Book Notification

William Kelso Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Guardian of Empire Books

Rome Divided (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The West Breaks Away (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Soldier of the Republic Books

In Defence of the Walls of Rome (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Carthage Must Be Destroyed (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rome's Spy (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rome's Darkest Hour (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Republic at War (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rome's Assassin (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Turn of the Tide (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Legate of Rome (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mercenary of Carthage (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Metaurus Campaign (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Conquest of Spain (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Veteran Of Rome Books

Germania (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Caledonia (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hibernia (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Britannia (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hyperborea (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Armenia Capta (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dacian War (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rome and the Conquest of Mesopotamia (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Veterans of Rome (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Veteran Of Rome Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Shield of Rome (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fortune of Carthage (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Devotio (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

William Kelso is a Dutch author of military and ancient roman historical fiction best known for his two series Veteran of Rome and Soldier of the Republic series. Kelso always wanted to be a writer and storyteller from childhood and was lucky to hear his grandfather describe his experiences serving in RAF in Italy and North Africa during the Second World War. His first roman historical book, The Shield of Rome two the author two years to publish and was published in 2011. Since then William Kelso has published more books all set in the ancient Roman times.


Caledonia is the first book in Veteran of Rome series by William Kelso. The book is set in the autumn of 83 AD. During Mons Graupius battle, the Roman army destroys the Caledonian confederation that has been formed to rebel the Roman invasion.

In its aftermath of this war, a Caledonian boy reveals to the world a secret with the potential to forever change the Roman strategy in the north. Marcus, a Roman soldier, is assigned to investigate, and he disappears into the remote wastes of the north. In Rome, his estranged father Corbulo sets out to find the whereabouts of his son and bring him back home. So this marks the beginning of an adventure that will take him to the remotest and trackless parts of Caledonia and send him into the low raging conflict between the different scattered warbands and the Roman garrisons. Corbulo will be forced to use his legionary wits, courage, and experience to keep off anything hostile and the Barbarian warriors, a gang of mercenaries and the temptation of a dazzling prize.
The first book in the Veteran of Rome series is a wonderful read. The main characters in the story are father and son, Corbulo and Marcus, who miraculously manager to recover their confidence in each other in a short span despite their domestic violence, long estrangement and mistrust in their relationship. Their estrangement was made worse by their father’s behavior which resulted in Marcus’ mother committing suicide.

Overall, Kelso’s Caledonia is a historical book detailing about the Scot resistance to Roman aggression. With his creativity, the author makes us care about his characters: Corbulo, the worthless dad who drove his wife to commit suicide and aggressively beat his son, but not seeks forgiveness from his son. Then there is Emogene, a strong independent woman who doesn’t believe that her husband is dead and strives to protect her people from the roman aggression; Agricola, the former governor of Caledonia who’s denied his rightful triumph. This is a gripping tale, well crafted, complex in its interplay of factors and personalities.


The second book in Veteran of Rome series, all isn’t well in Britannia province. Fierce and aggressive Hibernia pirate and slavers are abusing the western coasts of the island province. In addition, within the upper ranks of the Roman army and the civilian establishment, there are rumors of discontent against the dictatorial rule of the emperor, Domitian.

In the booming Roman settlement of Londinium, Corbulo, the retired veteran after 25 years service in the Twentieth Legion has become a successful businessman and started a whole new life for himself and his beloved family. But his friend who also happens to be his fellow veteran of the Twentieth Legion goes missing, and Corbulo finds himself drawn into a complex web of conspiracy that ruins his reputations and puts him in the list of the wanted men in Britannia.
Chased across the country by the authorities, and an old enemy, Corbulo is forced to re-enlist into the Roman war group whose leader has received orders to cross the western sea and establish his rule in Tara, the capital of Hibernia. As the roman expedition makes entry into Hibernian soil, Roman arms will in no time be tested to their limits and Corbulo in efforts to clear his name and also save his family, will travel across the west to the very edge of the world.


The year is 89AD on the province of Britannia and Rome is strengthening its control on the populous and fertile south while in the mountainous north, rebellion is mounting amongst the discontented tribes. Led by their king and druids, the Caledonian and Brigantes tribes are willing to risk and wage war against the mighty powerful Legions.

At the Roman outpost, we meet Carlisle, Marcus and Auxiliary Cohort who are tasked with keeping an eye on the Britons in their district. But soon they find themselves entangled in a bloody and ruthless insurgency. Meanwhile deep in the Romanizing south, we again meet Corbulo the retired veteran finally retired to comfortable country life. But when a long-forgotten client re-opens a painful memory, Corbulo and his family are forced to embark on a journey that will lead them straight to disaster. Enslaved by a rogue merchant and taken north into the trackless lands of Caledonia, Corbulo must do whatever it takes to escape and find what happened to his wife and daughter. As the trail he follows leads him across southern Britannia towards the heart of rebellion, Corbullo will soon find himself forced to make the most terrible decision a father has to make.

In Defence Of The Walls Of Rome

This is the first book in the Soldier of the Republic series

Book Series In Order » Authors » William Kelso

Leave a Reply