Book Notification

Will Hill Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Department 19 Books

Publication Order of The Department 19 Files Books

The Devil in No Man's Land (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret History of a Teenage Vampire (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Undead in the Eternal City (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The New Blood (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

After the Fire (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Town Called Pandemonium(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Magic: An Anthology of the Esoteric and Arcane(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Booby Trap and Other Bits and Boobs(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Outcast Hours(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Will Hill spends most of his time in California but grew up around the North East of England, moving from Skegness over to Gateshead to Tynemouth. The area is steeped in vampire mythology, which was irresistible to the young Will. He was able to turn this fascination into a highly accomplished debut novel. Action hungry lovers of adventure and horror are sure to enjoy it.

Before he quit his day job to write full time, Will worked as a bookseller, a door-to-door charity worker, and a bartender. He is scared of spiders and a big fan of cats.

As a writer, he spends long stretches playing games on his computer, staring out of windows, Tweeting, checking his email, and generally coming up with new and unusual ways to avoid typing anything.

Will Hill pens the “Department 19” series and the “Department 19 Files”. He writes young adult fiction, horror, contemporary, and young adult fantasy novels. His debut novel, called “Department 19”, was released in the year 2011.

“After the Fire” was nominated for YA Book Prize Best Young Adult and Carnegie Medal Best Book in the year 2018.

“Department 19” is the first novel in the “Department 19” series, which was released in the year 2011. Jamie Carpenter’s life is never going to be the same. His father has died, his mom is missing, and he just got rescued by some gigantic man called Frankenstein. Jamie is taken to Department 19, where he gets pulled into a secret organization that is responsible for policing the supernatural. It was funded over a hundred years back by Abraham Van Helsing and the other survivors of Dracula.

Helped by the members of the agency, Frankenstein’s monster, and a beautiful vampire girl with an agenda of her own, Jamie has to try to save his mom from a horrifyingly powerful vampire.

This story is a total thrill ride for readers, with violence, gore and tons of action. This is one that will appeal to girls and boys, adults and teens alike. With this book, Will Hill breathes new life into the young adult genre, and it focuses more on the plot rather than the romance. The story does a great job of moving back and forth through time, showing the formation of Department 19, and the present tense.

“The Rising” is the second novel in the “Department 19” series, which was released in the year 2012. Jamie Carpenter’s life was upended violently when he was brought to Department 19, which is a classified government agency of vampire hunters formed to deal with a tiny problem. One known as Dracula.

Being the new recruit at the Department is not all covert missions and weapons training. Jamie’s mom has been turned into a vampire. Jamie has now vowed to wreak revenge on those that captured her. Even if it means facing Dracula down himself.

Kate is an amazing character that fights back against the vampires to deal with what she has seen in her life. This is a great sequel that is an action packed thrill and filled with tons of gore and horror, yet there is still a nice balance of heart and personal struggles.

“Battle Lines” is the third novel in the “Department 19” series, which was released in the year 2013. Dracula is close to coming into his full power. At the same time, Department 19 is running on the back foot. Welcome to war, ladies and gentlemen. The stakes are mankind’s own survival.

Jamie Carpenter is currently training new recruits, attempting to get them ready for a fight that looks increasingly futile. Kate Randall is pouring all her grief into plugging all the final leaks in the Department, while Matt Browning races against time to discover a cure for vampirism. On the other side of the world, Larissa Kinley has located a place that she feels at home, but she still makes a startling discovery.

New dangers emerge on every side, uneasy truces are made, and relationships get pushed right to the breaking point. In the midst of all of it, Department 19 faces a potentially lethal and new threat that comes from one of the darkest moments in its own bloody and long history.

Zero Hour is almost here. The Battle Lines have already been drawn.

This book is just as superb as the other ones, and was well thought out. In fact, the book is tough to put down, making you want to continue reading it. Each one of the characters feels entirely real, making the story speed along, with wonderful descriptive text, it makes you feel the blood and gore that erupts from the sharp bites of the vampires and their sharp teeth.

“Zero Hour” is the fourth novel in the “Department 19” series, which was released in the year 2014. While Dracula continues his rise, the women and men from Department 19 keep waiting for good news. Hope is in short supply: the cure for vampirism remains years, possibly decades away; the country is starting to fall apart while the public comes to terms with the horror that is in their midst; and no one has heard from their supposed ally, Valentin Rusmanov, in weeks.

Jamie Carpenter and his buddies work hard to keep the forces of evil at bay, but it is starting to feel like a lost cause. That feeling stops when familiar faces from the past brings news that may just turn the tide. News that takes Matt Browning to America on a desperate hunt for a miracle, and sends Larissa Kinley and Jamie into the darkest corners in eastern Europe, where something impossibly powerful and old is waiting for them.

Something that might stop Dracula for good. The clock is ticking, though, and night is falling. Zero Hour has almost come.

Readers enjoy this series and just do not want the experience to end at all. Will Hill’s writing style, the characters, and the plot. Will guides the reader effortlessly through the web that is this series. These stories are tons of fun and exciting to read.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Will Hill

Leave a Reply