Book Notification

Warlock of Gramarye Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Warlock of Gramarye Books

The Warlock in Spite of Himself (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon
King Kobold Revived (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Warlock Unlocked (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Escape Velocity (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Warlock Enraged (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Warlock Is Missing (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Warlock Wandering (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Warlock Heretical (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Warlock's Companion (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Warlock Insane (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Warlock Rock (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Warlock and Son (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Warlock's Last Ride (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Christopher Stasheff is a renowned fantasy and science fiction author who is best known for the books Her Majesty’s Wizard and The Warlock in Spite of Himself. Stafesh has a Ph.D. in theater and is also a tutor at the Eastern New Mexico University which is located in Portales, New Mexico. Stafesh has unique abilities to blend fantasy and science fiction together as it is the case with the Warlock book series. Christopher Stasheff is mostly seen in the ethical and moral mentor style similar to Terry Brooks, J.R.R Tolkien, and Terry Goodkind. Christopher Stasheff has penned down more than 44 novels, edited 7 anthologies and 29 short stories as well. Stasheff is the father of four children and is also a grandfather of four as well. Christopher Stasheff retired and currently lives with his wife, Mary.

Warlock of Gramarye Series

The Warlock of Gramarye is a science fiction book series, which has strong fantasy elements. The author, Christopher Stasheff has achieved this by creating a fantasy world and the explaining the world using scientific elements. The Warlock book series describes the adventures of one Rodney d’Armand who is also widely known as Rod Gallowglass. As a representative of the interstellar Terran Sphere, Rod Gallowglass arrives on Gramayre, the lost colony. Upon arriving, Rod discovers medieval feudal society with barons, soldiers, monarchy, and peasants. Furthermore, there is also an exceedingly high level of psychic ability within the population such as levitation, telepathy, teleportation and telekinesis; however, in the medieval society, all this is interpreted as magic.

The Individuals who possess any of these abilities locally are known as witches and warlocks. In Gramayre, there is a lot of prejudices against this individuals especially from the people who do not possess this talent, though this time around they are under the protection of the queen. To complicate things further, there is also a fungus, which is referred to as witch moss, which under the projective telepathy, it can be transformed into what the telepath is currently thinking of. Previously, such activities had resulted in the existence of a race of elves as well as other fantasy creatures. It does not take long before Rod eventually discovers that he is not the only person on the planet. There are two groups of agents, totalitarians and anarchists have arrived from the future using time machines.

After realizing that Gramayre telepath is going to play a pivotal part in interstellar history, each of this groups is more than determined to ensure that they lead the Gramayre society in their own way. Rod has to fight against the chaos from time to time that each of this factions is creating; attempted revolution, civil war, and unrest as well. In the books which followed, a woman who is native to Gramayre emerges. The woman is known as Agent Finister and has exceedingly powerful psychic abilities. However, the anarchists to assist them in defeating the Gallowglasses recruit the woman. Due to Rod’s knowledge of political science, high technology and Fess, a robotic horse, Rod is soon known as the High Warlock and eventually becomes the key counselor to the King and Queen.

The Warlock in Spite of him is the first book in the Warlock of Gramarye book series. In Warlock in Spite of Him, the author Christopher Stasheff introduces the readers to Rodney Gallowglass, a spy whose day-to-day work entails discovering planets that are supposed to be brought into the jurisdiction of the freethinking democratic intergalactic system. When Rodney eventually lands on the planet of Gramayre, in his spaceship, which is disguised as an asteroid, Rod, and Fess, his epileptic computer discovers the world that is full of fantasy creatures such as werewolves, witches, elves and dwarves as well. The planet was previously the home of a group of humans who were more than determined to ensure that they revert to a medieval society. Now, the planet is threatened by witches, anarchists and also a man who wants to be a dictator. Rod, the protagonist, suspects that inhabitants of another world were funding the protestors. He believes that the only way Gramayre can adopt full democracy is by instituting first a constitutional monarchy.

However, setting up a constitutional monarchy is not going to be an easy task considering the fact that the inhabitants suspect that Rod is a warlock because he is in possession of technology that they cannot just seem to understand. With that said, the Warlock in Spite of Him is a sword and sorcery science fiction with an edgy, witty and wry twist. Apart from trying to entertain the readers, the author Christopher Stasheff, also uses this novel as a channel for promoting a representative government and democracy as well. King Kobold Revived is the second book in the Warlock of Gramarye book series. Like the second edition, King Kobold Revived has undergone numerous change from the original novel. In the beginning the author note says that King Kobold has been around for more than 12 years. The storyline follows the same plot line; Invaders who wield the evil eyes are invading Gramayre through its shores. No one can stand against the weapon, which is used to freeze soldiers.

It does not take long before Rod and Gwen are called to rescue Gramayre. However, when the two discover that the invaders have in their possession, a weapon that can freeze soldiers, the two are not sure of how to take down the invaders. The Warlock Unlocked is the third book in the Warlock Unlocked book series. In this book, the Warlock’s family accidentally travel through a portal and end up in an alternate universe. Thus, Rod Gallowglass decides to follow his family to the alternate universe where magic does not work and also a universe where its laws have already been written down. In this book, Rod Gallowglass is just beginning to understand the magic of Gramayre is also coming to terms with his powers as well. With that said, Christopher Stasheff has managed his renowned blend of fantasy and science fiction into the fiction world of Gramayre. Once again, Christopher Stasheff has managed to redefine what is magic and what is real.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Warlock of Gramarye

Leave a Reply