Book Notification

William Monk Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of William Monk Books

The Face of a Stranger (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dangerous Mourning (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Defend and Betray (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Sudden, Fearful Death (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sins of the Wolf (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cain His Brother (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Weighed in the Balance (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silent Cry (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Breach of Promise/The Whited Sepulchres (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Twisted Root (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Slaves of Obsession (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Funeral in Blue (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Stranger (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shifting Tide (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Assassin (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Execution Dock (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Acceptable Loss (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Sunless Sea (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blind Justice (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood on the Water (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Corridors of the Night (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Revenge in a Cold River (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Echo of Murder (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Tide Rising (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

William Monk was a son of a fisherman, in Northumberland in the Victorian Era. He worked in a bank where he met Arroll Dundas, his boss. Arroll Dundas showed him how to dress and be a gentleman. Monk decided to leave his work and become a policeman after his mentor, Arroll Dundas convicted of railway fraud. A crime he did not commit. Due to his ambition he quickly climbed his career ladder – of course making a lot of enemies.

In 1856 he got in a coach accident where he lost his memory. After the accident he met a war Hester Latterly, a war nurse. The two become close and therefore he told her about his memory loss. H e never told anyone else so that he could keep his job

The face of a stranger was his book. It was written in 1990.This book introduces us to to William Monk. A detective who had been involved in an accident and had lost his memory. He is given a case to investigate of the brutal murder of Aristocrat’s daughter who was stabbed to death and was found in her bed. In the second book, a dangerous Mourning, Aristocrat’s daughter is found dead on her bed. Due to his amnesia and the fecklessness of his superiors who did not want to prosper he lost his job. He started his own private investigation with the help of Hester Latterly. He unravels the truth.

It was written in 1991. Defend and betray written in 1992 William Monk investigates the the death of General Thaddeus Carlyon who was found dead during a dinner party in London. His wife confesses to have killed him.

In a sudden fearful death written in 1993. William Monk investigates the death of Prudence Barrymore, a nurse who had worked with Florence in the Crimea. She was found strangled to death in a London hospital.

Written in 1994, The sins of the wolf, Monk investigates a case where Nurse Hester Latterly is charged with murder. The accused is said to have given Mrs. Mary Farraline, an elderly Scottish liven a lethal dose of medicine which after a postmortem was found to be the cause of her death.

In ‘Cain his brother’- written in 1995, William Monk is hired to solve the mystery behind the missing Angus Stonefield. Angus was a business man and had some kind of holy saint relationship with his brother, Caleb. Possibility was that Caleb had murdered his brother. Monk tries to reason like Angus, searches for clues and later brings the truth out.

In weighed in the balance (1996) Monk and Hester Latterly verify a case of Zorah Rostova who asks sir Olive Rathbone to defend her against a charge of slander even when he did not have any evidence. Monk and Hester establish that the prince was murdered and the lead suspect was Zorah

The Silent cry 1997 is about an comfortably relationship between two brothers who return to their ancestral home, a village with not so many people located in western Japan. The two brothers had different attitudes one tried to mourn and come through what he had been feeling after a friend committed suicide and the birth of a retarded son, the other embarks on a quixotic mission to incite an uprising among the local youth.The aim of this brother’s was to save the local culture and economy of greedy people of from a wheeler dealer called “The Emperor of the Supermarkets”..

The breach of promise (1997) Monk investigates a young architect who out of nowhere ends his engagement to well known prominent lady. A breach of promise suit is filed by the girls furious parents.

The twist root (1999) Willian Monk is hired as private investigator some young man to find his fiance Mirriam Gardiner. This young woman is said to have disappeared from a partyat Bayswater luxurious mansion during a party. Monk finds the body of a coachman in the coach where Mirriam fled to. Mirrian is nowhere in sight. Monk and Hester pursue to bring out the whole story.

Slaves of obsession(2000)William Monk finds himself in the Americans civil war. He commit himself solving a case of smuggling, blackmail and murder without considering convictions of the union or the confederacy.

A Funeral in blue (2001)Another case to be solved by William Monk. Two women were found strangled in the studio of a well known London artist. One of them of the victims is an artist’s model. The other wife is a well known surgeon Dr Krisstian Beck.

Death of a stranger(2002)Nolan Baltimore is found dead in a sleazy neighborhood brothel. Its not easy to tell whether he was pushed or fell.Away from the brothel Monk meets a lady who confides that Nolan Baltimore had involved himself in fraudulent practices that could ruin him.And this might have been the reason behind his death.

The shifting tide(2004) In this magnificent novel, Anne Perry holds the reader spellbound, as Monk and Hester struggle to save themselves and their world from a catastrophe whose dimensions they can scarcely measure

Execution dock(2009) From the bestselling author of Buckingham Palace Gardens and Dark Assassin comes a deftly plotted Victorian crime novel featuring the long-awaited return of police superintendent William Monk.

Acceptable loss(2011) Nobody is surprised or grieves when Mickey Parfitt’s body is washed up on the tides.Monk begins his investigation when he sees an expensive silk cravat that was used to kill Mickey.

A sunless sea(2012) Runcorn, Monk’s superior arrives first at the crime scene,where Labourn’s wife lies about where she had been. She denies all accusations but Monk arrests her anyway even though he thinks she is innocent

Blood on water(2014)Monk becomes a witness in case that happens on water. A boat explodes taking away nearly two hundred of the merrymakers on board. The case from him and later its given back to him. Will he solve it?

Corridors of the night(2014). There is a new secretive treatment in Royal Naval Hospital. Nurse Hester Monk realizes that instead of saving lives ,its putting children lives ta risk. Monk on the other end is busying keeping london safe from gansters and trouble makers.

Book Series In Order » Characters » William Monk

Leave a Reply