Book Notification

William Brodick Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Father Anselm Mysteries Books

The Sixth Lamentation (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gardens of the Dead (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Whispered Name (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Day of the Lie (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Discourtesy of Death (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silent Ones (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

William Brodrick is a popular British novelist known for writing mystery, thriller, and suspense books. He is particularly famous for writing the book, The Sixth Lamentation, which is a part of Brodrick’s well known series called The Father Anselm Mystery series. The novel was chosen for the Richard & Judy Book Club. Author Brodrick is known to have won the Gold Dagger prize by the Crime Writers’ Association in 2009 for his book titled A Whispered Name. Brodrick was born in the year 1960 in Bolton, Lancashire, The United Kingdom. He used to live in Canada since the age of 11. Brodrick completed his school studies by studying in England and Australia. Later, he obtained his Bachelor of Arts degree in the subjects of Theology and Philosophy. This was followed by a Master of Theology degree and an Utter Barrister Degree. When Brodrick was convinced that he has studied, he decided to join work in one of British Columbia’s logging camps. Then, he went on to join the Augustinian Friars. Author Brodrick was associated with this Christian order for a period of 6 years between 1979 and 1985. He started being a friar in Dublin, Ireland. There, he carried out his work on a farm that used the techniques of the Iron Age. This brought author Brodrick close to nature. And finally, after working for a few years for the Augustinian order, author Brodrick decided to leave. He helped himself in setting up a charity for the betterment homeless people at the request of The Depaul Trust’s Cardinal Hume.

Brodrick became a barrister in 1991. As of today, he holds the citizenship of both Canada and Britain. Author Brodrick is happily married and has 3 children. He lives along with his family in France. Brodrick says that his decision of leaving the Order came at a time when he was just about to take the final vows. He says that his faith in the Order was not lost, but he had the feeling that the path no longer suited him. He thought that his services were meant for the homeless people of London. This idea motivated him to become a barrister. Brodrick’s career as a barrister lasted for 10 years. He specialized in personal injury. It was not before he became 40 years old that he realized his real ambition in life was to write novels. The idea for his first book was prompted by one event in the life of Brodrick’s mother named Margaretha Duyker. Author Brodrick admits that he has a lot of similarities with the lead character of his books Father Anselm. Just like him, Brodrick has faith in life, and seeks understanding.

The Father Anselm Mysteries series written by author William Brodrick is comprised of 6 books in total, which were released between the years 1999 and 2015. Each and every book of this series features the chief protagonist in the role of Father Anselm, who is depicted as a lawyer turned friar living in the Larkwood Priory in England. The debut book of this series is entitled ‘The 6th Lamentation’. It was released by the Viking Adult publication in the year 2003, after its first release in 1999. Author Brodrick has set this book’s story in Larkwood Priory, England, and has mentioned the chief characters in the form of Ages Aubret, Father Anselm, Eduard Schwermann, and Lucy. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that Father Anselm gets stopped by an aged man, who asks him what a man should do if the whole world turns against him? Father Anselm responds him by saying the man should claim sanctuary. However, this answer causes more trouble than Father Anselm could have thought of. The man comes back, causing the demand of Church’s protection. The man turns out to be a suspected war criminal from the Nazi troop, Eduard Schwermann. On the other hand, Agnes Aubret reveals a secret in front of her granddaughter named Lucy. She tells Lucy that she in the Nazi-occupied Paris around 50 years ago and was involved in the smuggling of Jewish children to safer places. Once, her group got exposed Eduard Schwermann, who was an SS officer at that time. The Church not only grants sanctuary to Eduard Schwermann in 1944, but also helps him escape and run away from France to start his new life full of new opportunities in Britain. Now, as Father Anselm tries to find the reason behind giving sanctuary to Eduard Schwermann, and Lucy indulges herself in learning more about the past of her grandmother. The investigations of both of them take the form of a surprising and remarkable story.

The next thrilling novel of the series is called ‘The Garden of the Dead’. This novel was also released by Viking Adult in 2006. Once again, the plot is set in Britain, and describes the central characters as Elizabeth Glendinning, Nicholas, Father Anselm, Inspector Cartwright, John Bradshaw, etc. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is shown that Elizabeth Glendinning dies because of a heart failure. At the time of her death, Elizabeth was trying to call the police desperately. When the family and colleagues learn about the sudden demise of Elizabeth Glendinning, they become mystified and devastated. Soon, questions begin to arise as to why was she in east London when she died and what was she trying to convey to the police in her final call? After the funeral ceremony gets over, Elizabeth’s son named Nicholas, Father Anselm, and Inspector Cartwright, the inspector Elizabeth had made the call, all get packages about an old case that read Regina v/s Riley. There are also some newspaper clippings inside the packages that show the news of the John Bradshaw’s accidental drowning. John happens to be the old case’s principal witness’s son. Now, the question is raised that why was Elizabeth following the case even today? Also, what do the 3 people have to do with the packages full of information that they received from Elizabeth? All the information appears to be related to certain events that had occurred several years ago. Anselm Duffy had won a difficult case by making the key witness answer a question. Though, the question seemed right in every sense, it is learned that it was actually a wrong one. And after getting acquitted, the man wrecked havoc in the lives of many people. The havoc finally enmeshes the ones who had defended him during the trial. And after realizing his mistake, the life of Anselm Duffy changes radically. The voice of his soul does not let him rest. In the end, the novel turns out to be a suspenseful and complex one.

Book Series In Order » Authors » William Brodick

Leave a Reply