Book Notification

Wendy Webb Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Tale of Halcyon Crane (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fate of Mercy Alban (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Vanishing (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The End of Temperance Dare (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Daughters of the Lake (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Haunting of Brynn Wilder (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Keepers of Metsan Valo (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stroke of Winter (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Witches of Santo Stefano (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Seaharp Hotel(1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deathport(1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Phobias(1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
More Phobias(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gothic Ghosts(1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mammoth Book of Vampire Stories by Women(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon

Wendy Webb is an American author of fiction, magic realism, and mystery & thrillers books. She has won awards including the Minnesota Book Award for her fiction books. Wendy Webb was born and raised in St. Louis Park a suburb of Minneapolis and later on attended the University of Minnesota graduating with a major in political science. Since her early years, she has always had a thirst for writing and reading and was particularly thrilled into writing by Madeleine L Engle’s book a wrinkle in time.

Her writing, among them the tale of the halcyon crane and the end of temperance, saw her win numerous awards among them the Minnesota Book Award and The Amazon Bestseller. She has also contributed to magazines and newsletter including The USA Today and The City Pages.

The Tale of Halcyon Crane

The Tale of Halcyon Crane is a thriller story by the award-winning Wendy Webb which received the Minnesota Book Award in 2011. She gives the story of a young woman who embarks on a journey to find a past that she never thought was in existence. Her discoveries are life-changing for her as she uncovers a load of things about her and her family.

Haile has lived all her life with her father knowing that her mother passed on after a deadly fire accident. However, all these changes the moment she receives a mysterious letter lands in her mailbox. It takes her back in time on a journey to unveil the real things that her father had hidden concerning her and the entire family. She travels to the great lakes on a remote island where her mother used to leave. The people there are not welcoming, and from the stares and gazes she receives, it is automatic that some unpleasant things are associated with her family. She is convinced that a lot is unknown to her and this is what she soldiers on to unravel.

Iris lives in the old house that Haile’s mother used to own located on a hill and she takes on the responsibility of giving her the truth that she came to find. What scares her, even more, is the fact that her father faked his death and also hers to escape the wrath of the people after being accused of being involved with the death of a young lady. As Iris narrates to her the past dating all the way from 1900, she can almost feel present at that time.

Webb is an exceptional storyteller giving her readers sweet pieces from page to page. The horror, suspense and romantic moments make the book feel; close to a movie. It is a spooky and entertaining piece you should read.

The End of the Temperance Dare

Wendy Webb gives another thrilling award-winning piece, The End of Temperance Dare a story full of mystery and a fight for justice. Eleanor Harper takes over a task as a director at the cliffside manor without having a clue of the dark past and the evil plans have on the facility and its current occupants.

Eleanor had been working as a crime journalist covering some of the most horrifying incidences. Out of extreme cases of anxiety and fear, she quits her job out of fear and anxiety. She applies for a job at the cliffside manor after she quits working as a journalist. Earlier on she had an interview with the then director penny dare concerning the death of both her father and sister. All along, she had always been drawn to the facility, and she finally gets the position of a director in the facility. She hopes to have a fresh start for her life in this new capacity, but things do not go as she thought. From the moment she steps foot in the facility things look completely amiss, and as she progresses, she begins to question the reason for her being in this facility.
Matter get creepy as she uses her investigative skills to uncover the deep and hidden things in this facility. She discovers that the members in this centre are purposely placed there for an evil course, and she vows to stop this before it gets out of control.

Wendy places characters and happenings that help of bringing out the fun, horror, and bits of romance across the book in an artistic way. It is a perfect choice for those who love mysteries and ghost stories.

The Vanishing

The Vanishing is a book filled with mystery and horror giving the story of Julia bishop who finds herself in a tricky situation after the death of her husband. She is about to discover that the loss of her husband is the least of her troubles.

Julia has recently been windowed and only yearns to start her life all a new. But her quest for a new and peaceful life turns out to be a hectic and horrific one. One day, a stranger appears on her door and offers her a job as a caretaker to his mother. She is supposed to take care of his mother, Amaris Sinclair who is a famous horror novelist. However, things do not add up as the world believes that the novelist is dead after leaving such a lucrative career.
Julia begins to look into the matter from another angle to join the dots and understand why Sinclair did so and why she was chosen to be her caretaker. Many mysteries cup up including the relationship that Julia has to Amaria. Instead of forgetting the painful past that she was left to handle alone after her husband committed suicide, she finds herself revisiting it deeply. Things look deep with her being heavily at the centre of everything. Julia finds herself in conflicting and frightening situations which almost make her question her sanity. Living in a haunted environment with a lot connecting to her family almost drives her crazy.

The vanishing has an exceptional aspect of creativity with horrific scenes that will make you afraid yet want to read deeper into the book. The choice of setting and events by the author for this book makes the book a perfect gothic.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Wendy Webb

One Response to “Wendy Webb”

  1. Felice Merry: 2 years ago

    Just finished reading your book The Haunting of Brynn Wilder in 8 hours just could not put it down! What a great story. Now I’m in search of all your other novels. Thanks for such a wonderful day of reading. Kindest regards,


Leave a Reply