying to frame him for this murder? As Bobby goes over the events of that night, the police are still trying to unravel the locked room’s mystery. How comes that the room Silas was sleeping in was locked from the inside when he was killed? How did the killer even get to this room, and what was their motivation? Even though Bobby had the motive to kill his grandfather, it is highly unlikely that he made the trip to the Cedars that night.

The Abandoned Room is an intriguing mystery that will keep you guessing until the end. It is crazy that the detective and one other person decide to sleep in the abandoned room even after all the deaths happening in there. More shocking events await, with the empty grave being the climax of it all. Are you looking for a twisty mystery story where it is impossible to predict what happens next? This book is a perfect choice.

Sinister Island
Sinister Island introduces Miller, a man going to the Southern Island to visit his friends on his boat named The Dart. The author paints a perfect picture of this sinister island from the beginning, even though he summarizes it all as a superstition. However, when Miller gets to his destination, he will quickly realize that things are not as he expected. His friends have changed, and not in a good way, and the situation gets from bad to worse very fast. The pervasive threat that seems to be everywhere on this island becomes too hard to ignore, and Miller is determined to get to the bottom of it. Should he believe what he has been hearing about this island or try to make sense of all the bizarre events?

Everyone on the island seems to think that the threat is supernatural in nature. However, Miller thinks that it is a human creation. If only he had a way to prove his argument? Follow Miller as he works to unravel this mystery with minimal if any help from friends. Even though he has to deal with a few unfortunate events, he is not about to give up. He is not shaken when his actions start to ruffle a few feathers or when he continues getting warnings from his friends. The diverse cast adds a lot to this story, and it is impossible not to get charmed from the start.

There is a lot to love in this book. First, it is easy to read. While it was first published in 1912, it is nothing like the overburdened writing characteristic of this era. The flow is also great, and it is amazing how the story grabs your attention from the first page. You cannot help but wonder why Miller keeps going even with all the mysterious things happening. He had already been warned about the haunted island, yet he keeps investigating even when the odds are not in his favor. All characters are well developed, and there are a few that you will grow to love by the end of this book.

Sinister Island comes with all the right ingredients for a perfect mystery story. There is the traditional ghost story, the island that seems to be holding on too many secrets, and intelligent characters who will push you to think beyond the obvious. The author does great with the suspense, and the rising tension will keep you curious to see what happens next. There is also enough action throughout the story, so you are sure that you will be entertained to the end. The setting will take you back to the past when technology hadn’t made life as easy. Any reader in love with the classics will be impressed by this book.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Wadsworth Camp

Leave a Reply