Book Notification

Waverly Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Waverley Books

Waverley / Tis Sixty Years Since (1814)Description / Buy at Amazon
Guy Mannering (1815)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Antiquary (1816)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rob Roy (1817)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ivanhoe (1819)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Monastery (1820)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Abbot (1820)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kenilworth (1821)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pirate (1822)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fortunes of Nigel (1822)Description / Buy at Amazon
Peveril of the Peak (1822)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quentin Durward (1823)Description / Buy at Amazon
Saint Ronan's Well (1823)Description / Buy at Amazon
Redgauntlet (1824)Description / Buy at Amazon
Woodstock (1826)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anne of Geierstein (1829)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Siege of Malta (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Waverly Series by Sir Walter Scott are some of the most important and at one point were some of the most widely read and popular novels in Europe. Walter Scott the author of the series was a Scottish historian, playwright, poet, and historical novelist that lived between 1771 and 1832. While he wrote his novels nearly two centuries ago, his works remain classics of Scottish literature and the English language. Some of his most popular works include “Waverly,” “The Bride of Lammermoor,” “The Heart of Midlothian,” “The Lady of the Lake,” “Old Mortality.” While he is for the most part known for his political engagement and his extensive literary works, Scott was also a legal administrator, judge and advocate by profession. In the course of his career, he would combine editing and writing with his work as Sheriff-Depute of Selkirkshire and Clerk of Session. He was also one of the foremost Tories in Edinburgh in Scotland, was a Vice President of the Society of Antiquaries of Scotland, President of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, and an active member of the Highland Society. Given his proficiency with literary technique and wide knowledge of history, he was one of the most prominent figures in the creation of the historical novel genre.

The Waverly novels by Sir Walter Scott were published between 1814 and 1832. The novels gained a lot of traction when they were published and were popular all across Europe and in Scott’s native Scotland. However, he never revealed his identity and his authorship of the novels until 1827, which made the novels to be called the Waverly novels after his first successful novel. Some of the most popular novels of the series include “Waverly,” “Tedgauntlet,” “Quentin Durward,” “Kenilworth,” “Ivanhoe,” “The Heart of Midlothian,” “Rob Roy,” and “Guy Mannering.” Some of the titles were originally released in “Tales of My Landlord” a four part series. All the novels were published between 1829 and 1833 in a 48 volume series that Scott called the Waverly Novels. He also include his final revisions and prefaces in the final volume of the works. The series has been an inspiration to many authors over the centuries and Scott made his name as a seminal figure in the establishment of the historical novel genre. The early novels of the Waverly series are about the disparate phases of Scottish history. They are notable for their use of regional Scottish dialect and the characterizations of everyday people. The novels are about the conflict between the practical visions of the future and the heroic traditions passed down through the ages. For instance, “Waverly” is an analysis of the tension between the Hanoverians and the Jacobites during the 18th century. Meanwhile, “The Heart of Midlothian” is an analysis of the social conflict post the 1736 Porteous Riots following the execution of a smuggler. Scott’s other novels are set in a range of historical times right from the Middle Ages here he places his characters in locations such as the Orkney Islands, Palestine, France and England.

“Waverly” the first novel of the series is about Edward Waverly, a man that was raised by Sir Everard Waverly his uncle. His uncle is a supporter of the Jacobites and is also an English Tory that was very vocal in his support of the 1715 rebellion. Once Edward reaches the age of majority, his Hanoverian Whig father arranges for him to get a commission in the army. Sir Everard does not look kindly to Edward swearing allegiance to King George II, since he believes that King James III who is living in exile is the true king. But he agrees to the commission albeit reluctantly, and Edward proceeds to his new job and gets a posting to Dundee. His heart is not in it and after he serves for a few months, he takes leave of absence to go visit Baron Bradwardine who is an old friend of his Jacobite uncle. Through the man he gains the acquaintance of the chieftain of the Highland Clan Mac-Ivor, Fergus Mac-Ivor. He soon falls in love with Flora Mac-Ivor his friend’s sister. He is subsequently torn between two loyalties when the rebellion of 1745 breaks out. He is an officer on the Hanoverian Army while he was raised and has friends in the Jacobite faction. What follows is a story of the rebellion and the role Waverly played in it.

“Guy Mannering” the second novel of the series is set in Scotland during three periods. The first period introduces Guy Mannering, a newly graduated young man who is touring the southern highlands of Scotland. He gets lost and finds shelter with the Bertrams of Ellangowan on the very night that they have a baby named Henry Bertram. As a student of astrology, Mannering steps in and produces a horoscope for the newborn. His prediction is that the child will have to evade danger three times. A few days later, the family calls in Meg Merrilies, a wise woman who makes her own horoscope for the child that confirms what Mannering had predicted. But Mannering is troubled by the horoscope and while he hands it over to the patents, he asks them not to open it until the child is at least five years old. During the second period, some of the most important events are the expulsion of the gypsies from Ellangowan, the kidnapping of Henry Bertram, the murder of Kennedy, and the amplified vigilance by Bertram. The third part of the novel takes a great leap forward, jumping seventeen years to tell the main story of the novel that includes the breakdown of all order in society as gypsies, Border store farmers, landowners, and smugglers make and adhere to their own laws.

“The Antiquary” the third novel of the Waverly series is about Major Neville, who is believed to be the bastard child of Edward Neville. He has met and fallen in love with a woman named Isabella Wardour in England and proposes to her. But her father hates anything to do with illegitimacy and hence she has no choice but to reject his proposal. Taking the pseudonym of Lovel, he follows her to Fairport in Scotland where she lives. On the way there he meets the Laird of Monkbarns named Oldbuck, who also happens to be a neighbor of Sir Arthur Wardour, Isabella’s father. Oldbuck is interested in Lovel and empathetically listens to his misfortunes while using his own experiences to give him advice. As a youth, Oldbuck the Antiquary had been hopelessly in love with Eveline Neville, who went on to marry the Earl of Glenallan. In Scotland, Lovel saves Isabella and Sir Arthur from drowning but has to leave the city after he gets into a duel and wounds Captain Hector M’Intyre, who is Oldbuck’s nephew and also his rival for Isabella’s hand. While he is away, he makes a name for himself as a good soldier. He also secretly saves Sir Arthur from getting ruined by the bad advice from an unscrupulous German advisor. But will his actions be enough to win Isabella’s hand?

Book Series In Order » Characters » Waverly

Leave a Reply