Book Notification

Westmoreland Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Westmoreland Saga Books

Whitney, My Love (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Kingdom of Dreams (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Holiday of Love (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Until You (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miracles (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Westmoreland Saga Books

A Kingdom of Dreams(1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Whitney, My Love(1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Until You(1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miracles(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Holiday of Love(1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
When reading the Westmoreland series in chronological order, A Kingdom of My Dreams should be read prior to Whitney, My Love.

Judith McNaught’s series, Westmoreland is the most captivating love story you will ever hope to get your hands on. The series begins with ‘A Kingdom Of Dreams’, the first book takes the readers through a roller coaster of emotions where Royce Westmoreland, the warrior Duke of Claymore fights with unbridled valor and a ruthlessness so severe the men tremble at the mention of his name. Nicknamed ‘The Wolf’, Royce abducts Jennifer Merrick from her convent school but the head strong beauty is not about to be submissive to anyone. She fiercely opposes anything he tries to do or say and they are always at odds till Royce changes the game completely. Royce on the other hand is a battle lord, fierce in battle and well respected. When they can no longer deny the sensual tension between them they go on a roller coaster of a journey that involves warring clans, deceit and sensual passion like nothing you have ever seen before.

The first in the Westmoreland series instantly captivates you and holds you prisoner, this is the type of book that will get you fired weeks after you are done reading it, and it constantly draws you back. The character development of Jennifer Merrick is absolutely terrific, her head strong nature and dedication to a deceitful family and clan. The author builds up Royce Westmoreland spectacularly and shows us exactly what makes him who he is on the battle field and off it too. The background stories and sub plots to this unfolding drama are what make it so captivating. The range of emotions the reader is taken through is exhaustive and once you are done reading this book you will be absolutely drained because you will have gone through the full range of emotions possible.

The second book in this installment is ‘Whitney, My Love’. This book has a Westmoreland hero in Clayton Westmoreland who has found a place in American high society and he has his eyes firmly set on Whitney, the carefree girl who had been sent to be fostered in Paris but returned a woman. Unbeknownst to her, when her bankrupt father sends for her from Paris he has already signed her away for a hundred thousand dollars to the charming Clayton Westland who is actually Clayton Westmoreland. He keeps the arrangement secret in an effort to try and woo her naturally but he has to step up his efforts when Whitney throws herself with abandon at her childhood love, Paul Sevarin. Then the intrigue starts, Whitney is determined to have her childhood love in the fairytale manner she always imagined. Clayton on the other hand is just as determined to have his bride for himself.

Judith McNaught absolutely outdoes herself in this second book by how she manipulates the storyline to make the reader both angry at her and begging her for more. The character of Whitney might just be the most interesting heroine in the Westmoreland series because of just how normal she is. She struggles with everyday life complexities and we see how her father shuns her and the sympathy built towards her is immeasurable. The reader falls in love with Whitney as she goes from one uncertainty to another. Clayton’s character on the other hand does not have too much background but it is more than made up for by the current character who continuously discovers things about himself while pursuing the love of his life with numerous setbacks at times.

‘Until you’ is the third book in the Westmoreland series and it is amazing just how much Judith McNaught can keep her audiences captivated through three books without interest waning even a bit. Stephen Westmoreland is handsome, rich and has a title, recipe for women throwing themselves at him but he is painfully aware that they only do this due to his status. Thus when extremely witty but relieved of all her memory Sheridan Bromleigh somewhat by chance wakes up to him his whole world is rocked. Sheridan, from carefree American girl to strictly governed lady and chaperone finds herself in a foreign land with no memory whatsoever and with only the handsome stranger to help her embarks on a rollercoaster journey of passion and discovery. Stephen suddenly opens up to someone whom he genuinely knows is not after anything he has and their romance is very refreshing to watch unfold. When she abandons Stephen at the altar though the story takes a twist that you were not expecting and from there going forth the drama is simply too captivating.

You fall in love with Sheridan immediately the author introduces her to you and you never stop loving her or feeling sorry for het throughout her amnesia tribulations and falling in love with Stephen. The character of Stephen is one to be lauded because the author shows his background of distrust of people who are always after something he has. When he is left at the altar your throat constricts for him because even the lady he trusted to have finally saved him abandons him, but the ending is worthwhile in every sense.

‘Miracles’ is the fourth mini novella in the Westmoreland series and though it does not directly tell the story of a Westmoreland, it involves prominent characters from the other books. Nicki Duville who is bound to be the Earl of Glenmore and Julianna Skeffington who was Sheridan Bromleigh’s charge. Julianna through misfortune finds herself thrust in a marriage with Nicki who thinks she tricked him into marriage after she was spotted leaving his room. She goes on to be rejected and watches as her husband continues his infidelity and shuns her till she finally gives him letters she wrote to her grandmother who was a writer. Do the letters change Nicki’s perception of Julianna?

The characters are well familiar from previous books but the story is too short and you get the sense that the story was too rushed or cut short. As with any Westmoreland series book, the book is never short of intrigue and subtle plot twists that will have your emotions churning over.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Westmoreland

Leave a Reply