Book Notification

Wendy Sand Eckel Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Rosalie Hart Books

Murder at Barclay Meadow (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at the Day Lily Cafe (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery at Windswept Farm (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killer in a Winter Wonderland (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Wendy Sand Eckel is a renowned author of cozy mystery books, who hails from Maryland, United States. She is particularly famous for writing the Rosalie Hart mystery series. Author Eckel has a keen interest in cooking and trying out new recipes. This is the reason why her books are filled with recipes very often. Another element that features in her books very often is the charm of a small town. Author Eckel thinks highly of the Eastern Shore of Maryland, the place where her books are set. She spent the initial years of her life growing up in a small town in Ohio. Eckel says that when she came across learning the names of states and capitals in her country in the 4th grade, she got attracted to Maryland and made up her mind about living there in the future. Author Eckel liked the flag of Maryland very much. She eventually moved to Maryland after growing up and has been living there for the last 30 years. The first story that author Eckel ended up writing was the story of a discarded vacuum cleaner, which ends up making its way back to the home of its owner. Later, when Eckel saw the film called The Brave Little Toaster, she was flabbergasted. She felt that the makers had stolen her idea.

When Eckel was studying in high school, she used to work in the shop rack of the Pontiac dealership of her father. She even ran a spare parts section and looked after prepping of new cars. During her leisure time, author Eckel used to play foosball. She says that she was a pretty mean player on the table. Eckel went on to major in both her undergraduate and graduate school in Social Work. Her degree had concentrations in family therapy and criminology. Author Eckel has spent a major part of her career in learning how people’s relationships affect their emotions, inhibitions, thoughts, lack thereof, and desires. She believes that writing mystery stories are one way of combining her love for written word with the help of the knowledge that she has gained over the years in trying to understand the human heart’s workings. Eckel feels that it is a dream that she has become successful in fulfilling. As of today, author Eckel enjoys her time working as a psychotherapist and writing mystery books. The former allows her to meet new patients and studying them helps her understand the human behavior in much more detail. Eckel resides in Annapolis, Maryland. She loves to spend time with her family and her pets.

The Rosalie Hart book series written by author Wendy Sand Eckel is comprised of a total of 2 books, which were released between the years 2015 and 2016. The debut novel of this series is entitled ‘Murder At Barclay Meadow’. It was released by the Minotaur Books publication in the year 2015. Author Eckel has set the book’s plot on Maryland’s Eastern Shore, and has described the chief characters in the form of Rosalie Hart, Megan, Tyler Wells, etc. The story is a delightful debut by author Eckel that describes a cozy mystery setup featuring Rosalie Hart as an endearing heroine. She is supported by an exciting cast of small town characters. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that the world of Rosalie Hart goes for a shocking turnaround. Following the confession of her husband about having an affair outside of their marriage, she decides to exile herself to the farmhouse of her late aunt on the eastern shore of Maryland. With the house in disrepair and the fields untended, Barclay Meadow could not be different from the tidy suburb in DC that she used to call her home. And when Rosalie begins to feel that things could not get worse, she comes across a dead body floating on the marsh grasses of the farmhouse. What shocks her even more is that the sheriff thinks of the death as an accident, which she is not ready to accept at all. As he suspicion of a brutal murderer being in the town grows stronger, she decides to take the investigation in her own hand. The face of the victim named Megan reminds Rosalie of her daughter and so she considers it her responsibility to help find the truth and make the culprit pay for his crime. Rosalie puts forward her doubts to her mates in the creative writing class. Many of them agree to join in the investigation and help catch the killer. As Rosalie’s friends indulge themselves in finding clues, she works to restore Barclay Meadow to the former glory. She is assisted in this process by a farmer named Tyler Wells, who used to live on the land on lease once. Later, Rosalie Hart finds the popular bread recipe of her aunt on a yellow card and immediately starts baking. This, along with her love towards nourishing others, helps Rosalie to start feeling alive again. However, as she is about to discover the truth about Megan’s death, Rosalie starts getting threats. Now, with the intention of getting justice for the poor victim and protecting the new house that she has just started to develop for herself, Rosalie Hart decides to hunt down the killer. She knows she must act as fast as possible and catch the murderer before she faces at the risk of losing her own life.

The next book in the series is known as ‘Death At the Day Lily Cafe’. It was also published by Minotaur publishers in 2016. The main characters of this novel include Doris Bird, Carl James Fiddler, Glenn, Annie Hart, Rosalie Hart, Lori, etc. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that Rosalie Hart opens her cafe. Her new cafe, the Day Lily Cafe, is decked with ochre tinted walls and has delicious organic fare. It seems to have everything that Rosalie had hoped for. But, soon after the grand opening of her cafe, a trusted friend of Rosalie, named Doris Bird, asks her a favor. She requests Rosalie Hart to help her clear the name of her sister Lori from a murder charge. Rosalie agrees to investigate and is joined by her head waiter and best friend named Glenn. However, the task seems to be a very difficult one. The murder victim, Carl Fiddler, was a provocative and unlikable person. He was known to have insulted many people in the town. Soon, Rosalie comes up with a list of suspects, who could have gone to the extent of killing Carl. Later, Rosalie’s own daughter named Annie gets involved in the case somehow. This makes the matter personal to Rosalie, which makes her even more determined to find the culprit and put him behind bars.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Wendy Sand Eckel

2 Responses to “Wendy Sand Eckel”

  1. Teri: 2 years ago

    Please give me titles in chronological order

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Chronological order is the same as the publication order


Leave a Reply