BookSeriesInOrder.com







Waiting for Tom Hanks Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Waiting for Tom Hanks Books

Waiting for Tom Hanks (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Not Like the Movies (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Waiting for Tom Hanks series by Kerry Winfrey
Author Kerry Winfrey pens the “Waiting for Tom Hanks” series of romantic comedy novels. The series started publication in the year 2019, when “Waiting for Tom Hanks” was released by Berkley Jove. A sequel, called “Not Like the Movies”, was released the very next year.

The series is made up of stand alone novels and set in the same universe. They feature women having romances straight out of a classic romantic comedy, something that Kerry Winfrey, who herself has seen way too many rom-coms in her lifetime, knows all too well.

She has loved romantic comedies ever since she was a loved obsessed teenager that watched Pretty in Pink on repeat and also swooned over Pride and Prejudice. As a result of all of this, throughout the novels, there are references galore to various rom-coms. This is also why Annie is incredibly obsessed with them. She finds that watching bad ones teaches a her a lot more than the good ones do.

Annie Cassidy, who is the star of the first novel, is friends with Chloe Sanderson, who stars in the second novel. Despite starring in their own novels, they still appear in the one the other stars in too. The books are set in Columbus, Ohio.

Drew Danforth’s hometown is Shreveport, Louisiana, which Kerry settled on because it is also her husband’s hometown.

“Waiting for Tom Hanks” is the first novel in the “Waiting for Tom Hanks” series and was released in the year 2019. This novel stars Annie Cassidy and Drew Danforth. A woman that is a rom-com-obsessed romantic waiting for her perfect leading man learns that life does not always stick to the script.

Annie Cassidy has dreams about becoming the next Nora Ephron. Annie is addicted to rom-coms, and has religiously studied them. She loves every bit of them, from their hope to their humor. She spends her days writing scripts, watching and re-watching Sleepless in Seattle, and waiting to have her movie-perfect meet-cute. If she could just possibly find her own Tom Hanks, a guy that is sensitive, sweet, and maybe possibly even owns a houseboat, her issues would vanish and her life would be totally perfect. However Tom Hanks is just nowhere to be found, at the moment.

When a film starts shooting in her neighborhood and Annie lands a job working on set, it appears to be a sign. Then Annie meets a man named Drew Danforth, the lead actor of the film who is a cocky prankster who could not be any less like Tom Hanks if he tried. Their meet-cute is more of a meet-fail, however Annie finds herself sharing some classic rom-com moments with Drew. Her Tom Hanks cannot really be an actor that is leaving town in just a few days. Could he?

Kerry delivers a novel that is filled with swoon-worthy, funny, sweet, and endearing moments; it is sure to make the strongest of cynics a believer. Fans of the novel found this to be incredibly adorable and super cute and readers found themselves laughing out loud at certain parts. They even wanted to binge watch some of their favorite romantic comedies by the end of the novel, as it is able to conjure up rom-com nostalgia in some of them.

Despite being a pretty light book, there is still a bit of sadness while Annie deals with losing her mother. The romance she has with Drew is swoony and sweet, and it is enjoyable to watch Drew and Annie find their way to one another. These are all tremendous characters as is how each of their lives are intertwined. They are both charming and goofy, this includes many of the supporting characters that you might find yourself entirely hooked on it.

“Not Like the Movies” is the second novel in the “Waiting for Tom Hanks” series and was released in the year 2020. The novel stars Chloe Sanderson and Nick Velez. What happens when your life actually is a rom-com. But you just don’t believe in true love?

Chloe Sanderson is always an optimist, and it is not because her life is easy in any way. She is the caregiver for her father, who has early-onset Alzheimer’s Disease, and is also pretty responsible for everything. She has zero time, or interest, in getting swept up in some kind of dazzling romance. Not like Annie, her best friend, who literally penned a rom-com that is about to premiere in theaters all across America. And it happens to be inspired by Chloe and Nick Velez, her cute yet no-nonsense boss.

While the buzz for the movie starts to increase, Chloe reads a listicle too many on why Nick is the perfect guy, and now she is unable to see him as anything but Reason Number 4: The scruffy bearded hunk that is always there when you need him to be. However unlike the romance that Annie has written for each of them, Chloe’s not entirely sure that her own tale is going to end with a happily-ever-after.

This is a fun follow-up to “Waiting for Tom Hanks”, with some readers finding themselves enjoying it more than the first book in the series. There is a great plot, the main characters’ have strong chemistry with each other, and is a fun romantic comedy sure to make you smile and possibly cry. Chloe is such a likable character, making it easy to root for her to be happy, and there is such excellent humor in the novel. The hilarious banter and sparkling dialogue is sure to dazzle readers that crave a self-aware romantic comedy.

Even though Chloe is not as nearly as obsessed with romcoms as Annie was, Kerry was still able to sneak some references in, which is a nice touch. Kerry excels at upending the typical romantic comedy tropes, and manages to make Chloe both a realistic and believable character. The novel is a quirky novel that is perfect for fans of romcoms and readers looking for a bit of sweet escapism. The novel is perfect for fans of Nora Ephron and Christina Lauren.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Waiting for Tom Hanks

Leave a Reply