Book Notification

Warrior of Rome Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Warrior of Rome Books

Fire in the East (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
King of Kings (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lion of the Sun (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Caspian Gates (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wolves of the North (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Amber Road (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Hour (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Burning Road (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Falling Sky (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Harry Sidebottom is an English author of fiction. When he is not busy writing fantasy novels, he has a busy job working as a lecturer in the subject of ancient history at Merton College in Oxford. He also lectures part-time at the University of Warwick on Classics as well as Ancient History.

Harry Sidebottom has also written pieces for many publications that include the Journal of Roman Studies, the Classical Review, and the distinguished publication War and Society in the Roman world, to name a few.

Sidebottom officially became a published author with the 2004 release of his nonfiction book, Ancient Warfare. The book is a detailed but short introductive look at the history of Greek and Roman warfare. Their style of warfare was unlike any other culture and their western way of war employed the strategy of open battle that was won again and again by courage and discipline instilled in the troops.

Sidebottom examines all aspects of the ancient world of warfare, from strategies and philosophies to the technical skills that were required to fight. He also explains the wider context of war to the reader and showed how wars could shape classical society and even the identity of an individual.

He explores ways in which society used to consider conflict, divine intervention, and even siege warfare. Employing anecdotes and visual images, this first nonfiction book from Sidebottom is as interesting as it is informative. He also wrote a 2017 nonfiction book, an encyclopedia regarding ancient battles.

He is the author of the Warrior of Rome series. This fictional series kicked off with Fire in the East in 2008 and it was his first fictional novel published. The sequel was titled King of Kings and there are seven books in the series. The Last Hour is the seventh book in the series and it was released in 2018.

Sidebottom also penned the Throne of the Caesars series. This fictional series has six books in it so far and there may be more to come!

Fire in the East is the first book in the Warrior of Rome series. They say that war is hell, and no one knows this better than the warriors and the commanders of the armies of the ancient world. This fictional first book in the Warrior series from Harry Sidebottom is set in the year A.D. 255.

The Roman Imperium is being challenged at nearly every border, and they are quickly reaching their breaking point. They know that their authority is being challenged, but what can they do? The Imperium is struggling to maintain order. Their biggest threat is in the east in Persia.

There the massing forces are gathering for the Sassanid Empire and the danger of their power is looming mighty and large in the distance. It is there that the Roman citadel of Arete is isolated and by its vulnerability is awaiting the inevitable arrival of an invasion. It is there that a man is sent to deal with the defenses, marshaling them and in the process getting them to shore up the walls, which are crumbling.

The man is a man whose very name is another word for war. His name is Ballista. He is alone, but he is the man for the job. That is why he is the one called to rally the forces and the troops because his courage to stand and fight is going to rally all of the troops behind him and hopefully lead to a victory in their boldness. Together they must find the boldness to stand and confront the enemy to the Imperium so that they can live to fight another day.

This first installment of the Warrior of Rome series by Harry Sidebottom is the perfect book of action and adventure combined with real historical settings and characters ripped from right out of the history pages.

An exciting story of courage and treachery, of strong empires and political maneuvering and warfare, will have you turning to the next book in the series, King of Kings. What happens at the end of this first novel? You’ll have to pick it up yourself to find out! Full of actions from start to fiction, this is a strong debut from Sidebottom in his first full-length fictional novel.

King of Kings is the second book in the Warrior of Rome series by author Harry Sidebottom. In this intriguing second novel, the year is A.D. 256. The ghost of treachery hangs over the Roman Empire, an ominous sign of what may be to come.

Christianity is the religion of the moment, and the fervor to convert and practice it is spreading through the empire at unprecedented rates. The Imperium is vividly alive with the movements of men that are as dangerous as they are powerful.

At the same time, the Sassanid troops are also moving and pushing forward along the eastern frontier. Ballista is bloodied from battle but returns to the empire court as a general coming from the city of Arete (which has fallen). But once he arrives, he finds out that he has many enemies. In fact, there are many people who would be fine with seeing him killed or accidentally dead in battle than coming back alive.

Ballista soon finds himself caught up in a dark web of both intrigue and religious fanaticism that is sweeping through the lands. Soon even this brave general’s loyalty and his courage will be put to the test. To serve the Emperor and to serve Rome, he must be both bold and unwavering in his dedication to his post.

The great warrior of Rome has returned, but will it be enough to keep Rome standing? Will his enemies be successful in their campaigns against him? You’ll have to read this second book in the action-packed Warriors of Rome series by timeless author and historic expert Harry Sidebottom to find out.

If you loved this book, then be sure to check out the third book in the Warrior series, Lion of the Sun, and then follow it up with The Caspian Gates, the fifth book The Wolves of the North, The Amber Road, and then the last book in this action series, The Last Hour.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Warrior of Rome

Leave a Reply