Book Notification

Whitstable Pearl Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Whitstable Pearl Mystery Books

The Whitstable Pearl Mystery (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder-on-Sea (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
May Day Murder (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the Pilgrims Way (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Disappearance at Oare (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Fest (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the Downs (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Strictly Murder (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Mount Ephraim (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Allotment (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Whitstable Pearl Mystery” series written by author Julie Wassmer stars Pearl Nolan, who is a private detective that owns a restaurant. These are crime novels and the first one was released in the year 2015, the series is set in England.

The series stars a woman named Pearl Nolan. She opens up her own private detective agency, after owning her own restaurant. It ensures that things are never boring for her, and that her plate is kept full at all times. It is set in the town of Whitstable, where Julie Wassmer herself lives.

“The Whitstable Pearl Mystery” is the first novel in the “Whitstable Pearl Mystery” series and was released in the year 2015. Pearl Nolan planned on being a detective, but life had other plans for her. She got pregnant when she was just a teenager, but built a thriving seafood restaurant in Whitstable, her hometown, located the coast. It is a town that is famous for its native oysters.

She is now 39 years old and is suffering from empty nest syndrome after Charlie (her son) is going to college. All that she changes when she finds Vinnie Rowe’s (an oyster fisherman) body after he drowned by being weighted with an anchor chain. It was the day before the yearly oyster festival held in Whitstable. What happened that made the guy die? Was it just a tragic accident, murder, or suicide?

She takes the opportunity to prove how that she has some detection skills as she tries to find out the truth. Pearl finds herself at odds with Mike McGuire (a city police detective from Canterbury, with the rank of Chief Inspector). Then another body is found, and Pearl is then looking through the past trying to find some clues. It all triggers memories of an emotional summer that happened two decades back.

Readers like the way this novel kicks of this new mystery series. Fans of the novel liked Pearl, her son Charlie, her mother Dolly, and McGuire. This is a well written mystery, some found, and that the background and character truly do come alive her in the book. Some like that the focus is on characters, and not so much on the violence (which is used far too much in too many mystery novels for some people). Truly a novel that will keep the pages turning for you, and gives readers a way to enjoy their reading time.

“Murder on Sea” is the second novel in the “Whitstable Pearl Mystery” series and was released in the year 2015. Pearl is running herself ragged at her restaurant (which is called The Whitstable Pearl) because of the festive month has kicked off in style. She is spending a lot of time planning her family’s Christmas too and providing a charity church fundraiser with some mulled wine. There are all kinds of Christmas cards showing up at people’s places and are filled with some spiteful messages from someone that is not leaving a name, instead opting to remain anonymous.

It piques her own curiosity but she has vowed that she will not take a case before Christmastime. She says that Mike McGuire should take things over, as poisoned pen letters are police matters. The church fundraiser is the only thing that stands in her way between now and Christmas, she asks if McGuire would like to come as her guest. It would appear that the entire event is a huge success; St. Alfred’s church is cram packed, and Pearl finds that she is standing near McGuire under some mistletoe. Then one of the guests collapses all of a sudden. Could it be something sinister, or did they just drink too much of the great mulled wine that Pearl made?

Pearl expects many things for Christmas, but murder is the last of them. Nonetheless, bodies stack right up. Will she be able to solve the case to enjoy her Christmas or is the killer going to make sure that Pearl is dead too well before then?

Fans of the novel found that this was quite an entertaining mystery novel that had quite a few clues and red herrings to keep them distracted. These are some great characters that this author has written about here in the book. She brings them, and the town, to life and they were able to get a clear picture of the place while it was out of season. This picture of it contrasted with the picture of it being in season in book one, something that was interesting to see. Some cannot wait to get their hands on more from this already interesting series.

“May Day Murder ” is the third novel in the “Whitstable Pearl Mystery”series and was released in the year 2016. Neither Pearl’s restaurant or detective agency is all that busy, she decides to spend some time at the family plot of land. Nathan (her best friend) has persuaded a favorite actress of his to open the festivities for May Day being held at Whitstable Castle. His plans involve Pearl.

Faye Marlowe is also from Whitstable, and left the town twenty years ago, and has been living in the South of France since her agent’s phone quit ringing. She comes to the town with an entourage with her, it causes a stir her presence. Although Pearl’s mom is unimpressed with the sensitive but charming young woman. She remembers Faye as Frankie Murray, who was a whelk merchant’s daughter.

Nathan realizes that he made a mistake having her come, because May Day morning, she is nowhere to be found. Her body is found, it has been tethered to the maypole on Castle grounds. It is left to Mike McGuire and Pearl to solve this May Day Murder.

Fans of the novel find themselves reading these books in just the span of a week. They are well plotted and well written, they have interesting as well as likable characters. The stories are not all that gruesome and there is always some sort of surprising thing happens in the books, which makes things difficult for readers to guess what is coming next. It leaves them guessing about certain things, even though some things will be pretty easy to figure out for them. Some hope these books keep on coming out, as readers will keep on coming back for more.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Whitstable Pearl Mystery

Leave a Reply