Book Notification

Wilkie Martin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Unhuman Books

Inspector Hobbes and the Blood (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inspector Hobbes and the Curse (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inspector Hobbes and the Gold Diggers (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inspector Hobbes and the Bones (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inspector Hobbes and the Common People (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Author Wilkie Martin has worked and live in the Cotswolds for three decades. He has attended the University of Leeds, studying: rock and roll, Agricultural Science, and beer. Martin went to school in Sutton Coldfield, which is close to Birmingham, after having been born in Nottingham.

He is a member of Catchword writers’ group, based in Cirencester, and began writing after attending a course in creative writing at Cirencester College with Dr Rona Laycock.

To get over writer’s block, Martin will go for a walk, which will clear his head sometimes. If that does not work, though, he will write the first things that pop into his head, assuming they have nothing at all to do with one of his works in progress. This usually gets him writing once again, getting rid of any log jam.

Martin writes the “Unhuman” series, which began publication in the year 2013, when “Inspector Hobbes and the Blood” was released. The series is from the comedy cozy mystery fantasy subgenre. He is a bestselling author in both America and the UK.

For over twenty years, Wilkie has been a scuba diver, diving in many locations in both the United Kingdom and the world. He is a keen shark watcher as well as a diving instructor. Martin is an avid reader, a hobby guitarist, music fan, and an enthusiastic cook.

“Inspector Hobbes and the Blood” is the first novel in the “Unhuman” series, which was released in the year 2013. A wave of crime breaks through the quiet Cotswolds streets, and Andy Caplet (who is a failed reporter) gets reluctantly immersed in the investigation that Inspector Hobbes is conducting.

Andy is allergic to both exercise and danger, and is confused when he finds that not everybody is actually human. He has to come to grips with Hobbes’ extreme oddness, and the teeth that Mrs. Goodfellow (Hobbes’ housekeeper) has. He has to also figure out if a murder, a suicide, and a series of robberies are linked. What is the connection?

Hobbes vanishes. The police decide that he is bad and big enough to fend for himself, but Andy (working against some deep rooted clumsiness and incompetence) sets off to find him. He’s got a big dog to help and is armed with only a leg of lamb. Despite having his pants taken, he finds out that the key to the whole mystery is located in the blood. Whose blood, though? Where is Hobbes, exactly? Will he catch vampirism from false teeth?

This is an inventive, odd, and quite funny mystery that provided an enjoyable reading experience. The more this book goes on, the more likable Andy ends up becoming, while he sheds his selfish and cowardly ways. Martin has penned a clever mystery and this is an excellent way to kick off a series.

“Inspector Hobbes and the Curse” is the second novel in the “Unhuman” series, which was released in the year 2013. During an investigation into sheep deaths and the puzzling disappearance of some pheasants, Andy becomes infatuated with a dangerously beautiful lady.

These events seem to be linked to the big cat sightings, and it appears that there is something terrible creeping around in the woods. Will Andy always be unsuccessful in love? Or is this a much darker curse, something that is going to arouse primeval terrors in him?

Some readers found this even better than the first book of the series. This is another excellent and funny read. Hobbes and Andy make for quite the pair, and you get to know Andy even more this time around. Andy is going to make you laugh the entire time. The book is written in a laid back way, just like your friend is telling you a story.

“Inspector Hobbes and the Gold Diggers” is the third novel in the “Unhuman” series, which was released in the year 2014. Getting some unwanted attention after he foils an armed robbery, unhuman Inspector Hobbes takes a camping vacation that is long overdue, with Andy and Dregs (the delinquent dog). They go to the Blacker Mountains, a bleak and dangerous place, and it is here, that Andy finds something stunning before he falls for a good looking widow. Hobbes wonders, at the same time, why an ancient gold mine reopened.

When they go back to Sorenchester (the sleepy Cotswolds town), Hobbes becomes struck dumb when Kathy (someone from his hippy days) turns up with her luggage at his door. Hobbes has to solve the gold robbery and think about some rather ordinary rocks, it is up to Andy to entertain Kathy. All while he has to protect his brand new love from a monster of an opponent work for a sinister man named Sir Gerald Payne. Andy displays actual courage, despite an inability to throw straight and his typical blunderings.

Will Andy survive his dining with a vampire? Is Hobbes going to be able to get the gold back? What is Kathy’s relationship with Hobbes?

This is another book that will transport you into a whole new world, with some interesting characters that are built in tandem with the story being told. This is an excellent author, as he is able to use the characters to show off a dry wit during tense situations.

“Inspector Hobbes and the Bones” is the fourth novel in the “Unhuman” series, which was released in the year 2016. Trouble is coming. Andy Caplet’s wife leaves, someone has it out for him, and he comes close to losing everything during a storm. Andy heroically rescues flood victims, amazing to both himself and Hobbes, and winds up uncovering something shocking.

Could someone really be setting Andy up for blackmail by the seemingly charming young lady that tries to seduce him, or could it be something more sinister at play? Hobbes definitely thinks so, and he is starting to worry.

Each of these characters is written superbly. The author has a kind of humor and style that is going to keep most laughing like mad throughout. All of the silliness found in the book is balanced by the nice mystery the book has.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Wilkie Martin

Leave a Reply