Nick Petrie Series

Wendy Walker Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Four Wives (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Social Lives (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
All Is Not Forgotten (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Emma in the Night (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Night Before (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Don't Look for Me (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
American Girl (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

Moms Don't Have Time To: A Quarantine Anthology(2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Wendy Walker is best-selling American author of Fiction, Thriller and Suspense novels. She is a former investment banker and attorney in Fairfield Count, Connecticut who began writing novels while at home raising her three children. Walker became a published author in 2016 when her first novel All Is Not Forgotten was published which became an international bestseller and also optioned for adaptation for film by Warner Brothers.

All Is Not Forgotten

All Is Not Forgotten is Wendy Walker debut novel published in 2016. It is a brilliant and a dark psychological thriller that is intricately plotted and maintains the highest level of tension and suspense. It introduces the readers to a 15-year old girl named Jenny Kramer who is violently raped while at a party. While in the hospital her parents agree that she be given a drug that would erase all her memories of her traumatic attack. Everyone else in the society knows that Jane was sexually assaulted, and she knows it but cannot the details of the trauma. Furthermore, she is experiencing some nightmare feelings, and she is in an emotional mess. What happened to Jenny has some devastating consequences to her family as well.

The story is narrated from Alan’s point of view which works perfectly as he has access to a whole picture of the situation than anyone else. Dr. Alan Forrester is the man in charge of Jenny and her family therapies. The doctor makes use of a wide variety of techniques to get Jenny have a complete recall of what happened to her and the details of her assaults. There is detailed information about neuroscience in this book; we also learn more about the therapist and his motivations as well. Jenny’s parents Charlotte and Tom have their dark secrets that are eventually revealed over the course of the book.

In a few hours after she is raped, Jenny’s parents are forced to make one tough decision. The doctors give them an option of “treating” their daughter with an experimental drug designed to her memories of her rape. The drug is intended to counter the effects of PTSD in soldiers and creates some amnesia, and the theory is that if the patient cannot remember anything about their traumatic experiences, they won’t suffer any severe psychological effects associated with the trauma.

Jenny’s father Tom at first opposes this unapproved treatment, and all that he wants is to have the person responsible to be brought to justice, and he is worried that his daughter won’t be able to remember anything about the attack. However, on the other hand, Jenny mother approves the experimental drug to be administered to her daughter and pretend as if nothing ever happened. She sees that the treatment is the easiest way out for her daughter.

In the end, Charlotte wins out, and administration of this drug brings out consequences that no one anticipated some of which are too horrific to be erased and leave a permanent mark even if the person living with it does not even know it. Jenny’s story is far much more than just rape story, even if the aspect of crime plays a vital role in the story. It is a story about the connections made by people over the course of their lives, some of which are healthy whereas others are not. The story also touches on the lengths that people would go to maintain these connections. It is also a story of parents love and how real people can be willing to do terrible things for the sake of their offspring’s.

Each character in this novel becomes a suspect, but the truth and the persons responsible are not revealed until the very end. The story is multifaceted and quite riveting from the first page to the last. The plot is quite intriguing, and there some few surprises kept at bay which you will not see coming.

Emma in the Night

Emma in the Night published in 2017 introduces the readers to two sisters two years apart; Emma is the older sister at Seventeen and Cass who is fifteen. The two sisters disappear, and Emma’s car is found on a beach with no signs of the two girls. An FBI forensic psychologist Abby Winter suspects that there more to the girl’s disappearance than meets the eye but she cannot convince her supervisors and this case almost destroys her. However, after three years Cass returns home without her elder sister Emma but pleads with everyone that they rescue her sister.

Cass story is a disturbing one, of being held a slave on a remote island with her sister Emma. She had to sacrifice a lot to get back home, and she is afraid that their sister might not be alive or even on the island once the FBI identifies the area they were held captive. Her return home has also tossed her divorced parents into turmoil as they are happy about her return and also fear for their other daughter safety and also want to know what happened to their daughter 36 months ago.

However the more Cass narrates, the more Abby wonders where the pure truth lies. Her original suspicions about everything not being okay in the household they were raised returns with a vengeance and Abby wonders whether Cass is leading them to someone, to somewhere but afraid to say anything directly. These issues of self-absorbed personality disorder are the ones that Abby understands too well, and she begins to wonder whether her suspicions are right or if her own experiences are taking control over her mind.

Not seeing, not knowing and always being deceived makes you question everything that you’ve come to trust. This can even make a person doubt their judgment and what they’ve always believed in. What could have happened the night when the two sisters went missing? Where is the whereabouts of Emma? Was their disappearance random or intentional? With time running out, the FBI operative must figure out the truth and bring Emma home before it is too late.
Walker does an excellent job of revealing the plot bit by bit to ensure that the readers are engaged to the very page where the truth is finally revealed. It is astonishing how the author has created suspense in this novel, how the characters are well woven to create one unique and one of the best thrillers you will ever read.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Wendy Walker

Leave a Reply