Book Notification

Wanda Luttrell Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sarah's Journey Books

Home on Stoney Creek (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stranger in Williamsburg (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reunion In Kentucky (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Whispers In Williamsburg (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadows on Stoney Creek (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The House of Elnora Garland (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Legacy of Drennan's Crossing (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Shadow of the White Rose (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dandelion Killer (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
House at Devil's Bend (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Season for Miracles (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Straight on to Murder (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Keeping Christmas (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The View from October (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Let's Explore Kentucky (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Timeless Needs, Eternal Hope (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Immigrants Chronicles Books

by Judith Miller McCoy
The Journey of Emilie: From Germany to America (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Journey of Pieter and Anna (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Journey of Hannah (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Journey of Yung Lee (By: Judith Miller McCoy) (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

Wanda Luttrell is considered to be the queen of Christian suspense that has sold huge amounts of books in her genre. She is the author of the series of books, Sarah’s Journey that is aimed towards a younger audience. The book follows a young girl in 1775 who moves with her family from Virginia to Kentucky. The series works as a historical novels for middle grades and there are five books in the series.

Luttrell often writes historical fiction novels in her work. The writing that she does in these books has been praised for its level of historical authenticity as well as her creation of characters that are alive and dynamic. The books are very often set in the southern portion of the United States because that is where Wanda lives and she knows a lot about that area. She is a long time Christian and that comes through in her work. She often uses Bibles verses to guide her and she has a special affinity for Proverbs 3:5 and 6. This Bible verse states “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not to your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.”

Wanda has also used her Christian faith in her non-fiction work as she has written an in-depth view of Biblical women and their contemporary counterparts. In the non-fiction realm she has also penned a Kentucky history textbook for the middle grades that is used in schools. Overalll, Wanda’s work has been translated into multiple langauges across the world including French, Danish, and German.

Home on Stoney Creek is the first book in the Sarah’s Journey series. The book tells the story of an eleven-year-old girl who is devastated when she learns that her father has decided to move the family to Kentucky. It is the start of the American Revolution in 1776, but Sarah doesn’t want to live the only home she has ever known in Virginia and all of the friends that she has met along the way. Sarah is also dealing with worrying about her brother who has left their home and joined up with the Patriot army in the Revolutionary War. Before they leave, Sarah prays that she can stay in Virginia, but her prayers go unanswered. The family then begins their jouney through the wilderness to Kentucky. The road is dangerous and the family struggles to cross rivers, go over mountains, and go through forests. Finally, the family manages to reach Kentucky and the family’s struggles are just beginning. They need to build their home in the untamed wilderness while Sarah herself feels desperately lonely and misses her old home. The young girl vows to return home, but with the more time that she spends in Kentucky – the more she realizes that home isn’t a place, but the people that you are with. Those people are called your family.

One of Luttrell’s first novels was The Legacy of Drennan’s Crossing which is a novel about a beautiful friendship that takes place during World War I. The friendship is between a young boy and an old man who find a bond as a murder takes place in the rural quiet of Drennan’s Crossing on the banks of the Kentucky River. This murder is devastating to the community, even as thousands are dying across Europe in the first World War. The boy is fourteen-year-old Phillip who learns a lot about nature and God from the old man. The man tells him that tells him their relationship is “”…like a rush of water down a narrow creek bed, widening, deepening, opening up fascinating new channels,” and that “most everythin’ was put here for a purpose.” The words not only draw the two close together, but help Phillip learn more about the world around him and the God he believes created it all. When a murder take place in the small community, Phillip is changed by the strange, violent feelings in his own heart. As he questions himself and God’s role in an evil world, he discovers something that Joe has been trying to teach him all along.

Luttrell is also the author of The Dandelion Killer. This book tells of a friendship between the fifty-five-year-old man, “Jayboy” Calvin, who has the emotional and intellectual bearing of an eight year old, and his friend Elayna Evans, owner of a successful catalog import business, who is Jayboy’s friend, mentor, and employer. Things go awry when death comes to their small town in the form of a brutal stabbing and Jayboy is the prime suspect by the police. Elayna isn’t so sure, but things get complicated for her when the actual murderer believes the the victim left some incriminating evidence with her. This puts her in the killer’s crosshairs and sends Elayna on the run. Her biggest fear is not death, but what might happen if she dies and is unprepared for the eternity that awaits her.

The Season for Miracles is about a woman named Lydia who lost her husband two years ago. She held shiva for him and everything, only now she is hearing his voice speaking to her in the silence of her empty shop. Lydia had worked in the same shop during Christmas over the past fifty years and has never encountered anything quite like this. She’s never heard voices when she was alone. Now, she’s hearing two. The voice of her dead husband and another less familiar voice. She thinks it might be Mayeem Khayeem, the Living Water that her husband Yaacov had discovered just before he died. The voices were then followed by miracles. They came to her and they came to others in need. There is seemingly no rhyme or reason to the miracles, they just come to people. They come to the evicted mother and child who came into the shop to get warm, the little boy with $1.87 seeking an expensive gift for his Grandma, the homeless man eating from the trash barrel, the suicidal café owner down the street, the alcoholic ringing the bell over the Salvation Army kettle, the would-be robbers, the man with dementia insisting on buying a gift for his dead wife, and the pregnant girl who almost had her baby in the shop. They were all desperate and in need of a miracle, and they all got it there in the shop. She had never seen a mmiracle before this, much less so many. The reason, according to Yaccov’s voice, is that she had never before believed in them.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Wanda Luttrell

Leave a Reply