Book Notification

Ward Larsen Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of David Slaton Books

The Perfect Assassin (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assassin's Game (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assassin's Silence (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assassin's Code (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assassin's Run (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assassin's Revenge (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assassin's Strike (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assassin's Dawn (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assassin's Edge (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assassin's Mark (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Jammer Davis Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Ward Larsen is the bestselling author of thriller and suspense novels, and has created two series: “Jammer Davis” series, and the “David Slaton” series. Larsen has also written a standalone book called “Stealing Trinity”, which is a historical fiction thriller set during World War II. Larsen has been nominated for both the Macavity and Edgar Awards and has won the Florida Book Award on two occasions. He is also a former U.S. Air Force pilot, and flew in more than twenty during Operation Desert Storm. Larsen was also a federal law enforcement officer and has been trained in aircraft accident investigation.

“The Perfect Assassin” is the first book in the David Slaton series by Ward Larsen. The book is also Larsen’s debut novel. A young doctor while on vacation after finishing her third year of residency, Christine Palmer, finds a man barely clinging to life in frigid waters while sailing solo in the Atlantic Ocean. There is more to this man than meets the eye, and she will regret helping him out very quickly. The man is named David Slaton, he’s a Kidon. A Kidon is a very dangerous, precise, and highly trained Israeli assassin. This man is both a hunter and hunted; making his mere presence with Christine dangerous for her.

This book was well received by readers because of Larsen’s ability to draw readers into the book, the characters were likable, and the book was hard to put down. Some say that enough is said about the main characters that makes them sympathetic. Especially a Scotland Yard inspector, who some say could lead up his own series. Readers compare him with the likes of Vince Flynn, Tom Clancy, and Daniel Silva (especially the Gabriel Allon books). Some of the readers do not like that the good characters in the book are never really plunged into dangerous situations, only situations where the reader knows (and can take comfort) that whatever danger these characters might get into, they’ll get out of. They also did not like that the villains do not fully emerge as full characters. Some readers found the book to be boring, predictable, and without any original ideas. Some have called the book a middle of the road type of book, not the best, but not the worst either.

“Assassin’s Game” is the second book in the David Slaton series by Ward Larsen. In this novel, David Slaton is living the good life, he is newly married (Dr. Christine Palmer, from the first book) and living in the Virginia suburbs. Slaton has given up his former life of being an Israeli assassin and is now employed as a brick layer, and now has the name of Edmund Deadmarsh. Due to a brilliant (but insane) scientist- Dr. Ibrahim Hamedi- in Iran and a spy who has penetrated high into the ranks Mossad, the Israeli agency has only one option. Bring back Slaton and have him take care of the problem for them. Slaton has made a vow that he will never kill again (and his wife does not want him to do the job either), but due to his wife being taken across Europe after being attacked, his mind changes. He must do the job if he wants to see his wife again.

Readers liked this book due to its ability to make the reader focus on nothing else but this book until they are finished with it, and for Larsen’s ability to surprise the reader with all the twists and turns. Fans of the book praised this installment in the series because of Larsen’s writing style and development of the story. Fans of the book also felt like they could tell that Larsen was a good author from the first few pages and it allowed them to kick back and enjoy the ride that they were about to be taken on. Readers did not like that the book begins to bog down and by the time they finished the book, they did not really like the ending as they saw the ending that was supposed to surprise them coming. More readers found that the book could have been more original and new, but was fine for the plane ride that they went on. Some readers found it full of cliches, nonsense, which made the book impossible for them to finish.

“Fly by Wire” is the first book featuring Jammer Davis and was written by Ward Larsen. This series of novels relies on Larsen’s knowledge of being a pilot in the Air Force. A brand new plane, the C-500, fails and falls from the sky from six miles up in the air. It was headed from Europe to an airport in Houston. It crash lands in France, killing both of the plane’s pilots. The authorities in France take over the case and turn it directly over to the right man for the job, Frank Jammer Davis. Davis is a retired U. S. Air Force fighter pilot and part of the NTSB’s go-team. He has built a reputation for getting things done and being tough on those who keep him from doing his job, he looks into the plane crash. If that were not bad enough, suicide bombers start blowing up oil refineries around the world, crippling governments and economies down the tubes. He keeps digging and finds that the plane crash and the bombings are related in a massive conspiracy on large proportions.

Some fans thought that this book pulled them in, Larsen’s wonderful storytelling, the premise of the plane going down could easily happen in real life, and kept them interested in the story and Davis’s ability to solve the crime. They also felt that at times the book gets technical and might be enjoyed by those who are also pilots and know a little how planes work. Some readers found the characters and the situations to be cliched and the book boring, forcing the reader to put it down and read something else. Some readers also found the plot to be slow paced for most of the book.

An adaptation of his first novel, “The Perfect Assassin”, is being made by Amber Entertainment.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Ward Larsen

6 Responses to “Ward Larsen”

  1. Carl: 2 years ago

    Trey Debolt is still out there,will we see him again?

  2. Tony Shaw: 2 years ago

    Is there either a hard copy, or paper back available of Assassin’s Dawn? Only a Kindle edition appears available.

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Hi Tony – as it is a novella, unfortunately only the ebook is available.

  3. stephanie: 3 years ago

    I enjoy his writing style very much. Such a controlled author. Each book delivers an equal enjoyment.

  4. aloke ganguly: 3 years ago

    Just finished the perfect assasin, a combination of The Bourne Identity and the day of the jackal. Well written.unputdownable.

  5. Kathleen Mitchell: 3 years ago

    I Love the Assisian series I read the first three when is another coming out


Leave a Reply