Book Notification

Wells and Wong Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Wells and Wong Mysteries Books

Murder Most Unladylike / Murder is Bad Manners (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Arsenic for Tea / Poison is Not Polite (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
First Class Murder (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jolly Foul Play (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mistletoe and Murder (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cream Buns and Crime (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Spoonful of Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in the Spotlight (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Top Marks for Murder (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Sets Sail (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Murder Most Unladylike Mini Mysteries Short Stories/Novellas

The Case of the Blue Violet (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Case of the Deepdean Vampire (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Case of the Missing Treasure (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Case of the Drowned Pearl (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Murder Most Unladylike Mini Mysteries Short Stories/Novellas

The Case of the Drowned Pearl(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Case of the Blue Violet(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Case of the Missing Treasure(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Case of the Deepdean Vampire(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Murder Most Unladylike Collections

Once Upon a Crime (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Originally written children’s and teenager’s books the Wells and Wong mystery series has surpassed expectations by also becoming widely popular with adult audiences. The gripping nature of the book has a way of pulling in the reader and engrossing them in the events taking place, taking them on an exciting yet highly mysterious journey. Realistic and detail oriented the book series, follows two school girl detectives who set out to solve mysteries and find the answers to some riveting questions.

The Wells and Wong mystery series is set in London in the 1930’s, a golden era when it comes to gripping crime novels. Hazel Wong and Daisy Wells are the leading characters in the book series and just happen to be best friends determined to uncover the truth at all cost.

The series has had a lot of success appearing on various book of the month lists and being the top pick of numerous book clubs and societies. The series made its debut in 2014 but its impeccable plotting, intriguing nature inclusive of its not shy writing has gained a massive following. The series also provides affectionate, witty and fun elements which are clever and much needed to make the series all the more gripping.

The series manages to reinvent itself from book to book giving you an unexpected experience with each book. The two books can be read individually or out of order as murder most unladylike and arsenic for tea both have different plot lines and are easy to follow. There are a few mentions of previous mysteries and the character follow up in the second book but one still gets a gripping and exciting experience despite this as the mentions do not affect or spoil the plot in any way.

Murder most unladylike

The book made an incredibly successful debut, topping favourite books lists with readers referring to it as a cross between the writing of Agatha Christie and Enid Blyton.


In 1934 Hazel Wong a Chinese native, leaves her home town of Hong Kong in search of the perfect English education. This takes her to Deepdean School for girls, a private boarding school in London. This is where she meets Daisy Wells and they become fast friends. The two from the secret detective society and aptly name it the Wells and Wong Detective Society. Daisy the more outspoken and passionate one among the two becomes president of the society while Hazel takes up the secretary position. The society embarks on solving fairly small mysteries around the school but their ‘normal’ boarding school existence is given a rude awakening when they stumble upon their biggest mystery, a murder. This takes them on a roller-coaster ride trying to solve the murder and which some exciting mysteries from black mails to deception that they stumble upon.

Arsenic for tea

This highly anticipated sequel was released in January of 2015. Much like its predecessor it ranked highly when it comes to reader ratings and has had overall good reviews.


The sequel gives readers a change of setting from the Deepdean School for girls to a country mansion in Fallingford. The beautiful country mansion with its sprawling grounds is the Wells’ family home. The school holiday brings both girls to the Well’s family home as the mysteries continue. Daisy’s fourteenth birthday brings a plethora of people mainly her family members with eccentric personalities to the mansion. The choice of guest is intriguing as some relatives present Daisy has never met while others are questionable acquaintances. The birthday tea party goes all wrong when there is poisoning. Daisy and Hazel get right into their crime solving ways, as the mystery and plot thickens when storm cuts off the mansion from the outside world. Hindering both police access and their escape, leaving everyone trapped with a murderer in their midst. The murder arouses Daisy’s detective passion until she comes to the realization that one of her family member is a murderer. Daisy and Hazel stumble on an unexpected number of mysteries and secrets while trying to solve the murder. This book divulges more on Daisy’s and Hazel’s personalities and gives the reader an in-depth look at their various characteristics.

Daisy Wells

She is domineering and stands out in a crowd due to her brazen nature. She has natural leadership qualities and is extremely passionate about crime solving, these character traits have made her comparable to Sherlock Holmes. Daisy’s character exudes a façade of perfection in every aspect of her life. Her family seems to lead a grand life with her father being a Lord and her mother being ever so glamorous. This is all part of the perfectionist façade put up to hide the imperfection that is her family and the grand life they lead. Her overbearing mother and tension in the family being an indicator of the cracks in the family’s façade.

Hazel Wong

She is likened to Watson in the Sherlock Holmes story. She has a quieter personality and takes more of a back seat as compared to Daisy. She is seen as the one who acquiesces to the whims of her brazen and pushy friend but this is mainly due to her quiet nature. She breaks the unconventional stereo type braving the racist remarks she gets from others. This makes her brave and adventurous much like Daisy. Her family back in Hong Kong is much more stable and conventional in a way as compared to Daisy’s.


The timeless nature and quality of the story appeals to all audiences, most especially to those with a linking to detective stories. The relevant nature of the story to a modern setting is yet another factor that has contributed to its success and popularity. The books being aimed at child audiences have the ability to take adults back to their childhood and giving them same feeling they had then. The language and settings contribute in most part to this. The character building and the secondary characters add flavour to the books helping draw in the audience. The girls’ positive friendship appeals to the readers and witnessing its growth is yet another riveting aspect of the story.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Wells and Wong Mystery

Leave a Reply