William Gibson Books In Order

Publication Order of Sprawl Books

Neuromancer (1984) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Count Zero (1986) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Mona Lisa Overdrive (1988) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Bridge Books

Virtual Light (1993) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Idoru (1996) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
All Tomorrow's Parties (1999) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Blue Ant/Bigend Books

Pattern Recognition (2003) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Spook Country (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Zero History (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Difference Engine (1990) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Johnny Mnemonic (1995) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Peripheral (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Agency (2020) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Burning Chrome (1986) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Author William Gibson was born in South Carolina on March 17, 1948 and writes speculative and science fiction. He wanted to be a science fiction author from that time that he was just twelve years old. The year after, he bought an anthology that featured a lot of writers largely associated with the beat generation. William S. Burroughs had the most pronounced of influence on him. On his SATs he scored a 148 out of 150 possible on the writing, but did a lot worse on the math, scoring just five points out of the 150.

Gibson is known as the pioneer of the subgenre of science fiction that is known as cyberpunk. He has also written steam punk and post cyberpunk work. Gibson also came up with the term cyberspace in the year 1982, and his novel, that uses cyberspace “Neuromancer” sold over six and a half million copies around the world when it was released in 1984. This novel helped bring science fiction literature back into relevance after it had fallen in the seventies.

Gibson started out his writing career penning short stories, but has gone on to write some novels that have done very well. Gibson has penned some articles to some big publications and has worked with some artists, musicians, and filmmakers. He has written for “The X-Files” on two episodes with Tom Maddox.

“Pattern Recognition” is the first book in the “Blue Ant” series that was released in the year 2003. Cayce Pollard works as a market research consultant, and her services do not come cheap. But her clients get what they pay for as she is quite intuitive at her work. While working in London, someone offers her a secret job; the job is to look into some video snippets that are intriguing to those who watch and have found their way onto the internet. There is a group of people that find themselves obsessed with this video. Anyone who can get that kind of loyalty is someone that is seen as a potential gold mine for the person that hires Cayce. There is more to the project than she realizes as her apartment is robbed and someone has hacked her computer. She does not back down, and the danger she is put in makes her more stubborn than anything else. An ex security expert and probably an ex-CIA operative named Win Pollard went to the World Trade Center in a taxi on September eleventh and is probably dead. Win gave some insight as to how agents work, and she still has not felt his loss yet. But she does not give up the job that is proving to be an odd one.

Fans of the novel like the way that Gibson writes, finding that everything is cool, and the story gets there when it gets there, without a lot of hurry. Some find that it is easier to read the novel one an e-reader, so that they can more easily expand their vocabulary. Some like the way that Gibson writes for women, finding that they are as strong as the men, if not more so. Fans like that Gibson keeps things short and moving quickly, but still able to be efficient and everything hits the target, word choice is always correct and apt. These here are some complex and interesting characters, and it is not just the main people, but the minor ones too.

Some did not like the way the novel feels boring, and moves sedately through things, and was not quite that exciting. Things seemed to move in a slow motion, and there were things that were over some readers’s heads. The story itself was hard to follow for some. Some readers did not like the novel and found that there was not a lot of conflict or much at stake here. Nothing she builds is ever at stake at any point in the book.

“Spook Country” is the second book in the “Blue Ant” series that was released in the year 2007. This novel follows three different groups of characters Hollis Henry, Tito, and Milgrim. Hollis was a member (lead singer) of the nineties band The Curfew and has since become a freelance journalist. She writes an article, hired by Hubertus Bigend, about his magazine called Node. Then there is Tito, who is from a Chinese Cuban family of illegal facillitators who work freelance. Tito is supposed to give over a large amount of iPods to a mysterious man. Milgrim is a drug addled translator who is held captive by Brown. The three all converge on a shipping container that has unspecified cargo in it.

Fans of the novel found this to be a modern classic, as the author is masterful in his prose, grips with the narrative, and the novel is full of interesting and odd characters. Some really enjoy this series for all that Gibson is able to explore here, and the way that everything is able to happen just the way he says it does. Fans of the novel enjoyed the atmosphere that Gibson is able to create, and are drawn time and time again back to this novel. Some are reminded of Hemingway with the way that Gibson writes his short and simple sentences.

Some did not like the way that the plot and the people in it do not seem to harmonize very well here. It was not as good as the first novel in the series. Some found that the novel tries its hardest to be as boring as it possibly can, and focus on the uninteresting parts of things. Not a whole lot happens in acts one and two, according to some.

Some of his work has been adapted in movies. “Johnny Mnemonic”, a movie that came out in 1995, is loosely based off a story that is set in Gibson’s “Sprawl” trilogy universe. Not long after, another adaptation came out called “New Rose Hotel”, that is set in the same universe.

In his writing career, Gibson has won many awards for his work. He has won Prix Aurora, a Philip K. Dick, Seiun, Ditmar, a Hugo, and a Nebula.


Book Series In Order » Authors » William Gibson