Book Notification

Whispering Pines Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Whispering Pines Mystery Books

Family Secrets (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kept Secrets (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Original Secrets (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hidden Secrets (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rival Secrets (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Veiled Secrets (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silent Secrets (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Merciful Secrets (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Justified Secrets (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secret of Her Own (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Protected Secrets (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Burning Secrets (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secret of the Season (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blind Secrets (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secret of the Yuletide Crafter (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wayward Secrets (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secret of the Winter Woodsman (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Whispering Pines Mystery Series
Whispering Pines Mysteries is a fiction series by Shawn McGuire. The series introduces retired detective Jayne O’Shea and the people of Whispering Vines. After staying away from this small town for over a decade and a half, Jayne is back in town. She makes a few startling discoveries soon after her arrivals, and the events that follow turn her into a darling amongst the townspeople. However, law enforcement doesn’t take it too kindly that Jayne seems to be shinning while making them look bad. All the books in the series come with complex mysteries, great flow, and enough surprises to keep you glued.

Family Secrets
Family Secrets comes first in the Whispering Pines Mystery series. The book introduces Jayne O’Shea, a former detective. It has been sixteen years since Jane left her cozy home in Whispering Pines, Wisconsin, following a family feud. Now she had been forced back home, but all she wants to do is settle her grandparents’ estate and get out of there. However, things do not go as seamlessly as she expected. First, the house is trashed, so it doesn’t make sense to put it for sale now. Jayne will have to make a few changes to make the house more presentable. She also discovers a body in the backyard thanks to her trained dog. So, who is the dead young lady, and what is her body doing in Jayne’s grandparents’ backyard?

As a retired detective, Jayne knows not to interfere with a crime scene. She makes a report at the local police, hoping that someone would investigate the case. However, the sheriff doesn’t seem so keen to investigate the death. Jayne has no choice but to find out the truth, even with little information about the dead woman. Her list of suspects is quite long, given all the strange people she interacts with in her search for the truth. There is the Wiccan green witch, the shopkeeper who foretells death, and the young girl interested in practicing black magic, among others. Despite all the vague details Jayne collects during her investigation, one thing is clear, the sheriff doesn’t want her to uncover the truth.

The dead woman has a tattoo common among the Wiccans, who are the majority in this small town filled with strange and fun people. Soon, Jayne discovers that her grandmother was somehow involved. She can sense that something sinister is going on, and it is spreading fast in this small town. Can Jayne uncover the truth before more harm is done? Why is the sheriff trying to discourage Jayne from investigating this case while he should be at the forefront of ensuring that justice is done? The reason for this woman’s murder is outrageous, and the ending is quite shocking. Curious to know what details Jayne uncovers? Read this book for this and more.

Family Secrets is a well-written mystery story with a lovable cast, unique storyline, and a great flow. It is an outstanding debut to a series that promises more mysteries, adventures, and fun. The small-town setting adds some intrigue to the story, and the lovable protagonist will keep you company to the last page. If you want to read a well-crafted novel characterized by a multi-dimensional cast in an interesting setting, this book is perfect. Everything is so realistic, and Whispering Pines sound like a town anyone would love to visit.

Kept Secrets
Kept Secrets is the second installment in the Whispering Pines Mystery series. It has been a month since Jayne O’Shea came to Whispering Pines, and she has had her hands full throughout. Her grandparents’ beach house is beautifully coming together, and Jayne is even thinking of turning it into a B&B. The retired detective has also been enjoying the quiet in this small town, and she has Tripp to keep her company. When these two friends decide to explore the local circus, nothing would have prepared them for what happens next. After a great night in the circus, Jayne and Tripp are shocked to hear that one of the performers had been found dead in the morning.

Whispering Pines is without a sheriff, which means the county sheriff will have to investigate this case. Before his arrival, Jayne does her best to stop people from contaminating the crime scene. Once the county sheriff arrives, Jayne is told to keep off the case. However, even with all she needs to do with the renovations, this retired detective cannot help herself, especially after a few people in town approach her. Soon she is looking for clues and finding details related to the killing. As the investigation is going on, a new sheriff is hired. Another carney also turns up dead, but the new sheriff dismisses the case saying the death was an accident. Jayne thinks otherwise, and this second killing fuels her desire to ensure that justice is done. Will she catch the killers before another innocent performer is killed?

Follow Jayne as she works to restore a beautiful house and find a serial killer. While the sheriffs are not too happy about the visitor putting her nose in their business, the community seems to welcome Jayne’s help. This only puts this talented detective in a more awkward position. She wanted a break from work, and investigating murder cases is the last thing she wanted to do. However, it seems like she is the only person who knows what to do where killers are involved. This series gets better with this second installment. We are getting to know Whispering Pines better, and it is great interacting with the locals in what reads like an idyllic town. The author fleshes the characters even further, and the growing bond between Jayne and Tripp keeps things exciting.

Kept Secrets is an intriguing story characterized by suspense, fascinating relationships, and a well-plotted storyline. There are many mysteries and secrets to unravel, and the unexpected twists will keep you glued to the end. Follow Jayne, Tripp, and the rest of the cast as they continue to uncover Whispering Pines’ secrets one after the other. If you love cozy mystery stories with a little bit of magic, you will find this book irresistible.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Whispering Pines Mystery

One Response to “Whispering Pines Mystery”

  1. Florence Celestino: 1 year ago

    I love this series, I just can’t stop reading them, I don’t want the series to be done


Leave a Reply