Book Notification

William Peter Grasso Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jock Miles WWII Adventure Books

Long Walk to the Sun (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Operation Long Jump (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Operation Easy Street (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Operation Blind Spot (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Operation Fishwrapper (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Jock Miles-Moon Brothers Korean War Story Books

Combat Ineffective (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Combat Reckoning (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Combat: Parallel Lines (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Combat: Magic Bullet (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Miles To Vietnam Books

Butter Bar (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reports of Their Demise (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forever and a Wake-up (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Full Bloody Circle (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
VOL-INDEF (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Moon Brothers WWII Adventure Books

Moon Above, Moon Below (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fortress Falling (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Our Ally, Our Enemy (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
This Fog of Peace (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

William Peter Grasso is a bestselling historical fiction and thriller author who wrote some blockbuster novels about 20th-century wars. The author is a US Army veteran that was a Civil Reserve Air Fleet flight crew member and also served in Operation Desert Storm.

These days he spends much of his time working on flying and building radio-controlled model planes. After he retired from the military, Peter Grasso got a job with a major US airline where he worked for several years as a manager of maintenance operations.

While he worked in the airline industry and spent much of his twenties in the military, he was always a lifelong student of history. He had always held a fascination for anything to do with history in addition to aviation and the military.

William published “East Wind Returns” his debut novel in 2011 and has never looked back since. He now has more than a dozen novels to his name across several series.

His novels usually focus on the Second World War era, as he weaves historical events and actual people into entertaining and seamless narratives spiced with his imagination.

Peter Grasso particularly loves the World War II period in which most of his works are set. The author grew up in the aftermath of the war and still remembers that most of the games he played as a child such as “Let’s play Battle of the Bulge” were shaped by the Big War.

He would then grow up to serve in the army as he gained military experience serving during the Vietnam War. However, he never fought in Vietnam as he would spend nearly ten years in a demoralized and confused organization that was trying to get back to former glories following a misguided adventure.

Given the notoriety of the war, he never wanted to write anything about it even though it was what was most real to him. When the first Gulf War came around, he was lucky enough to get a front seat. During this time he was a flight crew member working on the maintenance of civil troop transports in the theatre war.
The war only made him more interested in military adventure ad history and he intends to one-day pen novels inspired by that time.

William Peter Grasso first got interested in alternate history as a teenager. During this time, he was reading a lot of history and philosophy which then led to alternate history. He started thinking about what would happen if history did not happen as it did.

Quoting his bio, he says that history is an exploration of chance outcomes as driven by aspects such as human whims and natural forces.

He started thinking that all manner of things could have been so different if someone did not falter at a critical time or had a machine not broken down or if the wind changed direction.

In his work, he explores what happens when several facets of histroy are changed.

“Long Walk To The Sun” by William Peter Grasso is an alternative history story set during the early days of World War II.

It opens to a crippled American military trying to defend a vulnerable Australia who are fighting some determined Japanese forces.

When a huge Japanese force lands on the undefended and desolate Cape York Peninsula in Australia, a US Army captain named Jock Miles is called up. He had been disgraced despite being one of the most prominent heroes of Pearl Harbor.

He is now charged with locating the Japanese Army’s elusive command post. It is a mission conceived to further political ends rather than sound tactics and is a futile mission only meant to bolster the morale of the flagging Australians.

For Jock Miles and his platoon, it is more of a death sentence as the Japanese they are going against have superior combat experience, firepower, material, and manpower.

Even if they manage to escape with their lives, they still have to cover vast distances in the dangerous natural landscape of Cape York.
When the captain teams up with an indomitable woman named Jillian Forbes, their prospects of survival are significantly improved.

William Peter Grasso’s “Operation Long Jump” opens with the allied invasion of Papua New Guinea which is not going so well. It is a horrifying time as Jock and the men he commands storm and takes over a Japanese observation Port a few miles from Port Moresby.

Soon after the main invasion force comes along but the Japanese are too strong for them and the two forces are soon bogged down in a stalemate. The poorly led, demoralized, and inexperienced GIs are struggling against the stubborn Japanese.

Looking for a way to beat the enemy defenses, Jock the young army officer finds himself charged with aerial observation. Working with John Worth a rookie pilot, they fight hard to expose any vulnerabilities the Japanese might have but it is not an easy job.

Moreover, they are highly exposed in the vulnerable and slow spotter plane. For Jock, things are made worse by the fact that Jillian Forbes his Australian lover has unearthed a dangerous new way of contributing to the war effort.

“Operation Easy Street” by William Peter Grasso is set in 1942, where the 82nd Australian regiment is battling the Japanese for the Philippines.
Jock is the new battalion commander leading the regiment is sent in to help after he was successful against the Japanese at Port Moresby. The Japanese are heavily dug in and have also set up booby traps all over the island.

But that is not the worst of it as they also have to deal with diseases from mosquito bites and the pacific weather. As they slog through the dense forests, there is gunfire from all sides.

They have to deal with a huge ambush where they lose a significant number of the men in the regiment and it is not long before supplies are running low resulting in a scrimmage.

They finally manage to reach their command post where they can finally resupply and bolster their number. But even worse is to come as the Japanese will not let go of their dug-in positions that easily.

Book Series In Order » Authors » William Peter Grasso

One Response to “William Peter Grasso”

  1. Chris: 1 year ago

    Have read all your books. Great reads. When will book 4 Miles to Vietnam be coming out. Not to draw comparisons, your book captivated me like WEB Griffin books. Thank you. Regards,


Leave a Reply